Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Waunakee, WI
Students enrolled: 365
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison Country Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
For us, it has been just right. For others, it may seem like too much. We understand the stressful demand of having both spouses work in competitive work environments and how this can impact the perspective of parents when it comes to assigned work to be completed at home. We engage our child after every school day and she welcomes homework time. She's actually enthusiastic about learning.

Madison Country Day School 2

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Not happy with administration. Had poor experience where certain staff were dishonest and lacked integrity.


Madison Country Day School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
MCDS is the most academically rigorous school in the Madison area. The facts speak for themselves: 1) Highest ACT scores in the area, 2) Highest percentage of elite college acceptance in the area, and 3) Highest percentage of merit scholars in the area. I'm perplexed by the negative reviews from those complaining about the tuition or the affluent parent base. It's a private school for goodness sakes, and frankly, the tuition is a bargain at 14k. Similar schools on the west coast are 25k, and on the east coast are 40k a year. MCDS offers generous financial aid and there is a reasonable amount of socioeconomic diversity. Honestly, if one is going to complain about others being, "rich and white" or complain about the tuition, then the solution is simple: send your child to public school. It's inaccurate to characterize MCDS as an elitist institution when it so clearly is not.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Madison Country Day School is the perfect fit for my two boys. Not only is the curriculum outstanding, but the culture and support and enthusiasm of the parents and teachers exceeded my expectations. I've always been a big supporter of public schools and didn't expect we'd end up at an independent school. But I wouldn't have it any other way. MCDS has changed the trajectory of my children's lives.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Our children go to Madison Country Day School. We chose the school for high academic standards. Since we have entered the school we have grown to love it for the community at MCDS. The character integrity taught to the students surpasses the schools academic reputation. We love MCDS.


Madison Country Day School 2

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in 3rd grade at Madison Country Day School. When we approached the school for admission in 1st grade, they bent over backwards to get us in. They offered us financial assistance, which we needed. The year after, all that changed. They had someone ready to pay the full tuition so they were not interested in us any more. Now, about academics. The teaching quality is erratic and teachers range from mediocre to pretty good. If you are not significantly wealthy, you are going to be under a lot of pressure given the unequal treatment kids and parents are given by the Business Development office and the school management depending on the donations received from parents. Our other child graduated from Van Hise and Hamilton in Madison and I would say the level of academics is not significantly better at MCDS. But as parents, we felt much more at home in Van Hise and Hamilton than we do at MCDS.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely amazing! Our daughter is getting an education far beyond what the public system offers. It's the way school should be, a place kids love to go, rather than a dreaded institution lacking a sense of community. MCDS is all that they say it is, and our daughter is skyrocketing. I'm simply amazed and can't believe school can be this good. Way to go MCDS! Keep it up you're making a big difference.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school. We have 2 kids at MCDS for the last 10 years and very pleased with their progress. The tution is expensive but the quality of education is worth it. Excellent IB program for all around development of students. Highly recommended.


Madison Country Day School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
I cannot recommend this school for any family who values academics. The leadership of the school is horrible. They say the right things but do none of them.

Madison Country Day School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
We chose to come to MCDS after experiencing a public school in our neighborhood that is known to be one of the best. The teachers we had were good but very stretched with children who needed extra attention behaviorally or academically. Because my child did not he didn't get a lot of attention. Since coming to MCDS a couple of years ago he truly has blossomed as a result of the teachers really getting to know him, being academically stimulated and challenged and being part of the strong community here that truly is not just lip service. Coming to MCDS truly has been one of our best family decisions and now he has two siblings following in his footsteps and we couldn't be happier!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Country Day School
5606 River Rd, Waunakee, WI  53597
(608) 850-6000
Last modified Madison Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Madison Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top