Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,426
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Bay High School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
There are great opurtunities at this school if your child is willing to seek them out. While I felt that some if the classes may have been a little easy, a comparison of my son's work from earlier in the year to later showed a vast improvement across the board. He loves his school and finds most of the teachers are very approachable. he is bussed in and has never felt singled out by teachers/staff in any way, in fact, he feels that his teachers have taken a real interest in his academic success. The school offers free tutoring for two hours after school M-TH, and teachers are often available at lunch. There is no reason a child at MBHS shouldn't be learning. We are nervous about him entering the full IB program next year, but are confident that it will thoroughly prepare him for college.

Mission Bay High School 3

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
The New Principal, Mr Ernie Remillard, was the Principal from my SOn's middle school and I have nothing but positive feedback on My Remillard, I know he can and will turn this school around. Even with 70 % of the student coming from other city location, he can make a difference the the curricula and is adding a music class this year. I am excited to see the turnaround


Mission Bay High School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
My son will not be attending Mission Bay High. The Vice Principle James Michalin does not support kids that are bused in. He favors the PB kids. My son is treated different because he does not take IB classes. The only parents who talk nice about the school, are the PTO parents from Pacific Beach. My son will be attending Parker next year.
1 person found this helpful

Mission Bay High School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
We love the school! For kids that want to acheive, everything is there to make it happen, from the challenge of the IB program, to excellent teachers that really engage the students, to a very involved and organized parent group:)

Mission Bay High School 4

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
Mission Bay is filled with many students and parents that care about a great education, a good sense of community, and this school is filled with talented kids ! There are more great teachers than bad ones who really get to know the kids who want to learn and help the kids that want to learn and may not have help from parents at home. The Music program is amazing , the sports teams thrive and my kids love their school - Go Bucs


Mission Bay High School 4

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Mission Bay High has the rigorous International Baccalaureate Program and has completely prepared my daughter for college. She was able to not only get her full IB Diploma in her senior year, but she played Varsity field hockey, played in the band and was a part of the school robotics team. There are so many opportunities for students at MBHS. The strong sense of school community and the lack of pretension has provided my daughter with a emotionally supportive, academically rigorous environment. We are very happy with the education and opportunities she has received at MBHS.

Mission Bay High School 4

Posted April 01, 2013
- a teacher
Mission Bay High School has some great programs and educational choices for many of the students that attend. The school has a diverse mix of students; the local beach teens, many magnet students who choose this school for its various programs, and some foreign students here for the IB program. The students have graduated to attend local colleges, state universities (Cal-state and UC), and private ivy-league schools - including Harvard.

Mission Bay High School 4

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
A great school has excellent teachers and MBHS has that. The vast majority are enthusiastic and dedicated. There is also dead wood that are just filling a spot and protected by tenure and the unions, like any public school. All teachers are challenged by uncertainty with the schools the dysfunctional SDUSD Board. There are excellent VPs but the school lacks clear leadership and follow though. There are excellent challenging programs but it is the choice of the student to go the challenging path of IB or just show up and get through the rudimentary classes. Students will be surrounded by other excellent students in IB and other high level classes. Those who choose the other path will be surrounded by kids with varying levels of motivation and frustrated teachers. It's all there at MBHS! An excellent real world learning experience in a safe environment. I see it improving over the last 5 years and into the future as more parents get involved, the community gets involved & more local kids choose to go here. It's great for kids to have classmate friends in the local neighborhood rather than commutng to a distant school and being out of touch with your local community.


Mission Bay High School 1

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
NOT A GOOD SCHOOL. School authorities are not doing a good job. My children are new in this high school and I already met 10 parents who have complains about how they are not happy on how the school authorities work. Moreover, I personal have been in this school and observed how students are outside their classes, going to the bathroom 3 or 4 times the same the same students and nobody call their attention.

Mission Bay High School 5

Posted February 27, 2011
- a parent
Now that our student is just about ready to graduate from MBHS I have to say MBHS and staying in our neighborhood schools K-12 was the best decision we could have made. Thanks to the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme our student not only has had an excellent education but also a well rounded high school experience including sports, music, art and summer educational trips with the MBHS Travel Club to China, Russia and Egypt. Most of all, we appreciate our student's diverse set of peers and the kindness and support they have displayed for each other throughout the years. My recommendation to parents who send their students to MBHS is to get involved - meet the teachers, join the PTO, attend sport events etc. It has been an unexpected pleasure to really get to know the dedicated MBHS teachers and also to have become friends with so many fabulous and like minded parents.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Bay High School
2475 Grand Avenue, San Diego, CA  92109
(858) 273-1313
Last modified Mission Bay High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mission Bay High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top