Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Fallbrook, CA
Students enrolled: 745
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about La Paloma! Under the leadership of Principal McGough, this school has reached full potential. Teachers are upbeat and positive, the students are happy and the parents are involved. Both of my children participate in various after school enrichment programs that are offered for free, such as garden club and Mandarin. My oldest is in the GATE program and has had science club, art classes, reading club, and math club after school, plus other programs have been offered that we have chosen not to participate in. In class, my eldest is challenged with special research projects and power point presentations. My youngest, a 1st-grader, has tons of parent help in his classroom, helping test students on sight words and math skills. My youngest is performing above grade level now. Both kids have made lots of friends at school. La Paloma is a wonderful school to send your kids to!

La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
My child is in his second year at La Paloma and we are very pleased with our experience there. He is in the dual immersion program, which is one of the reasons we chose La Paloma. It is an amazing program and challenges our child much more than english-only classes would have. The staff is wonderful and the principal is a very friendly and community oriented. He has lead the school in great improvements over the last year.


La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


La Paloma Elementary School 2

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
A great deal of emphasis is but on bilingual education at La Paloma. Class size is enormous. My child's teacher has been excellent and gone above and beyond but most of the teachers don't put in as much effort--the teacher's union regulates everything in the favor of teachers not students. The administration is easy to work with and knows educational law to include special education law. Classroom behavior at this school is well maintained. Special education classes often don't push kids to meet standards.

La Paloma Elementary School 4

Posted May 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

La Paloma Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at La Paloma are nice, friendly, well trained, and are working hard to meet the demands of a high ESL student body, large classroom size amidst budget cuts. The principal and vice-principal are always available for questions. I appreciate the campus being clean and safe. I can see that the school is well ran, and morale is high. Since La Paloma is an older school, it does not come across as impressive as a newer school, and some parents are too quick to make judgement. I am a parent volunteer here and I wish that every parent would spend some time here to see for themselves. Thank you Teachers for all your hard work!


La Paloma Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This school is sad. The teachers my child had were nice but they had to spend much of their time coping with ESL students. The prinicapl directed all of her comments to ESL parents on back to school night. She had no interest in the other student body. The school is about 75% non-English speaking.

La Paloma Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
There are music and art programs at La Paloma. In fact La Paloma led the way in having an art teacher (PTA provided but not a volunteer) on campus. All students recieve art and music instruction. Administration is excellent, with a highly motivated and capable principal and staff. Some of the best teachers in San Diego are at this school. The campus isn't the newest or the prettiest, but don't judge this book by it's cover.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Paloma Elementary School
300 Heald Lane, Fallbrook, CA  92028
(760) 731-4220
Last modified La Paloma Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
La Paloma Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top