Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Cheyenne, WY
Students enrolled: 297
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pioneer Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Principal walked into a room full of 6th graders and stole books from the students. They were gifts given to each student with notes of encouragement from their teacher. They refuse to communicate with the parents why. I have read more than one of them, and they were so encouraging and helpful for my boy. I have watched as teachers are brow beaten and all fear for their careers. This principal is no friend of education. This is an evil place, I am glad school is almost over and my kid will not have to return. They don't meet Annual Yearly Progress (never have) so you can use that angle to waiver out of this school. Until the GESTAPO is gone DONT go to this school. SHAME.

Pioneer Park Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Lets put it this way ~ a school that kicks a 9 year old boy out for no reason what so ever. 2 days before his birthday, 1 day before his field trip to the Denver zoo and 3 days before the end of the 3rd quarter. My boy never caused any trouble, did well on his school work and still i have not heard anything on why they did what they did to him and its been over 3 months now. Nobody will face us and give us any explanation why. They had brought down his self esteem, his self worth and took everything he put his all in~ away from him. On that note i think everyone who reads this can make the best choice for their children. " Be Aware" the school does more bulling then the children themselves.


Pioneer Park Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2010
- a parent
The "Trailblaizer" all day gifted program is one of the best programs in the USA. Due to the limited number of spaces and the costs involved your child must past the WISC as gifted in all areas. For example my daughter was gifted in verbal, reading and all others but only average in math so she was not accepted into the program but my son was. The teachers are outstanding but staff here can be short. I imagine they are a bit worn out from all the military folks that coming in and out. This school is right off F E Warren AFB and they get the most military kids. I do not like the quiet rooms, however including children into public schools who used to be served by local mental hospitals has become a nation wide phenomena and not unique to Pioneer

Pioneer Park Elementary School 1

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
We have been very troubled by the leadership at this school. This is the GT center for Cheyenne. When we moved our high-performing GT student to Cheyenne, the school leadership refused to enroll her, deciding that the other school district's standards were not sufficiently rigorous to merit any sort of deference. Rather, we found ourselves running the newly-moved grade schooler through a battery of tests and interviews (including an candid discussion of the student's abilities by the principal, with the child present). If you have a GT student, and have other options than the city of Cheyenne, I would exercise them.

Pioneer Park Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pioneer Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2008
- a parent
I love pioneer park. The programs they have for the kids is great! We moved from the area and my daughter talks about going back everyday she truely misses the kid and her great teachers. Any problem I had was taken care of right away.

Pioneer Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Pioneer Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Pioneer Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2007
- a parent
Awesome school my child loves all the teachers and has a great time! She gets the help she needs and there are great learning tools. Principal takes care of the school and chilren pretty well! Awesome tlc programs! Overall it is an outstanding school I would recommend it anytime!

Pioneer Park Elementary School 1

Posted July 27, 2006
- a parent
The office staff is very unfriendly. School does not look into the bst intrest of the children. Some of the teachers and other staff lack the experience that is needed to take care of children that are disabled. The TLC program is horrible. Instead of trying to calm down the 'special' children they send them into a room all by themselves to 'calm them down'. Not a good school, not even close.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pioneer Park Elementary School
1407 Cosgriff Court, Cheyenne, WY  82001
(307) 771-2316
Last modified Pioneer Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pioneer Park Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top