Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edna Maguire Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I caution any single parents raising children alone not to move to the Mill Valley School District. You will be bullied by Moms and Staff. This is a very high income area with a lot of wannabees. There is a horrible gossip network with a lot of sensationalism, teachers and particularly the principal get involved. Small town so if they start, it goes everywhere. Really bad experience as a middle class working Mom raising kids alone.

Edna Maguire Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
We just got back from 1st grade Back to school night. I feel so lucky to be part of this school. Our teachers are warm, caring, and wonderfully professional. It's clear that they take pride in what they do and spend a lot of energy being the best they can be. Plus, it is a child focused environment. KG was equally great. We love this school.


Edna Maguire Elementary School 3

Posted September 01, 2012
- a parent
I have very mixed feelings about continuing my children's education here. On the one hand it is true the Lisa Zimmer and her staff and teachers are excellent and very hands-on. There are teachers here willing to put in extra time and effort to help kids like mine who are struggling to stay focused in the increasing onslaught of media distractions and working, tired parents. There is enough monetary wealth in this community to provide a good art and music program here, as well as athletics, and there are many very if not overly involved parents volunteering in the classrooms and providing all sorts of support. But beware, this is a very big school, and in 4th grade there are only 3 teachers, which means a giant bump up in class size to nearly 30 students. There is tons of homework starting in 1st grade, and my kids feel bored and overwhelmed. The bottom line here is if your child can self-regulate and do well academically this can be a good school for you. If you are a stay-at-home parent of a child who has challenges and you have the time to micromanage their school experience and be the squeaky wheel your kid will get what they need here. The rest of us are struggling.

Edna Maguire Elementary School 1

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
This school only works if your kid fits in "the box". Children that learn differently or ask a lot of questions are marginalized. There is also a big push to get 'out of the box' kids into Special Education so that they are not considered when the STAR test results are tabulated. This results in an artificially high test result for the school. Some teachers are highly committed and amazing and some are not. If you get a great one, you have a great year, if not then you definitely suffer. Added minus: recess is a school wide, barely supervised,free for all.

Edna Maguire Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2010
- a parent
Great Teachers for the most part. The district and the local admin not super responsive to parents. They have work to do concerning oversight of kids as they move from school to after-school activities and programs.


Edna Maguire Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year at Edna Maguire and I am truly impressed. It feels like a private school. Our teacher is amazing. She is incredibly responsive, thoughtful and caring. The teachers are instilling a love of learning as opposed to demanding every five year old learn to read whether they are ready or not. Also, we love the outdoor garden complete with chickens! Great school!

Edna Maguire Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great staff, great kids, great parents! Great library! Great music department! Great afterschool programs! Great garden! This school has it all!

Edna Maguire Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
My son is in second grade! We love this school.The garden is the best, the teachers and staff are the best! We are happy to be at Edna!


Edna Maguire Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding Principal and teachers. Best of the BEST.

Edna Maguire Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2009
- a parent
I am in my third year being a part of Edna and I find it hard to believe the less than par reviews I've seen posted. Lisa Zimmer is an excellent principal who not only is a great listener to parents but she acts on finding solutions to issues. She is a do-er. The teachers are all stellar. Yes, parents have their preferences on who they get each year it seems but really, there are no bad teachers. It is a loving, special place. I feel so blessed to be a part of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edna Maguire Elementary School
80 Lomita Drive, Mill Valley, CA  94941-1464
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (415) 389-7733
Last modified Edna Maguire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top