Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Port Washington High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
My students had time during class for most homework. Not more than 60 minutes a night, even with AP Classes.

Port Washington High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Students are label Good kids, or screw-ups. Great deal of gossip by teachers about students. Too much interest in students lives outside of the school day.


Port Washington High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
School is moving toward guiding students to identify respectful responses - instead of labeling kids by their behavior. 5 Long years with school promoting Character Counts as a behavior modification tool.

Port Washington High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Teachers encourage volunteering, and involvement in activities based on student interest outside of the classroom. Many teachers demonstrate respect for students of all abilities.

Port Washington High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
The school is inconsistent in response to conduct/student code violations. Students observe preferential treatment for kids with parents who are active in school booster organizations.


Port Washington High School 3

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Superintendent 's Required 100% Positive Thinking and Behavior creatives a culture of denial and avoidance among the Administrative leadership and limits teacher-parent communication that would benefit students. In The past six years of attending parent teacher conferences for my two kids, I found no teacher was willing to acknowledge any student need or challenges - just positive comments, even when my student was struggling with the subject material in their class. Administration is fully aware of increasing availability of drugs in the school building, yet refuse to acknowledge this very real danger, even when hosting speakers to discuss underage drug & alcohol use- They title these events parenting workshops. There are highly qualified teachers in each academic area, yet parents need to guide & monitor their own student's progress. Lots of favoritism & special privileges for kids of active parent booster organizations.

Port Washington High School 5

Posted March 01, 2016
- a parent
Many exciting opportunites and the new building is going to be amazing for our kids coming up.

Port Washington High School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
So disappointed. This is our 4th year at Port High and it is very difficult understand the culture at this school. I had my child's counselor tell me "I have 950+ kids to worry about, I can't worry about yours." When I contacted the principal in the fall regarding an unexcused absence, I was told to talk to the teacher that gave my child the unexcused absence. When I did, he said it was too much work to open his computer and read the email from another teacher excusing my child. And now I completely understand why my children say it is too hard and frustrating to talk to a teacher regarding their grade/missing work etc. I just received and email from a teacher that said they need to come before class or stay after school. If they didn't ride the bus to and from school I can understand how they could stay after school to discuss this with a teacher. Getting out of one class to go to another teachers class? I've also had the TAG counselor change my child's schedule without ever letting the child know! No apology, nothing from the TAG counselor. If you're a parent that doesn't want to be involved in your child's education, this is the school for you.


Port Washington High School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
This is an amazing school and I love it and always will. Teachers should continue to make school fun, and easy to learn. Many students learn easier this way, including me. Homecoming should always be earlier because we can then start off to an easier more closely-knit school faster.

Port Washington High School 4

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
The school offers a lot of help espcially for students who are going downt he drain with their grades from students going to 9th hours (an extra hour everyday) to help them catch on work while being watched to assure that the work is being done. From programs with teachers who check up on the students work daily to make sure that they have everything in and if they are missing any work it is written down

Nearby schools

Port Washington High School
427 West Jackson Street, Port Washington, WI  53074
(262) 268-5505
Last modified Port Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top