Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Waunakee, WI
Students enrolled: 365
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison Country Day School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Madison Country Day School is the perfect fit for my two boys. Not only is the curriculum outstanding, but the culture and support and enthusiasm of the parents and teachers exceeded my expectations. I've always been a big supporter of public schools and didn't expect we'd end up at an independent school. But I wouldn't have it any other way. MCDS has changed the trajectory of my children's lives.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Our children go to Madison Country Day School. We chose the school for high academic standards. Since we have entered the school we have grown to love it for the community at MCDS. The character integrity taught to the students surpasses the schools academic reputation. We love MCDS.


Madison Country Day School 2

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in 3rd grade at Madison Country Day School. When we approached the school for admission in 1st grade, they bent over backwards to get us in. They offered us financial assistance, which we needed. The year after, all that changed. They had someone ready to pay the full tuition so they were not interested in us any more. Now, about academics. The teaching quality is erratic and teachers range from mediocre to pretty good. If you are not significantly wealthy, you are going to be under a lot of pressure given the unequal treatment kids and parents are given by the Business Development office and the school management depending on the donations received from parents. Our other child graduated from Van Hise and Hamilton in Madison and I would say the level of academics is not significantly better at MCDS. But as parents, we felt much more at home in Van Hise and Hamilton than we do at MCDS.
1 person found this helpful

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely amazing! Our daughter is getting an education far beyond what the public system offers. It's the way school should be, a place kids love to go, rather than a dreaded institution lacking a sense of community. MCDS is all that they say it is, and our daughter is skyrocketing. I'm simply amazed and can't believe school can be this good. Way to go MCDS! Keep it up you're making a big difference.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school. We have 2 kids at MCDS for the last 10 years and very pleased with their progress. The tution is expensive but the quality of education is worth it. Excellent IB program for all around development of students. Highly recommended.


Madison Country Day School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
I cannot recommend this school for any family who values academics. The leadership of the school is horrible. They say the right things but do none of them.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
We chose to come to MCDS after experiencing a public school in our neighborhood that is known to be one of the best. The teachers we had were good but very stretched with children who needed extra attention behaviorally or academically. Because my child did not he didn't get a lot of attention. Since coming to MCDS a couple of years ago he truly has blossomed as a result of the teachers really getting to know him, being academically stimulated and challenged and being part of the strong community here that truly is not just lip service. Coming to MCDS truly has been one of our best family decisions and now he has two siblings following in his footsteps and we couldn't be happier!

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
We're entering our 3rd year at MCDS, with 1 child currently enrolled & another on the way. We spent a lot of time researching prior to enrollment. I cannot say enough good things about the faculty, staff, curriculum and culture. The students are engaged and inspired -creatively and intellectually - on a daily basis by wonderful, caring, thoughtful teachers. The arts and music emphasis is second to none. There are many things that set MCDS apart but what stands out most is its character education. Every morning, the students gather for assembly with their peers and focus on a character trait: generosity, tolerance, kindness, cooperation, etc.They learn from one another & share thoughts, ideas & opinions, becoming comfortable speaking in front of others at a very young age. Contrary to other posts, we have seen an abundance of concern and effort dedicated to problem-solving if there is a social or behavioral issue. The teachers listen and work very hard and ensure an environment that is free of bullying, one that encourages and embraces individuality. If you are considering MCDS, please take a tour. You'll find yourself inspired & ready for your child to experience all MCDS offers.


Madison Country Day School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
Our child is in her third year at MCDS and we couldn't be happier with the school. It is academically challenging -- no doubt -- but a child need not be a genius to succeed. Motivation to learn, with strong parental support, is really the key. Because of the low student-to-teacher ratio, teachers are able to meet each child's individual needs. If a child needs help in a certain area, s/he will get it. Just as important, kids who are stronger in certain subjects don't get a pass on being challenged. Our daughter has never been stressed about her schoolwork, nor has she been bored because it's too easy. We feel very at home in the school community. There are families from a wide range of backgrounds, including income levels, but we have never experienced snobbiness from anyone. Parents don't send their kids there for social status reasons, but for the rigorous academic training in a nurturing environment. The kids are genuinely nice to each other, including across grades. Recently, at an all-school assembly, kindergartners read short essays they had written (yes, written), and the biggest cheers of support came from the high school kids. We are so thankful for MCDS.

Madison Country Day School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
We have lived in other areas of the country, and our child has attended private and public schools. This was by far the worst experience we had. The principal and administration are unable to handle very serious disciplinary and legal issues but are quite good at writing dress code manuals. I would like to be more specific but cannot because of legal issues.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Country Day School
5606 River Rd, Waunakee, WI  53597
(608) 850-6000
Last modified Madison Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Madison Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top