Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Morgantown, WV
Students enrolled: 400
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 1

Posted January 25, 2015
- a community member
Biggest mistake our family has ever made. We are practicing catholics and thought this would be a great school. Our kindergarten child was ridiculed talked and made fun of regarding his lunch he brought to school. His days were sitting in a classroom by himself because he was scared. When I picked him up his head would hang his head down wouldn't talk until half way home cried all evening.parents aren't allowed past front door so u can't check on your child. My heart broke. If your child does not have to be taught then this is the school for you. All I can say is the kindergarten teacher is inexperienced only teaches one way has no compassion or child experience. I do believe in karma but I hope when she has a child she is given teacher that gives her child compassion. I can't rate this school because there is no scale low enough. Parents please do your homework before considering this school. If you like military schools this is the school for you.

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
Awesome! I'm in eight grade and I love it everyone is nice and connected so no one feels left out


St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
It is our 5th year with St. Francis and we are very pleased! It's an excellent school that focuses on acedemic excellence and spirituality. Top notch facility and everyone is very pleasant and helpful.

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 1

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
School for the wealthy. They do not want students that may bring Terra Nova tests scores down. Current administration has forgotten what school is all about. A few wealthy parents are running school. Main concern is school colors and uniform policy. Attendance is down and tuition is up!

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
My child just finished kindergarten. He learned to read and is doing well with math skills. His teacher was very creative and turned learning to count money in to a social studies lesson by learning the presidents and locations on the coins. He had a great year and we are very appreciative of the loving environment.


St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended St. Francis for 9 years. She was thoroughly prepared for the academic rigors of high school. The school has a strong curriculum, in a very structured environment.

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 1

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is a mixed bag. If you get the right teacher, it can be a wonderful place. Unfortunately, most of the wonderful teachers are in the middle school. Many of the teachers (especially in the elementary school) are cruel and adhere to old-fashioned forms of discipline. For example, some teachers scream when they lose control of the classroom. Others over discipline. My then 6-year old child was disciplined almost daily with "minus five minutes of recess time" for thinks like crumpling up paper before throwing it into the trash bin instead of just throwing it "not crumpled" in the trash bin. After five years of promises that things will get better I sent my child to MLA. She reports that she "no longer watches the clock waiting for school to end." If I had to do it over again, I would have started my child in public school or MLA. I give parent involvement two-stars (below-average) b/c the parents are overly involved. I agree with the teacher in a recent post--the parents run the school and think that b/c they are financially well-off they can dictate educational programming. This is not my brand of Christianity. I believe more in an inclusive and kind environment.

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 1

Posted August 12, 2012
- a teacher
One star is too much for this school. The parents run the school, not the teachers/administrators.


St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
My children have attended St. Francis for the past 6 years after moving to Morgantown. They have received a superior education within a kind, loving, Christian environment. As they are approaching high school, they are well prepared. In addition to strong academics, my children have learned the values of service and leadership by teachers who have encouraged them to be their best in every way. I couldn't have made any better choice for a strong foundation through middle school.

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School 5

Posted September 03, 2011
- a parent
As the parent of a new kindergarten student, I love the creative approach being used to introduce new concepts. The kindness and compassion shown towards my child is comforting during this transition in our family. I am glad they have already introduced the concept of site words. The children of my friends in other local schools will not start that for months.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School
41 Guthrie Ln, Morgantown, WV  26508
(304) 241-5188
Last modified St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Francis De Sales Central Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top