Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Port Washington, WI
Students enrolled: 851
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Port Washington High School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
So disappointed. This is our 4th year at Port High and it is very difficult understand the culture at this school. I had my child's counselor tell me "I have 950+ kids to worry about, I can't worry about yours." When I contacted the principal in the fall regarding an unexcused absence, I was told to talk to the teacher that gave my child the unexcused absence. When I did, he said it was too much work to open his computer and read the email from another teacher excusing my child. And now I completely understand why my children say it is too hard and frustrating to talk to a teacher regarding their grade/missing work etc. I just received and email from a teacher that said they need to come before class or stay after school. If they didn't ride the bus to and from school I can understand how they could stay after school to discuss this with a teacher. Getting out of one class to go to another teachers class? I've also had the TAG counselor change my child's schedule without ever letting the child know! No apology, nothing from the TAG counselor. If you're a parent that doesn't want to be involved in your child's education, this is the school for you.

Port Washington High School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
This is an amazing school and I love it and always will. Teachers should continue to make school fun, and easy to learn. Many students learn easier this way, including me. Homecoming should always be earlier because we can then start off to an easier more closely-knit school faster.


Port Washington High School 4

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
The school offers a lot of help espcially for students who are going downt he drain with their grades from students going to 9th hours (an extra hour everyday) to help them catch on work while being watched to assure that the work is being done. From programs with teachers who check up on the students work daily to make sure that they have everything in and if they are missing any work it is written down

Port Washington High School 1

Posted October 12, 2006
- a teacher
The school is not good for average students. The teachers are apathetic.

Port Washington High School 1

Posted October 12, 2006
- a parent
This school doesn't offer much.


Port Washington High School 1

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
It's an average school. The teachers show little interest in the students success.

Port Washington High School 4

Posted April 10, 2006
- a parent
With two sons in the school we have found it to be a very well rounded experience. Out sons came to PWHS from a small Catholic school, with total class sizes of 15-20 kids. Even though they were moving to a school of 950 the transistion was very smooth and we found the staff to be caring and very helpful.

Port Washington High School 4

Posted January 12, 2006
- a parent
This school is a great and unified environment. The teachers are positive role models, and the students who want to give a little, end up getting a lot.


Port Washington High School 5

Posted November 09, 2004
- a student
The staff at Port Washington High School is what makes students high school experience there truely wonderful. In the class room, the teaching staff is one of a kind. Every department is filled with teachers that respect students as individuals and allow students increasing amounts of responsibility as they mature through their teenage years. Not only are the teachers leaders inside the classroom, their kindness and knowledge extends into student's daily lives and the community. Most teachers ask for more than the average student wants to give, but when your student meets these challenges and learns any number of lessons, including the value of hardwork, the gratification of an assignment done WELL, not just done, and increased respect from classmates. Teachers at Port Washington High School teach their subjects exceptionally well, but it is the life skills they teach that are priceless.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Port Washington High School
427 West Jackson Street, Port Washington, WI  53074
(262) 268-5505
Last modified Port Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Port Washington High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top