Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Eick went outta her way to help my son who struggled academically. She made sure to try to include him whenever she could....for example when she knew he was good at a certain topic she made sure to pick on him to answer a question....because she felt it would help build his confidence. She stayed late in parent meetings, and tried so hard for my son to feel accepted and confident even if he struggles with school work.

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
There are so many great teachers in this school, who really care about their students


Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
This school promotes fairness and acceptance of all types of students. I dont know if they still have it but a couple of years ago my son was allowed and encouraged to volunteer with the special ed class....and it was great....i think kids learned to respect and accept students of all types and needs. I saw that kids learned to really care for other students. I feel like bullying other students who are different is really not accepted in this school.

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My son who is now 13 went there and the school was just amazing. Ms. Eick was such a good teacher, and teachers aid Ms. Alice are so sweet and helpful. The school has a garden where kids and parents are welcome to volunteer, they have a talent show, a Movie night where families from Stonehurst get together. My daughter who is in 3rd grade still goes there and the school continues to be amazing. Its such a warm, welcoming, little school that I highly recommend. Weather your kid scores high or has a IEP and needs extra help (as did my son) this school will give your child what he or she needs.

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Yes i know of some teachers, for example like Ms. Montez who goes outta her way to tell kids to be caring and compassionate towards others.


Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
My son loves his kindergarten teacher and is doing very well here. Miss Thomas is always there to listen and after school her classroom door is usually open. The principle is fairly new, but already knows many of the students by name, always available when you need him. Parents here are very involved and really seem to care about not only their children's education, but as the education of the school as a whole. School has set up work shops so that parents better understand what their children are learning. Teachers and principle are their to answer or take note on parent concerns. Very happy over all with this school

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
My child has been going to Stonehurst since Kindergarten. We love the school and my child has had great teachers. I am pleased with the education she has received and hope that she continues to get a good education for the years to come. I didn't give this school the extra star because of the rude office staff. And looking at the previous reviews everyone agrees. They are not helpful and don't ever want to answer any questions and if they do its with an attitude. This makes it difficult to be involved when all you get is short answers. They also get a nurse only once a week so goodluck trying to have your child take their medication on time. The office staff doesn't follow up with that and expects a 1st grader to remember when to take their medicine. Its ridiculous. I wish that we were also able to communicate with the teachers via email instead of the office. I'm surprised that with all of this technology this school hasnt upgraded to this yet. It would be a great help for full time working mothers if we had this option.

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
A little school with a bug heart! I wish more parents participated in the PTA. My sons k & 1st grade teachers are the best. Mrs. Alice is a wonderful Teachers Aide. These people mentioned above are what make the school a wonderful place to learn. The Principle is open-minded and always around when you need her.


Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
I called to see how my granddaughter was doing in the fourth grade and nobody called me back.

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started attending this school in 1st grade, she's currently in the 4th grade. The office staff is horrible. They are rude, not helpful, and two years in a row the money from my fundraiser was magically short, and I had to be the one to put in the amount that went missing. The principle is unhelpful as well and doesn't take responsibility for her office staff. Besides that, the teachers are wonderful. My daughter has past teachers that still talk to her and some teachers she's never had give her plants and knowledge on the garden which she loves. The LAs Best after school program is amazing. Miss Janet goes above and beyond and truly loves the children. My daughter has excelled in this school and was placed in gifted, however, they don't offer any gifted classes as promised.

Nearby schools

Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School
9851 Stonehurst Avenue, Sun Valley, CA  91352-1222
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (818) 767-8014
Last modified Stonehurst Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top