Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
86 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 115 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kester Avenue Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 11, 2016
- a student
the school dosent really make us be nice but it persuades us to do it

Kester Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
It's a great school with awesome PTA. The parent involvement makes the school one of the best in the Valley. The Principal looks like she is involved, but she consistently gives promises and never follows up on them. It would have been an awesome institution if Mrs. Double actually followed up on the promises she made. One of the 3rd grade classes did not have a permanent teacher for more than a month in the beginning of 2015-2016 school-year. That is a clearly a sign of unpreparedness on the part of administration, since kids lost a month of regular school year. Overall it's a great school, with great teachers (barring a few ones that tarnish the splendid work done by the rest of the teaching staff).


Kester Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
This teacher we had for third, fourth and fifth grades were very good. The teacher for 2nd grade didn't have an understanding that these children were just a step up from babies and didn't comprehend at the level she felt they should. Third grade teacher Mrs. Hovsepian was wonderful. She was challenging and made it easier when we got to Ms. Garcia's in 4th followed by Ms. Karapetian in 5th. My issue is with the administration. My son was bullied and his life was threatened by a child on school grounds. Mrs. Scanlin-Double said the situation would be resolved and that my child would be safe and she didn't follow through on her word. The child continued to bully. The school grounds are filthy, and my son witnessed a janitor mopping the tables with a mop used on the seats and ground. My child has attended school in two states before coming here and I found Kester to fall short of the recommendations I was given.

Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
Kester is definitely a 5 star school. Our daughter started as a kindergartner and grew throughout the year. Her kindergarten teacher was amazing as is the principal, Mrs. Double. She makes herself visible and available. The parents contribute their time as well. Our child has made some really great friends. We are looking forward to another great year. Welcome!

Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
I kids have been going to Kester Home School since 2006, and every school year my kids have gotten teachers that are just amazing. its no wonder that we have many teachers that are also parents of students that attend Kester. My sons will be ready for Middle School when they leave Kester


Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
We are absolutely thrilled with Kester!! Our daughter started at Kester last year as a kindergartner and had a wonderful experience. Her kindergarten teacher was amazing! In fact, we got to know the other kindergarten teachers as well and found them all to be really terrific. The principal, Mrs. Double is spectacular!!!! We feel so fortunate to have started Kester when we did because Mrs. Double has really shaped up the school. She is visible at the school everyday and is accessible to parents. The parent involvement is fantastic as well. The school benefits greatly by the dedication of the parent volunteers as well as the teachers, principal and students dedication to the school. The families at Kester are wonderful and our daughter has made some really terrific friends. Our daughter is now in 1st grade in the Kester Magnet program and is off to a great start with a truly incredible and dedicated teacher. We are looking forward to another fabulous year at Kester. I highly recommend Kester!!

Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
I changed my son in the middle of the class year. He was in TK. In his first week at Kester I saw a huge improvement in him. He was happy to go to school, enjoyed doing his homework and he was actually learning. He is now in Kindergarten and I couldn't be happier with my decision to change him schools. I look forward to the rest of the years as part of the Kester Family!

Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is an awesome school and it's due to the principal ,school staff,teachers and parents working together. Couldn't be happier


Kester Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers. Great parent involvement. Makes for a wonderful community that we are happy to be a part of.

Kester Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
We are having a very good experience at Kester. Enrolled in the Magnet program and our children are flourishing with all of the "extras" that used to be part of just the regular program before budget cuts. The home school does its best to ensure students access many enriching activities and the school is a consistent high performer academically.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kester Avenue Elementary School
5353 Kester Avenue, Van Nuys, CA  91411-4022
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 115 reviews. (818) 787-6751
Last modified Kester Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top