Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jacksonville High School 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Great school, caring teachers, excellent academic offerings. Students are well prepared for college or the work force upon graduation.

Jacksonville High School 4

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Great Academic school. Athletic program is mediocre and very, very political. Does not matter how good you are in athletics, more important is who you and your parents are. There is no off season sports program.


Jacksonville High School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
This school has started depending too much upon technology to teach the students. The teachers are rude and lazy. Have had them tell me there is no such thing as a "504 plan" (which is state law). Tends to have their favorite students, and if you are not a favorite then too bad for you. Terrible school system. And their online system is a joke. They (without permission) created my underage child an email account. Some teachers are so lazy now they do not issue books and require all assignments to be completed online (and do not check for plagiarism). Bullying is not taken seriously. My son actually "paid" for other children to "protect" him. When brought to the schools attention, they did not do anything to help. He was physically attacked by another student and had books smashed over his head and all the attacker received was "ISS" and Alternative School.

Jacksonville High School 1

Posted August 11, 2013
- a community member
I'm a former student and moved away because of this school. The administration only cares about good test scores and has let students to free after getting caught with drugs so not to make the school look bad. One of the students and one of my friends committed suicide. There where serval students participating in self mutilation. I am include in this because of rampant bullying. The drug problem at this school is horrible and for alittle while I succumbed to the pressure and did drugs. I moved to a Georgia because of these problems

Jacksonville High School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
JHS offered my child opportunities both academically and socially in a variety of venues. The teachers genuinely care about the students. The atmosphere is one of high standards, high expectations and high achievement. At this school, a student can "get out of it what they put into it". Slackers tend to fade away from this environment.


Jacksonville High School 1

Posted March 12, 2011
- a parent
I simply cannot see how this faculty could be less interested in the welfare of most of the children. There is a definite class system in place where some receive better attention and assistance. There is also a lot of fights and a growing drug problem. Don't they realize why a bunch of kids leave school whenever the drug dogs arrive? The punishment for being AWOL isn't as bad as getting caught with drugs. New leadership is necessary. Clean house and create an environment that fosters learning, accountability and responsibility for all parties.

Jacksonville High School 4

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
Great parent, teacher school...

Jacksonville High School 4

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Jacksonville High School 1

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and the school do not care about the students and will not work with the parents. The STI Home website is worthless because sometimes it takes 2 and 3 weeks for the teachers to post grades. Also, most do not use the homework assignment page. If you are trying to keep track of your child's homework and grades, it is hopeless. They do nothing to motivate the students and help them advance. In fact, it is just the opposite. Their uncaring attitude lowers the student's self esteem. How is it that a 10th grader can be told that there is no way for him to graduate. There are several alternatives that I found on my own but was offered no alternative by the school. They only care about their 'high academic grades'. If you don't play sports and aren't in that category, you are not wanted. Stay away.

Jacksonville High School 2

Posted August 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jacksonville High School
1000 George Douthit Dr SW, Jacksonville, AL  36265
(256) 435-4177
Last modified Jacksonville High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jacksonville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top