Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reynolds Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
The younger Hispanic lady in the office who answers phones and always has a welcoming smile on her face and has always been extremely nice and helpful and the taller Caucasian women in the office who does attendance??? Both of these women seem to be the ONLY ones in the office that treat others as they would like to be treated...KUDOS to you both...but good people like you don't last in places like Reynolds...

Reynolds Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
All i will say to this is: respect starts from the top...if the top administration lacks it the teachers and students will too


Reynolds Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely NOT!!! This school is not the place to send your child if you value honesty, integrity and fairness...

Reynolds Elementary School 1

Posted January 20, 2016
- a community member
I'm with the others who have given this school one star....TERRIBLE....once upon a time this was a GREAT school- DO the RESEARCH and I guarantee you will not be pleased with the results- I'm having a hard time believing the people who have rated this school anything over one star are actual PARENTS....if your children have attended this school you know this school is a 1 star school....truthful parent

Reynolds Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
This school has been plagued with many problems, some of which include lack of parent participation in their child's education, and communication difficulties. However, this school has undergone many changes and improvements- including Dr. Gina Zyburt. Dr. Zyburt has dedicated herself to motivating staff and students to improve their scores, and her record shows that our school has improved consistently in her two and a half years here. Reynolds has been chosen to receive iPads for the student due to their use of technology. Also offered, is a transitional kindergarten for children whose birthdays call a month or two short of this years kinder cut off, as well as a Spanish immersion kinder class. It is a dual language program exclusively at Reynolds. There are a lot of fundraisers and free events offered throughout the year to try and encourage a sense of community. Give us a chance and you will see our changes!!


Reynolds Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
If you have a choice...DO NOT send your child here. Although my child's Kindergarten teacher is excellent, she struggles with still teaching bilingual children their alphabet and sounds 7 months into the school year...leaving my child (who can already read) bored. The school is overcrowded & dropping/picking up your child from school is a MAJOR PAIN!!! Waiting in line for at least 20 minutes to get to the front! Not once did the kindergarteners take even a simple field trip to the fire dept, or anywhere else. They constantly have fund raisers, which only ever pay for 5th graders activities. Obviously this school is lacking in funds from the district to supply a memorable experience for the majority of children/parents.

Reynolds Elementary School 4

Posted September 14, 2011
- a parent
My son started at this school this year as a second grader and I have to say I LOVE this school. I had so many problems with his last school and Reynolds just outshines any other school I looked at by far. The staff is caring and always willing to help, his teacher is excellent and overall it is a good strong school. I am very happy I enrolled my son here

Reynolds Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2011
- a parent
Excuses will not excuse this school. Look at the scores and the state similar schools ranking. Great schools rating of 4? Do research. Something is amiss and its the kids education that suffers.


Reynolds Elementary School 1

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
We are so glad our kids are out of there. We saw how those Teachers turned on the brave PTO Group that accidently discovered the Principal had been stealing from the kids, the school and the District. at 2 different schools. Even after she went to jail some tried to raise funds for her by selling "Restitution Bread" to teachers & parents. The Principal also allowed a family member to cater lunches there to raise money in her support. They are a vindictive group with a mob mentality. There are a few good Teachers there but not many. Very few ever participated in fundraisers, helped with school beautification projects or showed up for the end of year celebrations. Look at scores and run. It is known as an old school where Teachers go to pad a few more years to their retirement. Just so you know a teacher and the Principal monitor the site daily and write the positive reveiws to counter the truth. Weak Leader & weaker Team!

Reynolds Elementary School 2

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
This last person sounds disappointed because they sure sound like one of the teachers that the reviewer before spoke of, all correctly. I too, along with many other families, bailed on Reynolds when this situation with the previous principal occured. Not because of the crooked principal or even the new principal who we have no issue with at all. She's quite good actually. The issue with this school is indeed the teachers. Several of them are rude to parents, students (I've witnessed three of them yelling at students at the top of their lungs) they were incredibly rude to the ladies who had the bravery to uncover and report the theft that was occuring. Many of them are burned out and really need to retire. I agree with you though, check the school out. There are a handful of teachers there that make it a great place for your kids. You need to find out who they are and get your kids into their classes and ignore the rest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reynolds Elementary School
4575 Douglas Drive, Oceanside, CA  92057-4228
(760) 901-7200
Last modified Reynolds Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reynolds Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top