Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brisbane Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
Community is awesome, school is awesome! It is like a village where everyone watches out for each other s children. An abundance of parent volunteers help enrich our school campus. Our new principal is doing a great job turning our school around and focusing on academics and common core standards.

Brisbane Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
We have a great new principal starting this year with a focus on academics by improving teacher instruction. Her previous experience also includes being a turn-around school consultant and expert in common core standards testing. Already there have been good changes made and we are very excited for the future.


Brisbane Elementary School 4

Posted October 19, 2013
- a parent
We are so lucky to live in this fabulous community. Lots of sunshine, very little fog knowing our neighbors, having so many involved families at our schools, living on a mountain, being able to walk/bike to school, minutes from SF as well as the rest of the peninsula, and an active parents group of support. (This list goes on!) Brisbane has good schools and mostly terrific teachers from which many students have gone on to competitive high schools, colleges, and careers. But everything can get better, right? It is exciting that so many families work together to make Brisbane and our schools even better than they already are. BES teaches a model call Highly Effective Teaching (HET). Students are tought public speaking, holistic report creation, carrying one idea to a different idea and finding similarities, being kind, finding solutions rather than problems, being responsible, having an innate desire to learn, how much they enjoy learning, the questions that they ask, or their ability to work in a group on a team. These are all such important life skills. BES also offers a variety of afterschool programs and a flexible aftercare program (all fee-based, but reasonable).

Brisbane Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Great school. No bullying allowed. Small enough that everyone knows each other. Most teachers are fresh and fun to learn from. We have a new principle and expect a GREAT school year!

Brisbane Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
This year the Brisbane Elementary School Leadership Team will be working on bringing a Sustainable Edible School yard to our learning community. This project will include a full industrial kitchen, a classroom in a full garden, a gardening club open to the community and healthy food to our students. From this project we hope to improve community and student knowledge around sustainability, healthy eating and how to keep our bodies moving.


Brisbane Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
What's not to love!!!!! It's an awesome school with a great staff and great students too. The parent volunteers are great as well!!1

Brisbane Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Lots of parent participation, very nurturing and it has a wonderful staff. The best principal any school would wish for!

Brisbane Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2008
- a parent
BES is a safe, nurturing, enriching school for children in Brisbane. Lifeskills are stressed and practical applications taught. our son has been at BES for 5 years.


Brisbane Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brisbane Elementary School 2

Posted January 25, 2008
- a parent
Brisbane Elementary School is fabulous in many ways. It's a warm, friendly, safe environment for children. The building is beautiful. It's well maintained and charming in ways that new schools aren't. There is a library, art and music classes and after school care. The principal is very involved and accessible. Teacher quality varies from excellent to not. The fatal flaw in this school is academics. Reform math and a strong constructivist pedagogy have resulted in poor performance on standardized tests and students that aren't prepared for middle school. It is the classic outcome of constructivist pedagogy: the children have positive feelings for subjects but are not good at them. If constructivism and reform math are your cup of tea, this school is for you. If you are seeking rigorous academics and the possibility of a career in science or mathematics for your child, stay away.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brisbane Elementary School
500 San Bruno Avenue, Brisbane, CA  94005
(415) 467-0120
Last modified Brisbane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brisbane Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top