Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
This school has great teachers and a great administrative staff. The principal is outstanding in relating to both the staff and the parents. I am also a Christian and I can't say enough good things about this school. No school is perfect but this one is close!

Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a teacher
I have taught at MC for several years. This is a great school! I love this community and the parental support. We have a diverse population and the students are wonderful! Lisa Grosz is a wonderful principal and this is the best staff I have worked with.


Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Bullying? Where? I'm in the building a lot. Don't see bullying. Kids are kind, staff is kind, the principal is kind. Look up the definition of bullying. All kids can be mean at times...so can adults....doesn't mean it's bullying. This is a good school! I'm glad we are here.

Murphy Creek K-8 School 2

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
I am a parent and my children were bullied for 2 straight years. When they tried to defend then selves, the principal suspended my daughter. I am Christian and believe that God will deal with this school and the principal and dean. I have had to smile and keep faith that pray over my children. I know that my children are not perfect but this a raciest school. I asked my daughter's 5th grade about her math home work and she stated that she just want to see if my daughter can try and do it. Well, that is not good enough. You cannot expect my daughter go to college and the professor say, I just want to see if you can do it." I had some issues with my oldest daughter and I felt that she may be ready to go high school, they did not care and the assistant principal refused to see me about this issue. The only good thing that I can say about this school is that they have 1-2 caring teachers. I have thought about moving just some my kids can go to another school. At this rate, the DPS system is looking better than APS.

Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
After attending Murphy Creek K-8 for 2 years, my son really does love this school. He will be heading into 2nd grade, and my daughter will be heading into kindergarten in the fall. We have found that the teachers are wonderful, stimulating, and accommodating to the kids. Our experience with the staff has been very positive. This facility is organized, pro-active, clean, and safe. My son is challenged in class and has made many lasting friendships (both with students and staff). Keep up the good work!


Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted March 06, 2013
- a parent
My son loves his school. As an only child I wondered if he would do well with older and younger kids. It has been great for his socialization. His teachers have been excellent and I always feel welcome by his class when volunteering. It is truly a community school. I enjoy knowing the kids, teachers and other families. I hope that others share the same experience.

Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
My child has severe food allergies and at the beginning of this year we worked with the school nurse, Principal, vice Principal and her kindergarten teacher to provide a safe learning envroment for our child. ALL of the staff at Murphy creek has made a point to get to know my child and are aware of her food allergies. The staff and leadership has confirmed with all the legal requirements regarding food allergies and have even gone beyond to make our family feel that our child is safe happy and healthy.

Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
I read some previous reviews and was shocked and outraged. The comments about disorder and 'bad' kids from 'bad' areas are outrageous and false. I am a parent volunteer at MC and I am constantly in the halls, classrooms, admin office, library and lunchroom weekly. Kids of all ages and the adults smile and talk to each other. They hold doors for you, they know me by name and are respectful. The teachers, staff and parent/aid volunteers know all the kids names and I have never seen any issues with misconduct or unruly kids in the lunchroom (which I have visited many times). In regards to bullying individuals must work with the Principal to determine correct action however this school has won awards for their positive roll in teaching about bullying and their program to decrease bullying called PBIS (positive behavior intervention support), look it up on their web site. This school held a fund raiser this year to collect not just coats but also shoes to go for kids in ALL of Aurora who needed them. They collect food on a regular basis for a bank that goes to benefit families in need in the Murphy Creek community. . visit this school at anytime, you will see happy, orderly, fun kids!


Murphy Creek K-8 School 1

Posted November 16, 2012
- a community member
This school is horrible! I am a student at this school coming from a regualr middle school. Losing lockers and passing peiods. This would be a great school for P-5 but not for middle school. Please do not put your kid in here if he is going to middle school. Some kids terrorize some of the other kids and bully them. Some bringing them to tears. This school also lacks in electives. The middle school kids are treated like a toddler. Walking in stright lines and not having to talk in the hallway.Coming from a student , PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT ENROLLE YOUR KIDS IN THIS SCHOOL.

Murphy Creek K-8 School 5

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
This is my second child and second year at MC. I have to say I love it. Kindergarten is a big step in a child's and mothers life. The staff at MC is amazing! The communication with the teacher (Ms Berkheim) surpassed my expectation. They have created a comfortable, warm welcoming, and safe atmosphere. As a volunteer, I truly enjoy being a part of this community! The entire staff seems dedicated to a safe, BULLY FREE, educational school! Go Jets!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Murphy Creek K-8 School
1400 South Old Tom Morris Road, Aurora, CO  80018
(303) 366-0579
Last modified Murphy Creek K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Murphy Creek K-8 School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top