Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Longden Elementary School 1

Posted February 14, 2016
- a parent
My 4th grader has been attended Longden since kindergarten, but he is still struggle on reading. I have brought to the school attention, but the school reacted as he is at his grade reading level. He can't even pronounce 'scenario' , 'components', 'comply', 'government' etc.

Longden Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
It s the second year with a new principal, and all I can say is, Thank God for Mr. Rudd . He works very hard and respects parents, students, and teachers alike. Longden is a high-performing school and teachers adhere to a high-standard of education. Special treatment and student favoritism can be pretty blatant with some teachers, though. But I m still happy with Longden though.


Longden Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
I think longden elm school has the best teachers and staff. All the teachers at longden work very hard with all the students. And I know this school should get the money! Longden elm school keeps very good care of the schools grounds, and it is very safe for our children.

Longden Elementary School 4

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Longden provides quality public schooling. Like most of the schools in the district, it lacks diversity in terms of students and teachers. The curriculum is very eurocentric, slanting toward the American ideal rather than championing the wonder of our collective humanity. Although demographics show a predominance of Asian students, the co-curricular programming smacks of a by-gone era of country-westerns, nostalgia for the 50's, and golden-age Temple City Irish culture. Like any education, parents should make sure to supplement their child's learning here with a variety of learning experiences beyond the classroom. Failure to do so will result in a distant, 2 dimensional, unambitious, sleep-walking child that will ultimately end up in the armed-forces, lower middle-class, pre-designated career path, and live a life of quiet desperation.

Longden Elementary School 1

Posted July 05, 2012
- a parent
Academically my child does well here (although the fact that I spend summers preparing him for the fall probably has something to do with it). The problem I have is with the principal and assistant principal; they don't seem to respect or communicate well with parents. My son had an incident report written up on him by a yard monitor for "inappropriate touching" (like most normal 6-year-old boys, he likes to roughhouse). Nobody was hurt and the asst. principal determined that all involved were just having fun. "This has happened many times before," the AP told me. So why wasn't I told about it until an incident report got written up? And why did I have to hear it as third-hand information through my spouse, when I am at the school every morning and afternoon? Why did I have to go to the district superintendent before anyone would talk to me and tell me what happened? Protip: I know that I agreed to your zero-tolerance no-touch policy, ridiculous as it may be, by signing my child up for your school. I also know that part of my job as a parent is to teach discipline and respect for rules and authority. But I can't act on what I don't know, can I?


Longden Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2012
- a parent
My son is in Mrs. C. Taylor's Kindergarten class this year and he absolutely LOVES her class. Mrs. Taylor is a fantastic teacher with right values and focus for children in K. The kindergarten program is very well coordinated with all the 5 classes getting the same homework and study material. In kindergarten, they focus on basics and does not expect the children to know and write all the ABCs as some other schools in other districts do. I like that they really try to make sure that all the children know their basics before moving on to the next level. This is the age where solidifying the foundation is so critical and I am glad that the teachers really seem to understand that at Longden. I was a little uncertain about the quality of school, but I am very happy with the education my son has gotten so far at this school.

Longden Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2011
- a teacher
As an occupational therapist from an independent agency, the staff and teachers are very welcoming and wonderful to work with! They really keep the best interests of the students in mind. I love seeing all of the opportunities for parent and community involvement. The students seem committed and proud of their wonderful school!

Longden Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2011
- a community member
best school ever me and all my friends went there and it is great! Never ever have i seen a better school


Longden Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
Longden must be one of the best. The teachers are amazing. The staff are super kind and gentle. The school is well taken care of. But best of all, they teach so well. How? My son started with C's in Cloverly. Then he moved to Longden and started getting A's. Just plain awesome. Radical. Cool.

Longden Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 24, 2008
- a parent
my son has attended longden from k-3 i really like the afer school program and the teachers great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longden Elementary School
9501 Wendon Street, Temple City, CA  91780-1618
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (626) 548-5068
Last modified Longden Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top