Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
We love everything about Bromwell!! Our child has thrived at this school with its wonderful teachers and programs. We believe the principal is doing an outstanding job ensuring that children get a quality, well rounded education. We simply love it!!!

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Bromwell was (and had been for decades) one of the very best public schools in Denver. Over the last five years, the academic scores have declined, unique and enriching programs have been dismantled, and nearly all of the experienced, creative faculty members have left. I would no longer recommend Bromwell to other parents and have decided to transfer my child out of the school.


Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Under this principal, and DPS's backing, this formerly Distinguished school is now rated average, while the schools it was compared to have retained their high ratings and ten additional schools have attained Distinguished rating! It's not just the rating, many positive traits of this school are gone and the principal is consistently MIA! Numerous parent groups have gone to DPS to address the problems, all have been dismissed, including a majority of the teachers who spoke up last year - 45% of them are now gone! Who's next? There is a disconnect between this principal, the school community and reality. The school is in desperate need of new leadership in conjunction with a new group of parents on oversight committees to rejuvenate this school. If you're interested in this school, meet with the current principal, talk to her, listen to her in a public setting, observe her with students and in the lunch room/hallways, ask students from 3rd thru 5th grades what their impression of their leader is. Then do the same with some of the other leading DPS K5 schools and you ll understand first hand. We hope to see this once great community school returned to its roots and former glory.

Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Bromwell Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers, electives and enrichment opportunities are unparalleled. I have only wonderful things to say about my son's experience over the past few years.

Bromwell Elementary School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Having recently put our last child through Bromwell and just heard about this site, we felt it imperative to point out our experience with the school for 14 years. Bromwell was the pride of our community for 20 plus years, a school the community built up along with award winning teachers, programs and an excellent education. Since the current principal took over 4 years ago, this once nationally recognized, award winning, well grounded, 'distinguished' school is no more. Regrettably the school has essentially been dismantled and survives on it's former stature. The school lost 40% of its staff last year and had a turnover of 85% in 4 years, yet DPS and a small, tight knit group of parents stand behind the decimation. Having seen all four of our children go through Bromwell, the difference between our youngest child having recently gone through the school is in stark contrast to the first 3. Fifth grade was a throw away year and we can only hope remaining talented teachers don't leave. It is our hope that newer parents are made aware of the problems of non transparency and autocratic leadership in concert with a handful of parents so that they can restore our cherished Bromwell!


Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Bromwell was an excellent school in it's hayday-- I have sent 3 children there and the youngest is getting a far different experince than the older ones. The best teachers have left or are trying to move. We are left with new and inexperineced teachers replacing them who are not as passionate about teaching. Many of our cultural programs have slowly faded away due to a new principal who believes that kids should all be taught in the exact same DPS model -- which unfortunately for our above average kids-- is not the best way to learn. The school was fabulous about 7-8 years ago and before. It is no longer that school. I would send my kids to Steck now if I had young ones.

Bromwell Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
The negative reviews are pretty shocking, coming from a parent of two children at Bromwell currently. Our children are having a great experience both academically and culturally at Bromwell and we have not yet had a teacher who we were not totally impressed with. The teachers seem to have just the right amount of push such that there is a healthy challenge for them to advance, but it is not causing a lot of stress on the kids. Our children regularly come home with a positive attitude about learning and exploring and we have to credit the teachers with this. We have gotten to know many of the teachers personally and have not heard a bad word about their experience at the school. There has been some turn-over at the school as others have mentioned, but this has not had any impact on our children's experience at Bromwell. One other thing to add, every family that we know who has come to Bromwell from another school has had a bit of catch up to do. It is always hard to compare the academic performance of schools but the feedback we get from new families tells us that Bromwell is doing well to advance our kids academically. Hope this helps.

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and school were amazing, however the principal who took over the school in 2009 has decimated the staff, lowered morale to an unheard of low and brought down the school's distinguished rating. Only a handful of the original teachers responsible for this school's success are left. She has been responsible for the departure of 18 staff during her brief tenure through terminations, premature retirements and voluntary resignations - unheard of in the realm of top rated schools. This school was one of the crown jewels of the DPS system with a distinguished rating for more than 15 years and this principal brought its rating down to about average. Why in the world would anyone come into a successful school and systematically dismantle all the key aspects of its success including many of its award winning teachers? Tragic!


Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted July 29, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are amazing, however the turmoil coming down from the principal's office has cast an ugly shadow over the school. Seven staff members left this years and looks like there will be another exodus this year. The award wining teaching staff is leaving because of the principal. This isn't the great school it used to be.

Bromwell Elementary School 2

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Pulled from the DPS website, here are Bromwell's School Performance Framework (SPF) scores for the past several years. (The SPF scores are DPS "report card" scores for schools, and the scores are mostly determined by academic performance and growth. You can read all about it yourself at http://spf.dpsk12.org/) Year 2007-08 85% Year 2008-09 87% (New principal arrives in Fall 2009.) Year 2009-10 80% Year 2010-11 80% Year 2011-12 76% This can't be called rising performance by any definition. And now six teachers are all leaving at the same time. This isn't the kind of change that's needed; it's the kind to be avoided. A brighter spotlight needs to be brought on this school to explain the falling scores and exodus of teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bromwell Elementary School
2500 East 4th Ave, Denver, CO  80206
(720) 424-9330
Last modified Bromwell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bromwell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews.