Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Morgantown, WV

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
this school does not care about the students well being. if your child is being bullied they do not discipline the child who does the bullying. they do alot of talking but nothing ever gets done. thier cafeteria food is not good and sometimes contains mold. the students have noticed mice and bugs roaming around. the administration of this school should be ashamed and embarrassed for not taking care of the students safety and well being as much as they should. this school needs people who actually do something to show they care instead of saying they do but in the end not doing anything at all. so much bullying goes on in this school and it's extremely sad!! if no action is being taken then nothing will ever change.
1 person found this helpful

South Middle School 3

Posted March 18, 2014
- a community member
South is a great school ,but when i mean great I mean for social actives like talking making new friends. As for teachers they really jump on your back to only push you forward, but for some students not in the right way. Now the discipline is moderate there are a lot of student who get in trouble some may learn never to do it again or don't learn there lesson ,only because they want to show off to there friends, but all in all I love of my teachers and they really help me.


South Middle School 1

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
After watching the 7th grade year pass by and the discipline problems plus some issues with teachers who should no longer be teaching I am looking to move my daughter to another school even if it means moving out of state, too much chaos and disorganization on the administration and the teachers. It is not a good environment for learning. Morgantown needs another middle school this one is too over crowded to be effective break it in half and get good quality teachers like Suncrest, all middle schools should be created equal. in Monongalia county. How are they to compete against those from Suncrest when they reach MHS? At this rate it doesn't look good if they continue at this pace.

South Middle School 2

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Middle School 2

Posted April 06, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


South Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South Middle School 5

Posted June 26, 2008
- a student
I went to south for 3 years and it is the best middle school around. The teachers actually care for the students. There is more then just 1 type of social class. You dont get ridiculed for being in a social class. It is hands down the best school around.

South Middle School 2

Posted September 29, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


South Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

South Middle School 2

Posted August 02, 2006
- a parent
There are some great kids and teachers at south but unfortunatley they are lost in the chaos at South Middle where 80% Of the day is devoted to Discipline. Morgantown kids deserve better!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Middle School
500 East Parkway St, Morgantown, WV  26505
(304) 291-9340
Last modified South Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top