Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public charter
Campbell, CA
Students enrolled: 707
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Capri Elementary School 3

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Capri is a great school with wonderful teacher who interact so well with their students! Last year however their was a change in the administration that has had a huge negative impact on the school. The principal, Mrs. Ready seems friendly and is always friendly to kids and parents. The Assistant PrincipL, Ted Cribari thinks to highly of himself and his importance to the school. He is always rushing around and most often when he is outside he is talking on his cell phone. He does not want to deal with kids if they are having a bad day and I have had him personally tell me that he is to busy to deal with it. Their is no communication between the two adminstrators and things don't seem to flow well. Warning if you have to deal with the AP, he will say yes i understand and let's try it but he has 0 follow through. Hopefully they get a new AP before he ruins the school and continues to scare the kids with his threats.

Capri Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful. This is our 4th year at Capri. It is a hidden gem in Campbell. Capri teaches the kids to be respectful, responsible, and safe. My kids love going to school every day. The new Principal, Mrs. Ready, is always at the playground during recess.


Capri Elementary School 4

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
Our older son attended Capri from 1st grade. He is now in 5th grade and it went pretty smoothly. He had a few bad days, but for the vast majority of the time he was looking forward to being at school every single morning.

Capri Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My kids love this school! Everyone is so nice and the school has amazing teachers like, miss. Navara and miss kwanazwa and miss. Heinkel

Capri Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a community member
Love this School and Teachers and Principle They are a great Team ..The only pit fall is the Office help Other than that This School is Awesome Love seeing yard duty friendly faces and always willing to smile and help every way they can I love Volunteering ! When I can Its a joy to be around these wonderful Kids.


Capri Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and staff at Capri are great. I am constantly amazed at what a wonderful job they are doing with the education of my two children. While academics are a priority at the school, socialization is also stressed. The kids learn how to be active and positive members of the Capri community. There is a nice base of parent volunteers that help out (although there could always be more). There are wonderful programs like ABC Readers and Los Dichos, which involve parents reading in the classroom and facilitating discussions about positive behavior traits. After school programs are available (on a pay-basis) to supplement what is taught in school. Art class, Academic Chess, basketball, Mad Science are just a few of the classes I have seen offered. The school has both a greenhouse and a garden that is utilized by the students with the help of parent volunteers. The leadership at the school is strong. Once a month the principal hosts a "Coffee with the Principal" where you can hear about the latest things happening at the school, ask questions, or make comments. I am thankful to be part of the Capri community!

Capri Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I foresee the teachers, staff & the Principal @ Capri staying on track & implementing positive changes & planning in the year ahead to create a more positive & caring environment @ this school. The Principal is always doing his best to listen to the needs of the parents as well as the students. He is open to new ideas & implementing new programs to see the school & the student body succeed & thrive. My son is currently in second grade & will have my daughter @ Capri in the Fall through choice (as this is not our neighborhood school). I am thrilled with the PTA's success this past year & see another terrific year ahead. The Principal also endorses Project Cornerstone with ABC Readers to teach asset building amongst the students @ the school. Parents can get involved @ recess/ lunch to engage the kids. Capri has a garden that kids can help w/ as well as a new greenhouse. There is more to offer than most realize (too many to list), along with the best teachers a kid could have!. I see Capri as an excellent learning environment with issues that have been acknowledged, plans put in place, & moving forward to an even better and more positive environment for students next year.

Capri Elementary School 2

Posted March 14, 2011
- a community member
We pulled our child out after an ongoing bullying experience that the principal was unwilling or unable to handle. It was the worst feeling sending my child every day to a place I no longer believed to be safe. The teacher's range from wonderful to poor (notes sent home to parents contained grammatical errors which would be funny if the author weren't my child's teacher). Recess ratio of 500+ kids to 5 or 6 adults (sometimes only 2 or 3 were physically present out on the playground) resulted in many incidents of bullying going undetected by the adults and staff. If you ask the administration, they will claim bullying does not happen at this school. The school ought to conduct a bullying survey of the kids and parents. I doubt this will happen though because the principal prefers to keep his head in the sand.


Capri Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a parent
Capri has a great principal and PTA along with the highest % of ESL and cultural diversity (>35 different nationalities) in the district. Even with that hurdle, their API scores soared 41 points and they're hoping to break 900 this year. If you compare Village, Marshall Lane and Forest Hill, sure they have higher test scores, but they have a much more homogeneous environment. Capri is also very active in green-related activities (garden, recycling, greenhouse) along with being the first school in the district to implement JiJi, the latest software tool in spatial learning.

Capri Elementary School 4

Posted January 06, 2011
- a parent
Our experiences at Capri has been nothing but positive..Excellent Teachers like Mr.Jacovini, Mrs.Kanazawa, Mrs.Pulliam,Mrs Brackett have given our children a positive learning experience..Mr.Wilce has done a great job as principal and has always repsonded when issues have come up..We had originally been told/heard Capri was not one of the better elementary schools in Campbell but thanks to wonderful teachers, involved parents and great staff they have proven otherwise...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capri Elementary School
850 Chapman Avenue, Campbell, CA  95008
(408) 364-4260
Last modified Capri Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Capri Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top