Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Fairfield High School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
I graduated from New Fairfield HS in '08. The school enabled me to attend a great university and offerings numerous opportunities in both athletics and arts. The school offers numerous advance and AP courses that allow students to challenge themselves at each grade level. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the school and still maintain great relationships with the faculty/staff who mentored me throughout my high school career.

New Fairfield High School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
My 2 children have gone through the New Fairfield school system. In my experience the school staff and administration are excellent, with just a few exceptions. My son was able to participate in some great extra-curricular academic and music programs and was able to attend his first choice college after graduating. My daughter needed help and support which was successful in enabling her to reach her potential. For kids who are coming in to the school district from elsewhere, the schools are small enough to not be overwhelming, but large enough to offer good academic, arts and athletic programs.


New Fairfield High School 2

Posted July 28, 2014
- a community member
I graduated with a 4.0. I had a lot of academic support and did very well in college. But I was so miserable in high school I ended up in therapy and on various psychiatric medications. And you know what the administration told me? "You'd be surprised how many of our students are in similar situations.." So you're telling me that many of the students here are miserable? But all you do is make it worse and worse. Now they've made it even more academically challenging. That wasn't what they needed to do. The kids need more than 24 minutes for lunch. And not to be yelled at if it takes them 4 minutes instead of 3 to travel all the way from the pool to the corner classroom in the basement. And if they forget to sign into study hall but a teacher can vouch for them that they were there do they seriously deserve detention? That's what happens. All the school cares about is image. Nobody takes a moment to consider how this is affecting the students in the long term. I do not recommend sending your students to this school. It is filled with drama and is a corrupt system that is only seen after it is too late.

New Fairfield High School 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 children in NFHS right now. They both have attended New Fairfield Schools since Pre K and we have never had any problems. One of my children is very athletic, playing multiple sports and very ambitious academically also. The other one is very introverted, quiet and has some learning disabilities. So if 2 totally different characters, socially and academically, can both be on the honor roll and thrive in the New Fairfield School's environment, I think we have a good system. I would recommend it to anyone who likes the small town, small school setting.

New Fairfield High School 1

Posted July 23, 2013
- a parent
This school lacks diversity in the worst way. The administration is very good at coverup. There priorities are not the children, only their image. I wish i would have known that before i enrolled my child. I hope this posting helps another family... We are moving


New Fairfield High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
New Fairfield Schools. My Wife and I sent 4 Children through this school system. Three of them were inducted into the National Honor Society. All four of them graduated from college with at least a 4 year degree and one with a Masters degree. I think it is really amusing that most of the negative reviews about this school system were written by former students, most of whom were probably looking to blame someone for their own ineptitude. A good education starts with the correct values instilled. This enables a student to commit to the rigors of educating one's self because it is really not up to anyone else to do this for YOU. With all that being said, I am quite sure that there are individuals who may have some valid reasons for feeling negative about the system, and about themselves.

New Fairfield High School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
I have two children in this school system and not only are they both happy kids but also on the honor roll as well. My oldest was behind in reading and with the extra help they received they are now top of their class. I find it comical that students are commenting. Considering they do not have the maturity to know the difference between this school and others. I did not grow up here nor did my spouse and we agree that this is a great school with a great community atmosphere.

New Fairfield High School 1

Posted November 06, 2011
- a student
I highly recommend not sending your child here. As I went through my education there i found many of the bad reviews here to be quite true. Much to my dismay i found teaching myself was more efficient, and if your not disabled or a genius there is no support or programs for you, your either dumb or smart... black or white. there is no diversity, teachers don't care with the exception of two in particular. Teachers choose favourites, drugs are rampant with no effort to stop that, if your not in a sport then your nothing, and there are next to no real extra curricular activities. The technology is sub par as is their history/global studies program. in the end your student will graduate with the ability to ace every test you hand them.. except the one we all face in life.. real life outside school, all your child will be able to do is what the administration wants them to.. and that's make a school look good


New Fairfield High School 5

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
NFHS is a great school. Strong, caring principal/leadership, excellent teachers and challenging programs for college-prep students. Better than many expensive, private schools in the area.

New Fairfield High School
no rating

Posted October 15, 2009
- a student
I am 14 years old. I recently moved from CT and I went to NFMS. Fantastic school. Really nice teachers. Great Spanish Program.

Nearby schools

New Fairfield High School
54 Gillotti Rd, New Fairfield, CT  06812
(203) 312-5800
Last modified New Fairfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top