Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary Elementary School

Private | 1-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Kenosha

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $149,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2010

St. Mary School has wonderful teachers who will happily go the extra mile for any of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Quality education with the best staff. A must see school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

My husband and I have three children at St. Mary and have been very pleased with the quality of education all have recieved. No school is perfect, but this one comes close. The school is full of wonderful, caring teachers and I can not picture sending them anywhere else. The money spent each year is worth every penny. Our middle school experinece has been a positive one. The teachers challenge the students and they come out more than prepared for high school. If you are debating on where to send your child please stop by for a tour and check things out for yourself. We took our tour 9 years ago and have never regretted our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

I have three children at St. Mary's. I love this school! I love the inter-action between all grades. The kindergartners get 'buddies' made up of upper classmen. Their buddies do things with them like art projects and diff activities. When I pick up my children from school great time is spent between the grades saying 'good-bye'. This is a great school and a wonderful experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

I went to St. Mary's for 5 years. It was a great school and the teachers really know what they're doing. The discipline is standard, however when it comes to bullying they pretty much leave you to handle it yourselves even if it's clear whose the bully and whose the victim. They really care to much abut how you are dressed than whether you are happy. In all of my years there not one person failed a grade. It's a good school and I have awesome memories of my time there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

St. Mary has an excellent elementart school. The teachers are dedicated and give the students a great foundation. The weekly mass attendance is excellent and the students have weekly opportunity to participate in mass. The school has a weak leader and poor parent communication between principal, staff and parents. The middle school is weal due to lack of consistency. The school needs to consider becoming part of the Jr. High at St. Joe's where the kids have better resources and stronger teachers and discipline. St. Mary is a great beginning and then consider St. Joe's for Jr. HIgh.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

St Mary's is a wonderful school! The teachers are so devoted and dedicated to their students. They have an incredible music teacher and although they do not have an art program, art is incorporated into many school projects daily. As with most Catholic schools the parents are strongly encouraged to volunteer and St. Mary's is no different. However the parent involvement at St. Mary's exceeds expectations. The wonderful families supporting this school are what make this school so fantastic. If you are looking for a hidden jewel of a school, St. Mary's is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 89%
Asian 4%
Multiracial 4%
Hispanic 3%
Black, not Hispanic 1%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (262) 694-6740

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Milwaukee
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 39th Ave
Kenosha, WI 53142
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 694-6018

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brompton School
Kenosha, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT