Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westchester Lutheran School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is awesome i have nice friends and a lot of sports equipment, and every year i have a great time and I'm going into middle school this year and i am very excited and nervous.

Westchester Lutheran School 5

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
Our daughters have been enrolled in this school since preschool and will be also be attending middle school at WLS next year. This school has been a very good experience for us. The student/teacher ratio is very low, so the children are getting a a great deal of one on one attention. Every year we are happily surprised our new teacher is as good, if not better, than the year prior. Many of the teachers have been there a very long time, in fact many attended WLS themselves. I find this to be a tell-tale sign of a cohesive school. As a parent volunteer, I enjoy being able to be part of their great art program. I am able to become acquainted with my daughter's peers and bond with the other parents. We have developed many great relationships with the classmate's parents. If I had to find a negative aspect of the school, I would say I wish the playground was larger, but hey, we live in L.A.


Westchester Lutheran School 5

Posted October 24, 2010
- a community member
I graduated from WLS in '95 and it definitely set me up for success in attending high school. I went to Palos Verdes Peninsula High School and had no problem picking up right where I left off. I went on to attend and graduate from West Point so if you have any worries as to the quality of the education don't. Its top notch.

Westchester Lutheran School 3

Posted September 08, 2010
- a parent
I am thankful we chose to send our children to WLCS because overall they have turned out to be much more conscientious than their public school neighbors. If you are choosing for academics, you may be at the wrong school. I do not think the cost of tuition was worth the academic value. Teachers have been there forever and are tired and burnt out. I believe a motivated child could get just as good of an education at local public schools, as long as they do not bow to peer pressure. If you are choosing to raise an overall wholesome child, this is a great environment. Good grades are cool, smoking and drugs are not. Parent Involvement is mandatory, which causes disgruntled involvement. They should reward families with tuition brakes, not penalize for missed hours.

Westchester Lutheran School 5

Posted March 19, 2010
- a student
This school is amazing. I've personally been at this school for 8 years and don't have one complaint.


Westchester Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
this school is the best. I not onl;y gives up a good foundation but we have so much fun like on Harvest Festival, Heritage Day, October Fest, and so much more.

Westchester Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The staff is so amazing with all the children.

Westchester Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted March 14, 2009
- a parent
WLMS is a wonderful school, we're really glad that we chose to send our daughter here instead of Orville Wright MS. Teachers and Principal Lillie are great instructors and role models for the kids. Thanks WLMS!!


Westchester Lutheran School 2

Posted January 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westchester Lutheran School 5

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
The elementary school is wonderful. The teachers are caring and the principal is amazing. The two years my daughter has been at the middle school though have been disappointing. We love the principal but she cannot do anything about the teachers that should have retired many moons ago!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westchester Lutheran School
7831 South Sepulveda Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA  90045
(310) 670-5422
Last modified Westchester Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Westchester Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top