No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Sava Orthodox School

Private | PK-8 | 83 students

We are best known for spiritual & cultural development.

 
 

Living in Milwaukee

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

Greaest school. Personal attention. Family oriented enviroment! I am proud that my kids go there. I would highly recomnet it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

I love St.Sava school for my child .class size is small which allows every child chance to participate and learn as much as possible. Teachers and the environment is very safe and positive . My child is in K4 currently and I plan on continuing until 8th grade .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Small, safe, and extraodinare. My son finished the school several years ago, and his HS coach said "I wish more of St Sava students would come to our school. Good school, good kids."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Private school that cares about its students and families and their well being. St. Sava is always clean and the teachers try their best day in day out just to see their students strive and grow up to be above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

my daughter goes to this school k3 , it amazing how much she has changed in good way. A side school environment is very safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Great school. Exellent program and teachers in very safe environment . Small class sizes allow kids to realy get involved and excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Absolutely love it. Small class sizes and wonderful teachers. They have excellent program. Very safe environment for kids. Five stars all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

This is the best private school. All teachers are very responsible. I have one kid in K5 and she learned so much in just few months. What I like about this school is the way how they tech the kids to start their day and be on time. During the day, they have a lot of activity for them and fun never ends. I will recommend this school to everybody and there kids will be safe there. I will definitely put my second child to go there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

I have a son that goes to St. Sava School and he is so proud to be there student . As a parent I just love everything about at : teachers , ways they learn , time they spend with each student , hot lunch ( great cook ) , art , music and once a week the liturgy at church . Amazed at everything they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

My grandkids go to this school . It is amazing how much they learned so far way beyond their age. Great school , safe environment, very pleasant teachers even for us granparents. I can't wait until December and their school musical performance. Highly recomended.


Posted October 31, 2013

St. Sava Orthodox School is a wonderful school. I have two children who attend St. Sava, and I am extremely happy about sending them there. The teachers are hardworking, intelligent, talent and caring individuals. The teacher to student ratio is small which means your child can get the best education by getting more individual time with the teachers if needed. Teachers teach the children to be responsible and self sufficient by having them have classroom duties and setting a routine to follow while at school and in the classroom. Students get to learn 2 foreign languages, religion and even robotics for the older students. They learn a lot through the arts. They have school plays, choir, and can learn to play instruments. Many students even won medals at competitions for singing. Everyone knows each other and it is comforting to know that if you are not there your children are cared for and are safe. Our students are caring individuals. They raise money for charity. The older students hug and high five the little ones which brings a smile to my face knowing that the older children are acknowledging the younger ones. It makes the younger ones feel loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I have a 2nd grader and soon to be preschooler in this school. Great school, small classroom ratio, foreign languages starting in the 1st grade, art and music are dissapearign from public schools but not at St Sava, yearly school play developes skills and love for drama, film, theater. Great affordable school with orthodox religious orientation. We are set until highschool and I know when the time comes for HS they will be more then ready to make me proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

I have two high energy boys in this school and enjoy the fact that there is flexibility in the classrooms. My boys tell me that if the classroom starts getting antsy there teacher will let them blow off steam with extra recess. Parents whose kids aren't performing get emails if homework is missing or if the teacher notices changes in behavior we get notified prior to it escalating or cause issues with grades. The school is well rounded with religion, music program, 2nd language class, art, gym & strong in math/science. Kids who have academic issues can get tutored 1:1 with volunteer tutors. Only thing is hot lunch is 3x/week but it's home cooked food & organic. The other two days we brown bag. Over all a well rounded curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

St. Sava is a great school with high academic achievement and sound religious curriculum in the Orthodox Christain faith. St. Sava is a diamond in the rough and a bargain. The school has a great teacher to student ratio of 1 to 12.


Posted February 4, 2007

I currently have four children enrolled at St. Sava's and am very happy with their program. The curriculum is very strong, the teacher/student ratio is very low, and their staff members are wonderful. My children are in a great environment where education is a priority as is the teaching of Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

I have two children enrolled in the School, one in preschool and the other in K5. My 5 year old is already reading! I would say this is an excellent Orthodox Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I have three children enrolled at St. Sava and am extremely happy with the school. It actually is k4 thru 8th and the student to teacher ratio is very low (about 8 to 1). The Terranova scores for this year were very high, with just about all students well above their national grade averages.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

GreatSchools Rating

For private schools, the GreatSchools academic rating is based on test scores and student growth measures from students participating in the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and is not necessarily reflective of performance for all students at a private school. GreatSchools is working with state education officials in the hopes of presenting a more comprehensive picture of student performance at private schools in the future. In the meantime, we encourage reaching out to private schools of interest about specific testing information.

What makes up this rating?

Academic rating
Not available
Climate rating
Not available

This school's GreatSchools Rating is based on academics (90%) and climate (10%). The academic rating measures students' test scores, academic growth and college readiness. The climate rating measures safety, cleanliness, parent involvement and more.

Learn more about our methodology

What is the new GreatSchools Rating?

Rating legend
Below
average
Average
Above
average

Our rating (from 1 to 10) reflects a school's overall performance. The higher the rating, the more likely the school will prepare your child for the future, so choose an above-average school (8-10) if possible. For average schools (4-7), do careful research and look for evidence that the school has high-quality programs. For below-average schools (1-3), take caution; a low-performing school may not provide the instruction or environment your child needs to learn, and you may need to supplement classroom lessons at home.

Academic rating

The academic rating is made up of equally-weighted parts: students' test scores, their academic growth (for elementary and middle schools) and their readiness for college (for high schools). Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Climate ratings

This rating encompasses five elements of school climate: safety and cleanliness, respect and relationships, expectations for students, teacher collaboration and support, and parent involvement. This school's climate ratings are the result of GreatSchools' analysis of teacher survey data from the Spring 2013 School Climate Survey developed by Milwaukee Public Schools. Unfortunately, this school didn't provide enough survey responses to generate a climate rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 100%
Asian 0%
Black, not Hispanic 0%
Hispanic 0%
Multiracial 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: Manually entered by school official

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: Manually entered by school official

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Serbian
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Serbian
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Erica Bugalski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Orthodox
Fax number
  • (414) 545-4087

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Serbian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Serbian
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • P.E.
Girls sports
  • P.E.

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Organize cultural events
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

June 01, 2014

 
46
days left!
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Contact school for tuition information.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Greendale High School
Greenfield High School
Pius XI High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 S 51st St
Milwaukee, WI 53219
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 546-9578

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Milwaukee?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download

Need more information?

Call the GreatSchools hotline at 414-748-1211