Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
759 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 2

Posted May 15, 2016
- a student
I have recently graduated from this school and it has helped me become quite educated. However, some of the administration at NDA do not show respect for me and many of my other peers. I have never had any big incidents, besides a few referrals for dress code, but they still do not treat me with a bit of decency. Many of the teachers here are good, although there are a few who don't respect their students either. The main problem is the way the principal and associate principal treat the students. They don't allow them to have any self expression and abuse their powers occasionally if they don't like a student. Many of the rules in place at this school can be subjective and therefore be used to punish students even if it is not necessary. One rule is that students must be completely shaven, but it is difficult for some people to be clean shaven at all times and if a teacher or administrator does not like a student they can just give them a referal for not shaving, even if they only have a little stubble or even peach fuzz. All I am saying is some of the administration at this school is not very fair, I'm not saying all the admins are like this but some are sure unfair to many of the students that attend NDA.

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 2

Posted April 29, 2015
- a student
A school that needs to stay out of everyone's business. On several occasions people have been falsely accused of being under the influence of drugs. This school cares more about or personal lives than our actual education. Sure there are some amazing teachers and facility members, some very good one's actually. Thank you to those people. Unlike some of the disciplinary committee members, they care about what we want to do when we get older.


Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 3

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
My child attended and graduated from NDA several years ago. I believe that the history and English departments are best there. There is one English teacher who makes students feel particularly welcome. The Science department was pretty decent as well. Math leaves a lot to be desired - students were kind of left on autopilot, as many of the Math teachers took their coaching duties more seriously. The school does need to do something with one of its Spanish instructors, who gives the appearance that she believes that Spain is culturally superior to Latin America, and doesn't value the input/contributions of students of Latino background in her class. Administration schmoozes with the families with highest prestige in the school community - try getting help when you are a middle class dual income family. Yeah, there is parental involvement - Moms who have the time because the Dads are CEOs or someone else of "importance" in the area - they call the shots.

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a community member
The overall expectations at Notre Dame from students, teachers, custodians, administrators at every level are superior to every public shool for the simple reason that they are invested more into the product and the process. There is a level of commitment that is unthinkable in a public school because there is less incentive to overachieve in the public system. There are great people in the public system but it is nothing like the community in a private shcool. The people of Notre Dame realize this and that is why they are there. Every parent has a choice whether they believe it or not where to send their children to school. Very few find fault with the private system.

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
A good sized school- kids get more personal attention from teachers and has the right priorities and academics! They prize good values there. Overall good school!


Notre Dame De La Baie Academy
no rating

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The students are great, the parents are better, and the values they reinforce continue to help my child succeed in his daily life. 5 stars for sure!

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
My Daughter went to NDA and DePere and she will finish very high in her class. She found that NDA was far behind De Pere for the advanced student and offered very little for such. She has finshed over one year of college to date very little of which would have happened if she had continued at NDA.

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 4

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
Having one child go through East De Pere and another currently in Notre Dame, I would say the academics are taken more seriously at Notre Dame. Both our children have been blessed with quick understanding and neither one had, or has, much of a challenge at either school. However, the classroom control and discipline is much better than what we experienced at East De Pere. Does it have some problems, yes, but no schools are perfect.


Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 2

Posted December 26, 2007
- a community member
I teach math at a public HS in Green Bay and have tutored several math students at ND. The rigor is much easier, from what I have seen, than in the public sector.

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy 2

Posted July 21, 2007
- a student
Notre Dame Academy is an appallingly unsuitable place for mature, academically talented students. I am a gifted student and spent my first two years of high school at NDA, where I was consistently unchallenged. NDA does not provide an excellent Catholic college prep education, and, as a result, I will be far behind in my coursework when I enter a true college preparatory academy this Fall. In addition, the faculty and administration do not discipline students or encourage them to acquire the characteristics of responsible and productive citizens. Although daily Mass is offered, I have, on several occasions, celebrated Mass with only Fr. Gilsdorf and my theology teacher, as merely three students make an effort to attend. A Notre Dame Academy education is an unwise investment.

Nearby schools

Notre Dame De La Baie Academy
610 Maryhill Drive, Green Bay, WI  54303
(920) 429-6100
Last modified Notre Dame De La Baie Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top