Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
100 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shelton's Primary Education Center 1

Posted August 05, 2015
- a parent
As an alumni of this Shelton's Primary Education Center , I was really excited for my son to attend this school. My son is two, and he is my only offspring. I am deeply saddened to suggest parents should NOT consider Shelton's as a top option for child care and education, until the director is replaced and a modern education plan is set in motion. Within the 4.5 months that my son attended this school, the staff have provided no updates on his growth. His progress report was left blank, with a very small and generic note at the bottom. The school accidentally gave me another students progress report whom is also in the same age group) her report was completed, however other than her name, the comments were exactly the same. I tested my son based off the report given, and he was able to do and say, and complete everything on the check list. I am a very active parent, and it was disheartening to know that parents were NOT ALLOWED (EVER) to stop in and take part in some of the daily activities, once the children are acclimated. I was informed of this, after my son was enrolled, acclimated and making friends. My goal is to watch how my son interacts with his peers, with staff, and visa versa The director Mika McGaffie, is beyond disrespectful. This lady is a former elementary peer of mine, and also an alumni of Shelton's as her family owns the school. Her tone is very condescending, she never knows what is happening when an incident occurs, and this lady had the audacity to tell me "her staff doesn't like me because i don't speak to them in the mornings". I was told that "i question things that i don't understand too much." That was the LAST STRAW for me. This lady thinks i will have my son in a school and just trust that the institution is doing everything they said they will do on the website. no ma'am. I have spoken to other parents whom,have removed their children from Shelton's due to the unruly mouth of the director. This is before sharing my experience with the parents. I have looked high and low for written reviews or feed back from other parents, and the most recent positive review was written in 2007, for the K-5 program. I guess people have very little positive experiences with the 2-5 year old program under Mika's management.

Shelton's Primary Education Center 3

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
Sheltons is good, but it could be great. Our son has had both amazing and horrible teachers in the two years he has gone here. I wish that Sheltons would focus more on quality control through periodic classroom observations and reflections in order to support, or get rid of , the horrible teachers. The parents and students of Sheltons are amazing. My son has made great friends at this school. There seems to be a good balance between play and academics. They provide great lunches (i.e. chicken and waffles!) and great field trips too. They are losing funding, so the playground equipment is old and the balls are flat. There are some teachers who engage the students on the playground and some who just sit the whole time, drinking coffee, yelling accross the yard. Again, there needs to be some quality control.


Shelton's Primary Education Center 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
I currently have two children at Shelton's who began in the first of the three pre-K classes. I cannot begin to share how much my husband and I value the leadership principals Shelton's as instilled in our children's learning experience. They surpass the cognitive level of many of their cousins around their ages. I beg their parents to please consider Shelton's. Sheltons' instructors are a unit of superior instuctors who are completely devoted to enriching developing minds. They respect every individual childs attributes. I love to brag about the education my children are receiving at Shelton's especially the emphasis on Black heritage and achievements. This is so important for our children. I can not thank the Shelton's directors and staff enough for the the life long committment they have to given the generations of childrens who have passed through the Shelton's education system.

Shelton's Primary Education Center 1

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
Shelton's is unique in that it is small, independent, family operated with focus on African American pride but it has many issues of concern. The staff & administration are not approachable. Parents are not being heard . It requires going to the top, such as board members but even the top doesn't take responsibility and disregards feedback. Shelton's struggle with funding and enrollment. The building is outdated with hazards especially the playground. There is disrespect amongst the children and choas in the classrooms because there are no clear boundaries set. My child has attended since preschool but we are leaving. Shelton's is not worth the cost.

Shelton's Primary Education Center 5

Posted December 24, 2007
- a parent
My child has been a student at this school for a few years now and my family is very pleased. The teachers have all taught her well. She is often exposed to something new and she is excited about going to school everyday. Shelton's has worked together with my family in instilling a level of confidence in my child that is surely going to take her a long way in life. They have also given her a very strong academic foundation. I know she is going to exceed in what ever she chooses to do and I thank Shelton's for being a part of that.


Shelton's Primary Education Center 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
I have been a parent at Shelton's for several years. I am quite pleased with their academic program and extra-curricular offerings. The staff is friendly and from my experience they are open to feedback. If you are interested in checking out Shelton's, I suggest that you take a look at the shool for yourself. I have another child who I fully intend to enroll in Shelton's as soon as he becomes of age. Shelton's is a unique educational institution that I beleive is a great place to learn.

Shelton's Primary Education Center 4

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
I'm a new parent at the school with a child in Pre-K. I am very excited about the new board and the direction the school is going. The school seems to be open to parent involvement and wants our opinion

Shelton's Primary Education Center 1

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
Shelton's quality of service has gone down. The professionalism is nonexistant. Making money and being frugal seems to be more priority then having a solid teaching curriculum They seem to have dropped the ball on education. Especially for the 1-4 graders.


Shelton's Primary Education Center 1

Posted July 18, 2007
- a parent
While Shelton may have made a name for itself in the past, largely due to the passion of its founders. Today is a new day and the school is nothing short of attending a public school. they have not been practicing what they preach. And a lot of parents are no longer feeling compelled to be involved.

Shelton's Primary Education Center
no rating

Posted July 12, 2007
- a parent
While Shelton's may have made a name for itself in the past for excellence in education as an independent school; today it shares the same struggles as many publicly funded schools: over worked, under paid teachers, (in some cases under qualified), overrun/outdated facilities, and a stagnant curriculum. Although the landscape for independent school are continuously being challenged by external variables (economic fluctuations, new charter schools, etc) The majority of independent schools in the East Bay have seen a steady increase in enrollment and have been able to turn lemons into lemonade. Unfortunately, by comparison, it appears that Shelton's has not faired as well. Shelton's impetus for running this school like a family business verse a non profit was once considered endearing and naive, has regretfully become their Achilles heel. It is my hope that one day the school will be able to reclaim their status as a 'great place to learn'.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shelton's Primary Education Center
3339 Martin Luther King Jr. Way, Berkeley, CA  94703
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (510) 652-6132
Last modified Shelton's Primary Education Center is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top