Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middleton High School

Public | 9-12 | 1911 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

To respond to the out of date Middleton High school may have a few problems and the administration might be one of them however I would say to those who say it isn't culturally diverse you are quite wrong. We not only have staff and administration of all different ethnicities (literally all the way around the world), but we also have a very strong LGBT group so you really don't get more diverse. The ratio of white to African- Americans may not be the best but there are definitely plenty of "diverse people". what ever that means anymore. We as students are not racist. It's been like 20 years since that was over so we need to move on. It shouldn't matter if your white kid has no other white kids to hang out with or vise versa. They are all the same. As for the administration issue. Dr Hermann which, yes does seem to be a problem, has decided to move to California where she plans on making a lot more to do the same job. We will be finding out who the new principle is in just a few weeks. You will find that there is also an amazing sports and arts program at the school as well. There are around 4 to 5 plays and musicals every year in the infamous PAC where hundreds may come to enjoy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2013

I was a student at Middleton High School and have siblings that also attended. I could not have asked for more passionate and supportive teachers or a better academic program. I took mostly honors classes and was very well prepared for college. Also, there is a lot of school spirit and I had fun in my four years there. One of my siblings was in their special needs program. From my experience, parent involvement and communication with special education teachers is important to make sure everyone is seeing eye-to-eye. However, it is one of the best programs available and Wisconsin is known to provide exceptional support to special needs families. Overall, Middleton is a great high school and getting an education there is a fantastic opportunity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2013

I was totally disappointed in MHS. The principal doesn't listen to parents or students and staff are afraid of her. Block scheduling was a disaster and the new group math program is a mess. There were some good teachers but if your child had a bad teacher you were just out of luck. There is no accountability of the teachers or the administration. They harass students for breaking minor rules and threaten seniors the entire year that if they don't follow the rules they will not walk. There is no reinforcement of positive behavior. Both my kids hated this school. The music and arts programs were a solid 5 stars and helped my kids survive, so there were some real strengths as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

The school, teacher, and environment is nice. However, the principal, Dr. Hermann, is an autocratic. She disregards all parents' and students' feedback and has changed the daily school schedule three times in four years without the approval of any of the parents or students. The staff are afraid to speak out and the principal impolitely brushes off parents and their concerns. I think the school is great but it needs a new, charismatic, accessible principal. I did make my concerns about the scheduling changes apparent to her and her administration but I was unduly ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

My school is not very culturally diverse. While there are some people who are not white, minorities ( anyone not white) make up about 10% of the whole school population at the most. I do however like how there are many good teachers who will be there for you when you need them, and who are always willing to help. Our school could improve by not always slacking in administration and also by not being so unavailable to students half the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2011

I love Middleton High School! I always feel supported. We recently switched to block scheduling. I actually like it! I didn't think I would. It gives me a chance to become more personal with my teachers and they can get more done in a lesson plan. The only complaints that I would have are that the lunch is WAY too short and sometimes there is a lot of homework. Other than that, I love it! But we have great academics, athletics, arts and music departments! Our drama department is exceptional. Our student council is filled with outstanding leaders. We have SO much school spirit! I can't imagine going anywhere else. This is a GREAT school to go to if you wish to have a positive high school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2010

Great school for white students! I can't speak for the other side. All I know is that when I went there not too long ago, there were less than a dozen African-Americans students in the whole school, and there were no colored teachers or administrators. The Madison area in general is fairly racist (not diverse), so sadly I don't see this being viewed as an issue (or noticed at all) by most in the community. Btw, I am white and have no learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

Repeated attempts to get my son who has a chronic illness the support he needs went unattended until I contacted the district. Should I have to work that hard? I was contacting the right people at MHS per the district, they just didn't respond. There are some great teachers, but a lot of teachers who are waiting out their time until they get their good retirement package. And, the administration seems to have no control over the system that is MHS or the teachers; there is very little accountability. Very slow to react on everyone's part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Middleton High School deserves 0 stars for special education programming. The staff are unresponsive to communication with parents, they don't understand (& seem not to care) about recognizing special education needs & how they manifest in students who are truly in need of extra care. It appears to be through the formal DPI grievance system that they are only minimally responsive to significant concerns. While Middleton HS may boast about their ratings for mainstream students, those students are seemingly unaware of how their school discriminates against their disabled peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Middleton High School as an outstanding special education department which is doing great things for my grand daughter.


Posted April 30, 2009

Middleton is the best high school in the Madison area IMHO with perhaps the exception of Verona High School. We have two kids at Middleton - one who is about to graduate - and have been very impressed with the school's well thought out curriculum and student advisee program that prepares students at each stage of their high school experience. This begins with the freshman advisory program where students are assigned to a home room that is used to focus on individual needs, develop learning skills and to promote a learning community. As in any school, you will find a few, bad apple teachers, but overall they are very supportive of students and excellent at what they do. The other nice thing about Middleton Public Schools is that you avoid much of the negative politicization such as what occurs in the Madison School District. Middleton focuses on students first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

This is a school of excellence! The wide variety of opportunities and high standards for learning and leadership are only part of the reason this is a top high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Response to March 12, 2008 post- I am wondering what you mean by 'the curriculum and staff are not culturally sensitive'? As far as truancy rates and academic performance issues, I would argue this is more a reflections of student drive/determination and parental involvement, not the job of the teachers. Any student at this school that wants to succeed has plenty of opportunity to achieve at a very high level, regardless of race or religion or any other demographic. This goes for co-curriculars as well, no student has ever been turned down for a team based on race. The Middleton population as a whole is not all that diverse and therefore neither is the high school, although minority numbers have increased in recent years. I don't understand how you can discount a school for this fact. I am also wondering what area high school you ended up placing your daughter and why?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I do not rate this school very high for an African-American student. My daughter and I did not have a welcoming or positive experience here. The curriculum and staff are not culturally sensitive, nor are any trained in this area. There are no African-american teachers or administrators on staff, and little diversity exists in its co-curricular activities. The stats for minority students are very daunting: academic achievement is low and truancy is very high for students of color and there are no support programs or activities to promote these students' connectedness to the school. Also, they do not honor Martin Luther King Jr. day as a holiday, and when the teachers/administrators and union had an opportunity to observe it as one in 2006, in spite of parent and student petitions, they voted against it. I withdrew my child from this school due to racial disparities and inequities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

Middleton is the greatest and the environment is so much fun and the spirit here is amazing! im so happy here all the time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2006

Middleton High School is the best of the best. They've received the National Blue Ribbon Award, and is a leader in the music, drama, and sports fields. They have a variety of other clubs for students to join as well. The teachers at MHS are passionate about their subjects and I have yet to run into a bad one. The support staff is excellent, and the guidance department deserves an A+. Principal Tom Vandervest is leaving after this school year, creating an opening in that position, but I am confident that through the Senate and School Board, a good decision will be made. Middleton is a great community, recently ranked as the 7th best community in the country, with a great school system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2005

Middleton High School is an amazing school. Middleton sets Academic Standards for other schools to follow. Middleton recently was awarded the National Blue Ribbon Award, one of two High Schools in the state to recieve and award. Also, Middleton has an amazing sports program. The Cardinals have won the Big Eight all sports award every year that they have been in the conference and you can always see them in the State Tournament of almost every sport. The Students also support their teams more than any school i've seen. Middleton has one of the best student sections in the State for Football games. Middleton also has and amazing Music Department, they have an awesome Concert Band and Concert Choir. The Drama Department isn't all that bad either. The Drama Club recently represented the United States in a Drama Festival in Scotland and they get to perform on Broadway this Spring Break.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2005

sports are a big part of this school..especially FOOTBALL. school is getting very big and even the school works hard to keep it personal your kid is still just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Black, not of Hispanic origin37%
Asian90%
Hispanic51%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin88%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities16%
Not disabled90%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant84%

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male76%
Black, not of Hispanic origin21%
Asian77%
Hispanic41%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin81%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities8%
Not disabled81%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students65%
Female64%
Male66%
Black, not of Hispanic origin25%
Asian74%
Hispanic33%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin70%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities3%
Not disabled71%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant65%

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male88%
Black, not of Hispanic origin42%
Asian94%
Hispanic56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin91%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities19%
Not disabled91%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic origin50%
Asian90%
Hispanic60%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin92%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities19%
Not disabled94%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 82% 73%
Asian 6% 4%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 5% 10%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 10%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 2%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 79%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 98%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 Bristol St
Middleton, WI 53562
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 829-9660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

21st Century Eschool
Middleton, WI



Walbridge School
Madison, WI


St Ambrose Academy
Madison, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT