Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Incredible academic environment and welcoming and accepting culture have made this school extremely popular. If you are looking for football, cheerleaders, and cliquey rich kids, look elsewhere. High demand has led to some growing pains in terms of school population but my freshman daughter loves it here.

Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a student
CCA is one of the most wonderful high school's in this country. The academics are competitive but the spirit and fun levels are incredibly high and everyone is really close on campus. The school events keep everyone very connected and make students proud to go to CCA.


Canyon Crest Academy 3

Posted October 12, 2014
- a student
The huge influx of freshman is really annoying, and frankly unfair to those who didn't get in during other years. The school is merely attempting to milk as much funding as they can while sacrificing learning experience. The large influx of freshmen has even affected the classes of sophomores, juniors, and even seniors because many of the teachers have been forced into teaching lower level classes. This years massive freshman class has been a huge hit to both school culture and learning experience.

Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a student
SO many people are complaining about the lottery system being stopped, however, I am one of the many students who was allowed in off of the stopped lottery system. I've had so many students come up to me knowing that I got in off of wait list and telling me to my face that it was a mistake. This school is amazing and it really is a shame that it has been bumped down to 4 stars by complainers whose kids don't work hard enough to keep up with the 50 other kids in their classes. Don't go to Torrey Pines, this school is accepting of anyone. There are always groups of people but nobody allows people to be rude to each other. I hope you don't believe those lousy reviews below because it really would be a shame to miss out on all the great classes and experiences this school has to offer.

Canyon Crest Academy 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a student
This school used to be really great. I enjoyed last year a lot and the amount of people there was one of the greatest qualities. Now that they stopped the lottery the school is so overcrowded. And the other students also are not happy with this influx of freshman. In fact many of the other students are resentful at the ridiculous number of freshman. It used to be a great school but now with such large class sizes it becomes impossible to do anything. Let alone parking or drop off. Don't send your kids here. We really can't handle anymore


Canyon Crest Academy 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Our son graduated from this school in 2014. It WAS such a great place. Our daughter just enrolled as a Freshman lottery enrollment for Fall 2014. No one told ANY of the parents that they abandoned the lottery system and let what was normally a 400 person freshman class increase to a 700 person class. My daughter is devastated and so are we. She has 50 kids in her classes. We were NOT GIVEN THE CHOICE to know that the district had planned to let all of the kids in without the proper infrastructure or else we would have elected for our boundary school. We pay plenty in property taxes and we have NO INTENTION now of giving to the CCA Foundation. The district is playing a game to get all the funding they can while sacrificing our children. SHAME ON THEM. All this information should have been made transparent but it has not been communicated especially on the district WEBSITE. Politics as usual.

Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Sure to be one of the top public schools in the country! Great parent partnership with school district and education foundation.

Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
CCA is simply an amazing place. The teachers and staff are dedicated and the kids are incredible.


Canyon Crest Academy 4

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Canyon Crest Academy If you have a child with an IEP you will have a difficult time having the staff comply and the administrators will not help or support you in any way. If you file complaints of non compliance some of the staff has been known to take it out on the student. Great school but know what you are getting into if you have a student with an IEP. There is definitely an attitude there that they are above it all and do not need to comply.

Canyon Crest Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
I am not associated with this school. Therefore I do not ahve anything to write about thsi aschool.

Nearby schools

Canyon Crest Academy
5951 Village Center Loop Road, San Diego, CA  92130-2499
(858) 350-0253
Last modified Canyon Crest Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top