Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Valley High School
no rating

Posted February 02, 2010
- a community member
I interned at SVHS and it was a great experience..the staff were very helpful, the students pretty well behaved and the administration works hard to keep things in tact. They really need another vice principal and secretary to help out.

Spring Valley High School 4

Posted November 20, 2009
- a student
This is my third year at SVHS..I love it. Most of the teachers are very helpful. I like my counselor and it's been pretty cool so far. I like it because we have a female vice principal too.


Spring Valley High School 4

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
My son has been attending SVHS just this year. So far things have gone well. The administration, in particular Mr. Swan helped us by having a pep talk with my son. I appreciate him taking time out in a busy school to do so. One suggestion for the teachers would be more hands on with the students and really try to help them succeed. Another suggestion.. for the school district is to lower their graduation requirements for incoming students. These need to be consistent with the surrounding states. Therefore, when a student moves into Wayne County schools, they do not start behind everyone else here.

Spring Valley High School
no rating

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
Both my sons went to SVHS. The school is much better than a few years ago. The assistant principals work together, discipline is better, and school atmosphere is much more positive.

Spring Valley High School
no rating

Posted May 23, 2008
- a parent
My daughter goes to SVHS - 4.0 GPA - loves the school and all the staff. I have no complaints. A great experience so far.


Spring Valley High School 5

Posted April 10, 2008
- a student
I think that SVHS is a spectacular school. Everything is not perfect but I feel so blessed to be able to go to school here with my friends and make great memories and lurn enough for me to get a great job in 2 years.

Spring Valley High School 4

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
My son is a senior at Spring Valley High School this year. I believe his school experience has been enjoyable to him. He has really enjoyed most of his teachers. I never had any problems with Ms. Staley and neither did my son. He says that the atmosphere at the school is a lot better since Ms. Staley is no longer there. By the way, my son has a 3.8 grade average. That says something about the quality of teachers that are employed there.

Spring Valley High School 5

Posted December 20, 2007
- a student
I have been attending SVHS for 2 years now, and I love our school. No, we don't have a lot of team/school spirit, and we do have smoking and God knows what else going on in some areas. But all high schools in this day and time do. You can get a good education wherever you go as long as you put yourself to it. True, some of our teachers do slack, but all the other ones that don't are really awesome. I'm glad my high school experience is happening here.


Spring Valley High School 5

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
We just love this school. I have been pleased with everything from the administration to academics, teachers and extracurricular activities.

Spring Valley High School 4

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
My son is a student at SVHS and has been for the past three years. The new principal is much friendlier and seems to back his administrative team. The new administrative team seems to working together to benefit the students and the school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spring Valley High School
1 Timberwolf Dr, Huntington, WV  25704
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (304) 429-1699
Last modified Spring Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top