Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 500 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

Roosevelt is a great elementary because the teachers are kind and help the children feel comfortable coming to school. I love how happy my child is coming home and telling me what they learned for the day because it was a fun experience. they are very good at making sure a child still gets to eat even if there lunch account is empty and they send out reminders to help. they are always open to having parents help out and get involved in the school and its activities. I feel that sometimes the teaches fall behind on giving out information and maybe need to have part time help with that. I moved to Wauwatosa years ago for the schools that they have here because I know my children will get the best education needed to succeed and there are plenty of sources to help the parents keep up. however, I do wish they would come up with a way to help explain the homework for their children as some of us have been out of school for a while and are a little rusty on such subjects like math or science. I have always received a call back in a timely manner and they are very helpful when you are trying to find a specific someone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I have been very impressed with this school - my two children have been attending since 4K (through 1st grade and 3rd grade). They have a really strong PTA that has gotten funding to really add technology to the classrooms (smart boards, kindles, tablets, etc.). The teachers are committed to improving the kids, and have all been great. I have been so impressed with the level of coursework the children are learning - I feel that they are having a great experience - learning Spanish at an early age, keyboarding, and others. Math, Reading, Science and Social Studies are strong. The building is very well-kept, and parents are engaged with the school. They utilize the PBIS (Positive Behavior...) for managing behavior, and it works well for my kids. The principals have been engaged and are out and about with the kids. My kids enjoy going to school and are excited about learning; overall a great experience!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Our family had an amazing experience at Roosevelt and I credit that to the phenomenal SK5 teacher my son had. Last year was my son's first year and she went above and beyond to see that my son adjustmed to school. She was prompt, caring, and professional. If issues arose, she addressed them in a caring nature, taking time out of her schedule to fit our needs and worked hard to make any adjustments that would positively influence my sons learning. My son was excited about school and adored his teacher, as did we! The individual attention his teacher payed to ALL the students I observed was amazing! Her class was greeted with hugs, and the amount of control she had of her class was unbelievable. Unfortunately our family has now moved, but if I were guaranteed to have the same teacher with the care and concern she had, I would fight to stay! The only concern I had at times, were parents. At times they could appear as a little "clicky", but as the year progressed I noticed improvement The only reason I mention this is because for a child trying to foster new friendships, and establish high self esteem, it can be more challenging. After all its about the kids, not us parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

My daughter spent 7 wonderful years at Roosevelt Elementary. We had excellent and enthusiastic teachers who really cared if she was learning and how she could best learn. We could not be happier with the quality of education and helpful staff. I'm sorry for the one parent who had such a negative experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I pulled my children out of Roosevelt two years ago and couldn't be happier that we left. My children now have what they deserve: enthusiastic, caring teachers, eager to share their love of learning with their students. This was dreadfully lacking at Roosevelt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

this school is what every parent dreams of for their children. I could not have picked a better school for mine. Teachers are caring and consistant! Great activites, sports and extras at Roosevelt. My child is excited to go to school each and every day! There is individual care for each child. Thank you Roosevelt!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Love this school. My son came here 3 yrs ago and it has been a wonderful choice. He loves it there, faculty is marvelous!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Teachers and principal were very dedicated to education. Their approach was excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Best Teachers and staff anywhere !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I feel lucky that my children go to such a great school. The principal, teachers and staff are wonderful. The PTA and parental involvement is amazing. There is a lot of learning going on. My children are challenged and are very happy at Roosevelt. I would highly recommend the school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I feel that Roosevelt school has very involved parents. The teachers, staff, & principal are all involved & invested in the children learning. I have been very pleased with my child's classes. I have seen (through my children telling me what they did that day) that they are focused on geography, science, social studies, math, reading, spelling, & english composition. They offer many interesting additions to the regular learning day such as field trips, assemblies, & PTA activities. My children love school & are excited to learn & tell us about their day. The teachers & staff have created an atmosphere where the children are interested & excited to learn. I have not seen where teachers are being replaced. I am very happy with Roosevelt!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

The kindergarten program is awesome. However, the learning stops there.There are still a few teachers left that have years of experience, and are able to pull off the weak curriculum, but unfortunately, they are quickly being replaced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I think the review below is a pretty broad generalization. The curriculum does focus on math and social studies, though I haven't seen nearly enough evidence of natural science instruction. While I agree that it is beyond time for new math and reading curricula in the whole Wauwatosa district, the teachers do an adequate job with what they have, as evidenced not only by the kids' demonstrable ability to read, write and do math, but also by their standardized test scores. Their social studies units are very cool through the grades, including some wonderful field trips and service projects. And how many public schools near the city of Milwaukee offer strings to 4th graders and Spanish to all the kids, beginning in K4? Roosevelt is not perfect, but the staff is amazing, the parent community engaged and most of the kids really seem to like it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

They have the best teachers, caring and just awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 92% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female75%
Male80%
Black, not of Hispanic origin20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin94%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled80%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Reading

All Students62%
Female68%
Male54%
Black, not of Hispanic origin27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin73%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled66%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
Black, not of Hispanic origin80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled91%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Math

All Students66%
Female75%
Male60%
Black, not of Hispanic origin45%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin77%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled74%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant66%

Reading

All Students47%
Female66%
Male34%
Black, not of Hispanic origin15%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin59%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled53%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant47%

Science

All Students84%
Female91%
Male81%
Black, not of Hispanic origin70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled93%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female100%
Male94%
Black, not of Hispanic origin95%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin96%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled100%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male76%
Black, not of Hispanic origin53%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled81%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

Reading

All Students50%
Female59%
Male40%
Black, not of Hispanic origin24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin63%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled57%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 66% 73%
Black, not Hispanic 19% 10%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Multiracial 5% 2%
Asian 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 13%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 72%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 62%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2535 N 73rd St
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 773-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Mercy Academy
Wauwatosa, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT