Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

I do not know how the ratings are so high for Central Elem. The secretary is rude, it's obvious she hates her job. She is always sneering. The fifth grade field trip was a local bowling trip. Anne Bailey took their kids to Pittsburgh!! What the heck CE?! In my day we traveled WV and even ventured to other states! My son is excited because they are taking him to a park next week. Please!!! I can do that on my own time!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

In my opinion this school has a teacher that seriously needs to be let go and an administration that needs to follow up on issues more promptly. My child was in kindergarten this past year and the teacher had classified my son very early on and then allowed him to be teased throughout the year. The principal said she would follow up, however the atmosphere in the classroom did not change and my son went from a child who actually liked school to one who was afraid of school and hated everything about it. Unfortunately I do not have any other options for my son due to the bus route, so he is still at this school. I can only hope that his first grade teacher will be better.


Posted September 10, 2009

it is a wanderful school everyone is caring and nice and do well with my son thank you all for the time and patince you have given to help him to do his best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

I have one child that moved to middle school and one child that has just started K. I cannot say enough good things about this school. I feel that the staff of the school did an excellent job in preparing my daughter for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I have 3 children attending this school and one just moved on to middle school. I can't say that I have any love lost for the school. While there are several teachers there who truly seem to care about the children, there are others and those amongst the administration who definitely do noy. If I had an alternative with bus transportation, I would have taken it a couple years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I am pleased with the way my childeren are learning and are being challenged every day. What I find unacceptable is the way the teacher handles her classroom. I do not feel that teachers need to discuss there personal life in a negative way with the students. What happens at home does not need to be brought to the classroom, unless it is positive and I feel that there is no excuse for a teachers behavior due to his/her personal issues at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

As a teacher at Central, I feel this school is an excellent one. I say this after teacheing at a few other schools before going to Central. I have spent nine years there. The students for the most part are well behaved and work hard. Our school pushes discipline so we can teach. In order to full fill the requirements from the state, we can only give the kids a limited amount of non-working time. In the upper elementary, student breaks are to be a working break. This means they are to be doing classwork while eating their snack. If parents have complaints about this, they should contact the school board. I think kids need a 15 min. break as well as teachers. We have high standards for our kids and they reep the benefits because of it. It would be nice to have more parent helpers. KM
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2004

Both of my Children attended school at Central. Central has a great bunch of teachers. I was a volunteer there for 5 years and I can understand why they don't get a lot of playtime, they are very busy trying ot teach these children what they need to know so that they can be ready for the next year. It would be nice if they could give the children more playtime, but these teachers have rules they have to follow also. I for one think they are doing a great job and did a great job with both my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

From what I can tell, I think Central Elementary School is a very good school. They seem to have a very nice school. The only problem I have with this school is the lack of playtime the children have. I think the children should be able to go outside and play after eating lunch every day. This is my son's first year there and he has only gotten to go outside for playtime a few times. These kids should be given time to run and play with their peers. This playtime is also needed to run off excess energy. Am I the only parent who thinks the kids should have a playtime every day??? I would like to see some other opinions on this and i would also like to have an answer as to why they aren't going outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

56 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities41%

Reading

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Title I48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities50%

Reading

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%

Science

All Students25%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Title I25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities25%

Social Studies

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Title I35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Title I58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%

Reading

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%

Science

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities37%

Social Studies

All Students23%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Title I23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 92%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Helene St
St. Albans, WV 25177
Phone: (304) 722-0226

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Zion Christian Academy
St. Albans, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT