Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Xavier High School 3

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
The school size (about 500 students) is just right to allow good college prep without being overwhelming. The school tries to instill catholic values and would be a good fit for anyone looking for a good catholic school. The choices of AP courses in the sciences is limited - AP Chemistry or AP Physics are not offered, this could be a limitation compared to other area schools. The fine arts program and athletics are good and encourage participation from all students. The academic strength is overstated, other area public schools such as Appleton North and Neenah High Schools are equally good and have a wider choice of course offerings. A religion class is required every term, this takes away from the opportunity to take other academically challenging courses - 12.5% of the students courses will be religion. The Phy. Ed. program is poor and too small to allow all to participate - a wait list exists and the school does not allow substitution from other Phy. Ed. programs. Overall, a good catholic school but if looking for academics, there are better choices in the local Public Schools, especially considering that the cost is about $9000 per year for non-parish students.

Xavier High School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
While no school is perfect, Xavier High School is as close as a school can get...and at that, the faculty and leadership still continue to strive for continuous improvement. Two of my children recently graduated from Xavier and I have one currently enrolled. The two graduates had advanced college placement ($$$ saved in college tuition) and are doing extremely well due to their preparation. The ACES System, which Xavier is part of, has an outstanding strategic plan going forward. For parents concerned with educational quality, Christian values, and personal attention, this high school rates a favored choice.


Xavier High School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
Too many of the faculty are not positive advocates for the students at Xavier. This was a shock to us. There are to many clicks between parents and faculty. To many of the faculty at Xavier do not practice the same Christian values they preach. In some areas there is not oversight over educators and the people in charge just look the other way at the expense of the students. Due to our childrens ages at this school we will probably let them graduate from here. However, we would not send another child to this school. Becasue I don't have the right last name or know the right people my kids may even feel the heat from this review from faculty for me writing this. This is not the private Christian school we would led to believe it was.

Xavier High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Xavier High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
We have 3 children going through the Appleton ACES system. 2 are presently attending what I believe is not only the best high school on the Appleton area, but probably the best high school in the state of Wisconsin. What you will not see in 'public' school ratings are the statistics of the percentage of student who are taking the standardized tests which ultimately are used in the rankings. Last year Xavier students tested 100% in the ACT. That's right, every student took the test. The result? A 25+ average vs 21 nationwide. The teaches go the extra mile. AP classes are offered and taken by many. Practically all students attending go on to 4 year colleges. All of this and a faith and service based community oriented atmosphere make this a special place. If you live in the Appleton area, you should check out what your children are missing.


Xavier High School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Xavier High School 5

Posted April 27, 2007
- a parent
When it was time to decide on a high school for our daughter, we had the choice between a very small school (200 students) and the medium-sized Xavier (500). In hindsight, Xavier was the absolute best choice. She has had the opportunity to shine in many extracurricular activities and take a leadership role. The faculty is awesome! Each one takes a special interest in our child and is willing to go the extra mile. Religion takes a prominent role at Xavier, with weekly mass and a very active campus ministry and service program. Also, the guidance department is great! They understand that each child has a different post-high school path and is willing to work with them to achieve goals. Xavier is truly a community of learners, believers, and friends!

Xavier High School 5

Posted March 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Xavier High School 3

Posted January 19, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Xavier High School 5

Posted December 16, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Xavier High School
1600 West Prospect Avenue, Appleton, WI  54914
(920) 733-6632
Last modified Xavier High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Xavier High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top