Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
We came from private school last year in the middle of the year. Absolutely happy with our choice! Exceptional staff and principal, best teachers, wonderful kids and a friendly Green Valley community! No regrets! Pure joy!

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
They're able to keep their 10 rating by discriminating against kids who need more help! If you don't get the work, they will make your child and you as the parent feel so uncomfortable you leave. It's sad:(


Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2013
- a parent
The new second grade teacher is the best, friendly, caring and genuinely concerned for our children. Thanks for hiring such wonderful teachers!

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
It is truly sad how this school can be the worst for our kids! Administrator and teachers alike have only ONE purpose for our kids! That is to learn the answers to the test! Forget any true academic teaching to our kids at all! Our kids are the ones that will suffer in the long run!

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is the best! The scores are high and every time a kid gets better at math or ELA! 300 kids got 600 and 5 got double 600! And lots if kids got honor roll and a 4.0! There's no bullying because everyone is nice and if someone is a new student everyone shows them where to go and is immediately friends. Everyone is basically friends. No ones ever left out and the teachers become your friends, too. Though the playground is small and can use some tweaks here and there its great, and there is a huge grassy area to play in! This is the top elementary school in the county, no the district. It's absolutely wonderful!! I highly recommend you send your child to this school.


Nelda Mundy Elementary School 1

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
I have a child in the second grade who attends Nelda Mundy and I have to say her teacher is the "worst" of them all. She is not organized; she is not held accountable for her lack of teaching my child and she does not communicate with me, via email, phone calls, etc. The primary method and focus seems to be on "test taking" and not teaching standards/concepts. I am truly disappointed in this school.

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school, the teachers, principal and staff are all so dedicated, organized and they have a system that works!!

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2011
- a community member
this is the best elementary school you will ever go to!!!!! there is NO bullying and everyone is nice. they have strict rules but a lot of fun activities. top school of the district no doubt. everyone encourages your student to do the best they can. CST scores= AMAZING!!!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND I KNOW YOUR STUDENT WILL TOO. 6TH GRADE CLASS OF 2010-2011 SHOUT OUT!


Nelda Mundy Elementary School 2

Posted September 07, 2011
- a parent
My child attended this school last year. He really enjoyed it for the most part but I did not like the general feel of the school. Traffic is a mess. There is a slew of focus on testing ( good thing) but it's mostly worksheets, worksheets. No hands on activities, no fun experiments, discovery stations, or actual "let's help Tommy think for himself" Instead, teachers are pretty much driven to deliver their curriculum to the students in a wham slam' -memorize this, copy that and burn it in your memory' attitude so they can just throw it back out on state tests so the school can get more funding. As a result, your child will do a lot of memorizing,busy work that focuses on standards but if you want your child to actually try to think for himself and not just do worksheet after worksheet, supplement with something intelligent and go to the library. The positives: A safe and clean school, high quality teachers,nice new principal (although you'll have to explain any of your concerns in a matter of a few minutes before you get rushed out the door....she is very nice but needs to be a little more gracious with her time during parent meetings. Glad we are finally graduated from Nelda.

Nelda Mundy Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
Great for those of you who can afford to purchase a home in that area. They don't have open enrollment nor are they on the choice list for no child left behind act. It seem segregation at its best and when I write a well thought out letter to the district I am ignored. Your on notice Mundy, I am having a few people look into this matter. 2011

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nelda Mundy Elementary School
570 Vintage Valley Drive, Fairfield, CA  94534-1416
(707) 863-7920
Last modified Nelda Mundy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nelda Mundy Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. Top