Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Enterprise Jr High School

Public | 8-9

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

enterprise has a good school system and plus we have been city champs for how long ?
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2009

I love this school very much. The teachers actually care and you get to activities to let you get involved
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

I attend EJHS and I love it. Its a great school and it gets you involved:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2006

My two girls attended this school for one and a half years. They were pulled out for homeschooling and I strongly recommend the same for anyone facing difficulties in this school. The material that was taught was substandard. It seemed that all that was covered were the state tests that were drilled in their heads. The rest of the crucial information was left out or briefly covered. There are opportunities for athletes, but that is it. All academic achievements are overshadowed by sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

I hate EJHS. Everything is a competition. My grades are good,but only because this school is too easy.It doesnt challenge me or support my ability to learn.This scares me because I'm afraid that in high school I won't be ready for what I am required to do.Don't get me wrong,there are plenty of nice students and wonderful teachers,but,overall,I would much rather go to Dauphin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2006

I was surprised with the quality and attentiveness of the teachers and administrators. The district gives the 'rules' and they work to get what is needed for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I have been nothing short of impressed with EJHS. The support they give their students is beyond my expectations. The extra-curriculars and added opportunities of tutoring students is an extraordinary addition to the challenging curriculum already provided. Our children are in both Honor Roll and Honor Society and continue to thrive with EJHS. I believe a strong school begins with a strong Administration and Mr. Greg Faught exceeds in this regard. As a principal he is warm with the students and open with the families. I must also state that being a military family, EJHS truly has opened their hearts to our dependents making the transition easier on the children and supporting the students with deployed parents. Thank you EJHS for educating my children as if they were your own.-Debra H.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

Enterprise Junior High is a great school! We have been very pleased with the educational experience our two children have received there. The administration and teachers are supportive, friendly, and they are always there if you need them. Principal Greg Faught, in particular, is especially supportive of the students and knows each of them by name. EJHS has great school spirit- not only for their sports teams, musical groups, and various activities, but also for the academic achievements made by their students. The administration and teachers take pride in their students by recognizing them with awards ceremonies. Our children are both National Junior Honor Society members and All-A Honor Roll students. They feel the teachers have challenged and encouraged them to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Our EJHS impression: overwhelmingly positive, caring, concerned, fair, encouraging, kind. Faculty/ staff: dedicated, diligent, thorough, nice educators. My child's grades have improved at EJHS. Stress level has decreased. Self-esteem has improved. Students too are kinder and friendlier than previous school, Dauphin. My child is treated with greater respect, concern and fairness at EJHS than Dauphin. The EJHS faculty emphasizes success and equal treatment. The atmosphere at Dauphin was very negative. There were many instances of unfairness, mistreatment and preferential treatment based on who you or your parents are. The atmostphere at EJHS is conducive to learning. Dauphin had a stressful, oppressive atmostphere that hampered student's ability to learn and caused many fights and harrassment there. Children rise to the level of expectation. They are expected to behave and learn at EJHS. They flourish with more freedom and better treatment. It starts at the top with the principal. Greg Faught is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

As a parent of two children that have attended EJHS over the past four years, I feel that I have a true awareness of what this school has to offer!I am impressed with the quality of teachers and the variety of teaching skills they bring to this school. I appreciate that some offer to tutor students before and after school if additional help is needed. I also appreciate the level of parent involvement that is encouraged here. As we all know, the older the child gets, the less they tell us. EJHS has gladly opened their doors to the parents that are willing to volunteer their time to get 'hands-on' experience with their child's school. I also commend the administrators here. This can be a difficult age to handle, but Mr. Faught and his staff are doing an outstanding job making sure our kids have a secure place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

i think if more parents and students get involved it might make a difference. i don't think the school is terrible but everyone wants to blame it on the whole school. The teachers and staff of a school can't do it all themselves. Students and parents need to take the responsibility and iniative to see what they are or are not doing. Such as feedback with the teachers, homework, and helping establish a positive environment in which to learn and grow. Parents are resposible for trying to help the kids. But the kids are resposible for doing their work, doing their best, asking for help, and being good students. It's a group effort and that is how we must tackle the issues at hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

This school is terribe. Most of the teachers do not care about the students and how they do in school. I would not recomend for anyone to go to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education24%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty76%
Not poverty96%

Reading

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education35%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty87%
Not poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 58%
Black 24% 34%
Hispanic 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 West College St
Enterprise, AL 36330
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 347-1733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Coppinville School
Enterprise, AL


Dauphin Jr High School
Enterprise, AL



Pathway Inc
Enterprise, AL


New Brockton High School
New Brockton, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT