Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Toro Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
Clean school, organized teachers, great families who are involved. My daughter's 4th grade teacher was excellent.

Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
We love everything about this school. The location, teachers, principal, and families. We've had two children in the school and it feels like they are getting a private education. We couldn't be happier.


Toro Park Elementary School 2

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
The school district is more concern on their reputation then the well being of the students. There is parent involvement, but it is very club like, cliquish, bullying atmosphere, even among the teachers. So it depends on who you know and how much you can donate to the school as to your overall experience. If you are not from this area and are looking to see where to place your children I would look else where, first. Such as Pacific Grove, Santa Cruz, Charter or private. On the topic of bullying, kids will do what they can get away with. If it is acceptable for parents to behave in such away, then those children will follow their example. As for parents we just want the best for our children, unfortunately, it is hard to come by in the area.

Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
Toro park school is really great.... great teachers and staff, my daughter is also very happy and I can see her improving in her skills day by day.. overall I love this school.

Toro Park Elementary School 2

Posted June 06, 2012
- a parent
The parents carry this school. The admin does not return calls nor are they aware of many policies that should be common knowledge in their position. When an appointment is scheduled, the principal forgets. she has time to show out of district families around to view the school. I happen to know several families who view it with no intention of attending (just want to compare). Again, the families in general wonderful (well educated and able to supplement their child's/children's education). If you can not afford private school this is a good option because of the families. There is still a big issue with bullies.


Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at Toro Park Elementary and we couldn't be happier with the school, the teachers, and the overall school atmosphere. We live in Toro Park and are very proud to have this school. There is a true feeling of community and the teachers really appear to enjoy their job and their children. I know that sounds like a blanket statement, however we have not yet had any negative experiences after several years. All of our friends feel the same way and our kids are really enjoying school and appear to be learning a lot.

Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
Great school. Dedicated teachers. Involved families. Beautiful facilities. Art, music, intermural sports...All things that you don't get at public schools anymore.

Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
As a parent with a child entering kindergarten this year, I relied heavily on the experience of other parents, as well as the statistics from this site before deciding on Toro Park. I was disappointed to learn during orientation that while greatschools lists the average class size as 19, kindergarten classes are expected to have at least 25 children per class this year...and there are no teacher's aides. Parents participate in the classroom, but there is truly no substitute for professional educators being able to spend quality time with a small class of children. I am crossing my fingers that the class size thins out as people make their final placement decisions closer to the start of the year. Also, if the number of children qualifying for reduced lunch fees is calculated into the school's score somehow, this school shows 0%...because there is no cafeteria, so no lunch available for purchase, and therefore there are no lunch fees at all reduced or otherwise! Hopefully that is not artificially inflating their ranking.


Toro Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
Toro Park is by far the best public school in this area. Their test scores speak for themselves. There are a solid group of parents who are always there helping teachers, students, and other parents as well. The WEUF and Parent's Club are amazing and generate a ton of revenue to keep our popular art/ music/ technology and sports programs up and running. Toro Park is a very safe neighborhood and the school is in the center of it all. There are some amazing teachers which somewhat make up for the not so amazing ones, however, you get this at any school :( Tenure needs to be done away with!! Overall, I would highly recommend Toro Park School!!! I hope it continues to remain the small adorable little neighborhood school that it is today.

Toro Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
I cherish the personal commitment of the teachers and staff to provide the best education and learning environment for the students. We are very blessed to be a part of this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Toro Park Elementary School
22500 Portola Drive, Salinas, CA  93908-9133
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (831) 484-9691
Last modified Toro Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top