Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Madison, WI
Students enrolled: 921
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monona Grove High School 5

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
I'm very happy with MGHS. They have a challenging curriculum, huge assortment of extracurricular activities including strong athletic and music programs and engaged teachers who care. My daughter has a disability and the school support couldn't be better. I'm glad I chose to live in Monona.

Monona Grove High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
i think they are effective as they can be if students are willing to learn


Monona Grove High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
it depended upon the class - some teachers like to start the homework in class so if there are any questions that can be addressed in class - i think that's a good idea

Monona Grove High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
i do believe that the school does like to promote doing your best at what ever that may be

Monona Grove High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
i feel i keep repeating myself however items like this need attention to at home even before the student attends school


Monona Grove High School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
again i believe the respect issue begins at home which can caring over into the school

Monona Grove High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
I believe the school can do what it can however alot of the honesty etc starts at home

Monona Grove High School 4

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Small school environment which is having to deal with larger school issues such as: race issues, student attitude issues and clique issues to name a few. the school does provide a positive and strong academic feel if a student is willing to commit. The school has a good music and athletic programs.


Monona Grove High School 1

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
Still very much small school attitude. Treatment depends on your last name and bank account size.

Monona Grove High School 4

Posted July 26, 2012
- a student
The academic side is very strong. Students learn a lot. There is not a lot of diversity but that is mostly due to the Monona and Cottage Grove area's not having a lot of diversity. Their is a lot of help granted to those who need it with a lot of specialty teachers there for people with different disabilities or just people who struggle at school. The teachers can be strict but they really prepare you for the real world. If you mess up on a test you don't get a ton of retakes or anything. The school has drama but not more than any other high school. Sports mean a lot to this school and there is a lot of school spirit. People for the most part support all athletics and music. I like it here because of the AP classes offered and the nice teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monona Grove High School
4400 Monona Drive, Madison, WI  53716
(608) 221-7666
Last modified Monona Grove High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monona Grove High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top