Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 97 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Melrose Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to the amazing and caring teachers at Melrose for creating a place where my daughters want to go to school EVERY DAY!

Melrose Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
I have a dyslexic child who needs accommodations. His 2nd grade teachers Ms. Miyaji and Mr. Gaffield were already implementing the kind of things he needs. Once he got the proper tutoring at home, he was able to soar at school. We love Melrose!!


Melrose Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Best school for my 2 nd grader. Special Thank you to teacher Mr. Whillis and Mr. Whalen , Mr. Garfield. Small Community and great school.

Melrose Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Ms.Agamegwa, Ms. Mendoza, and Ms. Valera are the teachers my kids have gotten. They are absolutely AMAZING!! The whole staff is great!

Melrose Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
I toured many LAUSD STEAM schools before I found Melrose. My kids love Melrose and so do I. The teachers and staff are amazing. They truly care about their students. The parents are very involved and there is a great pto. One of the reasons I choose this school was because its pretty updated with all the technology. K-2nd grade use iPads in class and 3-5 use laptops in class. It is also a very diverse school. The kids are polite and get a long well. I live 30 minutes away from Melrose but it honestly was a great choice for my kids.


Melrose Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
According to the teachers, they do well enough during the day. I see the result and improvement. They still gets homework such as writing, math solve , IXL. I think it is good enough.

Melrose Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Small community and great teachers. My son is 2nd grade and he loves Melrose. Never had any issue.

Melrose Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughters are in 2nd and 4th grade. They love school. They were excited to go back and they are excited to go in every day. They come home excited to tell me about what they learned. In the first month and a half of school, my second grader has gone from feeling a little insecure about reading a chapter book aloud, to proudly finishing Grade 3 level books that she has checked out of the school library.


Melrose Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughters both attend this school. I loved it from the first time I stepped foot in the vintage auditorium, and I have come to love it more every day because of the dedicated staff and the amazing community of families! My daughters have blossomed - great friends, loving to read AND do math - I couldn't ask for more. There are incredible opportunities to get involved, and the parents do! From the parent who organized the school's participation in the Global Cardboard Challenge, to the group of parents who recently threw a school wide Korean BBQ and Movie Night fundraiser, to the parents who greet you in morning at the valet drop off and pick up your recycling from you at the same time, this is a remarkable oasis in the heart of Los Angeles. Our family is so fortunate to be part of it!

Melrose Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
This year, I feel that the school has found the perfect balance of homework for their students. It is just enough to teach time management and not so much that it interferes with outside activities, play or family time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Melrose Elementary School
731 North Detroit Street, Los Angeles, CA  90046
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 97 reviews. (323) 938-6275
Last modified Melrose Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top