Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Oceanside, CA
Students enrolled: 3,051
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Camino High School 3

Posted January 09, 2015
- a teacher
Here's hoping that the new school year of 2014-15 will be better than the previous years. Under new leadership; Principal Alex Bennett. He does not seem to be tarnished by the "good old boy's network" that has plagued the OUSD district. Only time will tell. Unfortunately, our system is broken and unless some major changes are made in the public education system, we will continue to produce students who are not prepared for college. As long as we continue to accept that mediocrity is acceptable.......things will never get better!!!!! It's time to get rid of tenure and start holding teachers accountable. It's time to ditch the unions and start holding classified employees accountable. It's time identify the GREAT teachers and GREAT employees and mimic them. It's time to set our standards higher and hold people accountable. Once these sort of changes are made...then and only then will we start to see improvement.

El Camino High School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
This is still a good school in spite of other parents experiences. No doubt some staff members will be unhappy for whatever reason. I have only experience professionalism, courtesy and prompt response to whatever question or request. I've had 3 kids go through this school. Help is always available for the asking. One of the options we have in this district is school choice. The thing is, you can opt out of El Camino, but you have to get on the waiting list to get in. We are no longer using School Loop also. The new program is called Aeries and is very much up to date. My daughter uses it all the time to do her daily homework. ECHS is also ranked as one of the top schools in the country, as well as California by US News and World Report.


El Camino High School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
To the parents that wrote that its a great school, I am glad you had a good experience with the site leaders. Please ask the principal, if he has ever taken cash from a parent (Military Officer) to get head of the line service during a basketball game or if that officer conduct was honorable in using the relationship with him to do so. If you are in his or the staff inner circle, he and the staff treats you with a lot of respect. But if your not good luck...

El Camino High School 1

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Your gut is wrong. I am a mature and well-educated parent with reasonable expectations for public education. I'm not sure why you would think otherwise just because my experience is different from yours. I am sharing what I have personally experienced in a truthful and honest manner. I could just as easily say that my gut tells me you are the principal or one of his lackeys because that's how he operates, but I won't stoop to your level.... I AM A PARENT of students who go to El Camino HS. The school is less than impressive and it's principal is terrible. He is a 'school-to-prison-pipeline' kind of guy. I have had several staff members tell me how much they dislike this guy and how he operates. He has no problem lying to your face if it accomplishes his goals. As far as the staff goes, there are a few good teachers and the secretaries are helpful, but most of the faculty are slow to respond to phone calls or emails, etc. And they rarely offer any real help. Mostly they seem programmed to say how overworked they always are and to 'check the school loop.' The problem is that the school loop is usually weeks (or even months) out-of-date, so it is not much use at all.
1 person found this helpful

El Camino High School 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
I am responding to the recent post by a parent dated Nov 12, 2013. First of all, I am a parent of two students who have, or are currently attending El Camino. I'm disappointed with the response and this parents experience has not been my experience. (My gut is telling me a student wrote it. - or a very immature parent). I have found Principal Rowe to be an effective leader and administrator. The teachers do have an increased work load due to over filled classes but they always respond to my emails the same or next school day. I have found the counseling team to be super and very involved with the students under their supervision. I am very pleased with the education that both my students are or have received at El Camino.


El Camino High School 4

Posted August 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

El Camino High School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a student
El Camino has plenty to offer, ASB always have different events going on. The AP program is also outstanding and the teachers are great!

El Camino High School 5

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


El Camino High School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

El Camino High School 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
I am currently an incoming junior at this school and I absolutely love it. El Camino is an incredibly diverse school with so many oppurtunities available to EVERYONE, not just those who happen to have high test scores. The teachers are fun and create an amazing and sfe learning environment for everyone.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Camino High School
400 Rancho Del Oro Drive, Oceanside, CA  92057
(760) 757-8550
Last modified El Camino High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
El Camino High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top