Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 309 students

We are best known for QUALITY Christian academics and our family atmosphere.
 
 

 

Living in Wauwatosa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $182,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

I want to thank Mary Irish, the Principle of Our Redeemer Lutheran School in Wauwatosa, WI sooooo very much for all she has done. Mrs. Irish took the time to open her kind heart, listen, care, she showed empathy, and understood my hardship I had to sadly endure in 2013. In 2013 I lost both my father and only sibling. My father died from a Pulmonary Embolism due to surgery complications and 90 days later my sister was on her motorcycle which she was hit and killed by an individual under the influence while operating a motor vehicle. I was off from work a little over 6 months of the year, my finances got the best of me, and trying to deal with emotional set back was not easy. When it came to my daughter s education I was not worried because Mrs. Irish made me feel at ease. Those were the most horrible events I had to experience thus far in my 29 years of life. Mrs. Irish deserve the Blue Ribbon recognition and whatever recognition there is to give, because she does her job well in keeping the school in order and making others feel welcomed. So again I want to thank Mary Irish for all the love, support, and most of all not allowing my daughter be a child who is left behind!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Our three children have gone through Our Redeemer, and their national test scores are off the charts - then we noticed it wasn't hereditary (because the whole school has high scores), it was the exceptional education they were (and are) given at ORLS. Our Redeemer received a National Blue Ribbon School award this year, and rather than rest easy on their accolades, they continue to look for ways to improve. The part we love the most about ORLS is that the faculty and staff clearly show their love for Jesus in how they interact with students, parents, church members, and each other. Our children now know that God has a unique plan for each of their lives, and ORLS has prepared them to meet the challenges of carrying out His plan. We cannot say enough of how blessed we feel to have found this school (and church)! We would encourage any parents looking for a great Christ-centered school in the Milwaukee area to check out Our Redeemer before making a decision. You'll be glad you did! They have a cool website too: orlctosa.org Congratulations and THANK YOU Our Redeemer for the blessing you are to our family - it's nice to see rest of the country recognize what we already knew!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

Our Redeemer Lutheran is a United States Department of Education National Blue Ribbon School 2013 and offers Christ-centered academics in a family atmosphere. What a blessing this school has been to so many families seeking the best education possible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2012

I speak as a parent and an educator when I say that I would highly recommend Our Redeemer to anyone looking for a great christian based education for their children. I have 3 children who attended OR and only left because of my husband's job transfer to another state. The teachers at OR have thoroughly prepared my children for their new school which has a challenging curriculum. The teachers are well trained, always readily available and quick at addressing any concerns. They truly care about the success of their students. Mrs. Irish, the principal, works as diligently behind the scenes as in front. She is constantly searching for new ways to make each school year better than the last, whether it be by improving technology, reviewing the curriculum, or implementing new ideas geared at fostering more successful students. The parents are very involved, which helps create a safe, family friendly environment in the school. I can't say enough about how much of a gem this school is. If we ever return to the area, I would definitely place my children back at Our Redeemer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

We were staying at the Ronald McDonald's House because we just had a very sick child. Our oldest daughter was set to start 4K back home. It was important that she should go to school. I searched over 30 schools to find one that would work with us and one that was good. We were so blessed to find Our Redeemer. Not only did they work with us, they were a HUGE blessing to us. Our daughter's teacher was awesome. The principal was understanding and helpful. We were able to spend a semester there and our entire family misses Our Redeemer. The quality of education is amazing. The staff and the students are awesome. We are now back home and our daughter is going to school. I pray that there was a way we could continue going to Our Redeemer. What our daughter has learned in a semester at Our Redeemer is priceless. Not only did she start to learn to read, she learned about God and some other very valuable morals and conduct. If we lived in Milwaukee, all of our children would attend Our Redeemer. It is an amazing school with awesome staff. I cannot say enough good things about Our Redeemer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

We are new to this school this year, and are very blessed to be here! ORLS has an amazing curriculum and the staff has been wonderful making this year an easy transition for my two children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

What a blessing ORLS is to so many. The experience students have every day is spectacular! The families are so supportive of the school's mission and teacher are A+!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2009

Our son attended Our Redeemer since kindergarten and recently completed eighth grade. Every teacher he had was dedicated to the academic, spiritual, and emotional growth of the students. Specialist classes and departmentalized instruction in the middle school grades provide opportunities for the students to be exposed to a variety of teachers and subject matter. We were gratified to see our son develop the ability to share his faith with others as a result of the wonderful examples set by his Christian teachers. The caliber of work that was expected of him has him well prepared for the transition to high school. Watching the graduates, it was easy to see the caring and support the students develop for one another as they work together. We could not imagine a better Christian education than the one our son received at Our Redeemer Lutheran School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

The Christian atmosphere, strong sense of 'family', and cutting edge instruction coupled with technology support makes O.R. a top-quality school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 12, 2008

We have had children at Our Redeemer for six years, since our oldest started kindergarten. Our children are very different in personality and learning style and are all doing well and feeling appreciated and cared for. Each teacher has been involved and available and Christ is the center of each classroom. As a graduate of public schools, I am so thankful for the Christian love and care that surrounds our children at Our Redeemer. They are liearning the most important building blocks for life as they continue to grow academically as well as spiritually. When they go on to high school they will do so with confidence and strong support from the friendships they will take with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

We moved to Wisconsin in June of 2007 and decided to send our daughter to Our Redeemer because it was a Christ centered atmosphere. Mrs. Irish is amaingly welcoming and available. Our daughter's teacher was always available to us. I always felt welcomed by her and felt free to stay and observe as long as I wanted. The art program was my daughter's favorite. The after school programs including Mad Science, Art, Daisy's and PTA Movie night encouraged my daughter very much. I appreciated the fact that all the teachers were trained in the Love and Logic Approach. My daughter has made a friend that I think she will keep for the rest of her life. We are not Lutheran thus we did not join the church. I think this slightly affected our ability to connect with more families. This was not a hinderance though to making friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I could not be more happy with this school. Teachers are caring and considerate, and foster good Christian relationships with students and parents. It is evident that Christ comes first in all that they do. New students and families are welcomed as part of the family. On top of all this are the obvious high academic standards evident in our children's work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

We have two students ( a son and daughter) who are doing well in high school after completing grade school at ORLS. They have fond memories; we have no regrets. Send your kids there then get involved...you'll be pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

Our Redeemer Lutheran School has provided a top notch experience for my child. We are so happy with how he has been accepted at school, with the great communication that lets us know what is going on, and most especially with the high quality of the Christian academic program that the school provides. We'd recommend it to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

After having children in another excellent Lutheran school, I cannot say enough about Our Redeemer. I especially appreciate the personal care shown by the teachers, and the way my children were immediately welcomed by their peers. Our Redeemer has a tremendous family atmosphere, and offers options to students that most Lutheran Schools are unable to offer - a full-time Physical Education Specialist, Spanish classes for children in grades 1-8, multiple music offerings, and enrichment classes for those who need a greater challenge. I would recommend this school without reservation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

Christians need to be smart and caring. They will not develop either of these qualities at Our Redeemer. Our Redeemer is severely lacks the leadership character, business acumen, resources and 'love' needed to ensure academic excellence, social adjustment and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I had two children go through Our Redeemer Lutheran School and couldn't be more pleased with the education they received! They transferred into Our Redeemer after a few years in public schools. The teachers were eager to help my children adjust to their new school surroundings and helped them make friends with their new classmates. If there were ever any concerns I would receive a prompt phone call home and the issues would be dealt with in a loving and confidential way. They have gone on to be successful in their college careers and beyond, carrying with them, the faith that was instilled in them at Our Redeemer. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who would like an excellent, Christian education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2004

'Our Redemer did not help my children at all. My younger daughter was made to daily feel isolated and ignorant in comparison to her classmates. Instead of helping those in need of additional assisatnce, they rave about the 'strong' students and neglect the others. Although the school provided an excellent Lutheran background for my children, I would not recommend this school'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

GreatSchools Rating

For private schools, the GreatSchools academic rating is based on test scores and student growth measures from students participating in the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and is not necessarily reflective of performance for all students at a private school. GreatSchools is working with state education officials in the hopes of presenting a more comprehensive picture of student performance at private schools in the future. In the meantime, we encourage reaching out to private schools of interest about specific testing information.

What makes up this rating?

Academic rating
Not available
Climate rating
Not available

This school's GreatSchools Rating is based on academics (90%) and climate (10%). The academic rating measures students' test scores, academic growth and college readiness. The climate rating measures safety, cleanliness, parent involvement and more.

What is the new GreatSchools Rating?

Rating legend
Below
average
Average
Above
average

Our rating (from 1 to 10) reflects a school's overall performance. The higher the rating, the more likely the school will prepare your child for the future, so choose an above-average school (8-10) if possible. For average schools (4-7), do careful research and look for evidence that the school has high-quality programs. For below-average schools (1-3), take caution; a low-performing school may not provide the instruction or environment your child needs to learn, and you may need to supplement classroom lessons at home.

Academic rating

The academic rating is made up of equally-weighted parts: students' test scores, their academic growth (for elementary and middle schools) and their readiness for college (for high schools). Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Climate ratings

This rating encompasses five elements of school climate: safety and cleanliness, respect and relationships, expectations for students, teacher collaboration and support, and parent involvement. This school's climate ratings are the result of GreatSchools' analysis of teacher survey data from the Spring 2013 School Climate Survey developed by Milwaukee Public Schools. Unfortunately, this school didn't provide enough survey responses to generate a climate rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 72% 74%
Black, not Hispanic 25% 10%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School 2013 (2013)
  • Exemplary School - LCMS (2010)
  • Ranked in the Top 50 Best U.S. Middle Schools (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Irish
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (414) 258-5775

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • First Stage Theater
  • Concordia University
  • Mad Science after-school classes
  • Checkmates Chess class after-school classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Checkmates Program offered
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • First Stage Theater offered
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Mad Science offered
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Scouting programs
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • green, white
School mascot
  • ORLS Lancers
More from this school
  • Caring Christian teachers lead the way as role models for our students. The extra-special time and attention they receive makes the difference. They are Christian servants who view their service here as ministry!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
52
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
75
Students typically come from these schools
Other area parochial schools
Milwaukee Public School
Other area public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Application fee
Yes. $150.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Milwaukee Lutheran High School
Wauwatosa Public High Schools
Elmbrook Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10025 W North Ave
Wauwatosa, WI 53226
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 258-4558

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Milwaukee Academy
Wauwatosa, WI


Christ King School
Wauwatosa, WI



Whitman Middle School
Wauwatosa, WI


Milwaukee Academy
Wauwatosa, WI


Plank Road Complex
Wauwatosa, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT