Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
New Haven, CT
Students enrolled: 655
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cooperative High School 4

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
This school nurtures creativity and intellectual development in a safe and supportive environment. Students select an arts major and pursue it for four years, in addition to their academic work. Coop After School is maybe the best such program in the state. The school does not offer interscholastic sports but if that's important, a student can participate on another school's team. The downtown location is great for easy access to museums, theaters, and cultural opportunities; on the other hand, it makes parking difficult.

Cooperative High School 4

Posted September 22, 2014
- a student
Coop is an excellent school. We are both strong in the arts AND in academics. The rumors that are said about Coop are 99.9% of the time untrue. Being a junior, I know a lot about the school. The environment is very open to anyone. You'll be sure to find people who share your interests.


Cooperative High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My son is an alumnus of this school. They provide a superb arts education along with standard high school curriculum. Students are encouraged to continue on to college and the guidance department really does their job.

Cooperative High School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Sending my daughter to CoOp was a very good decision. The administration staff & most of the teachers are top notch. They are a secure school; they attend to each student's needs; they discuss with parents anything that needs attention & they correct it; most of the teachers are great with the kids; there is a genuine care for the students, & the arts programs are the best. (Especially the dance program!) The school is diverse. My daughter gets a well-rounded education at CoOp. She is challenged academically to achieve her very best. Teachers are on hand for after school extra help, if need be. This, her first year in high school, I thought would be a nightmare because of the shocking transition for her from middle school, but she's doing very well! Kudos to teachers and administration staff! Keep doing what you do best! J. C., Milford, CT
1 person found this helpful

Cooperative High School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cooperative High School 5

Posted May 12, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Cooperative High School 4

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cooperative High School 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2008
- a student
Great student body, a few amazing teachers, a terrible facility (until next year), curriculum and administration.


Cooperative High School 3

Posted July 17, 2008
- a student
The curriculum is much easier than a suburban highschool. It almost feels like middle school because the administration doesnt give as much freedom as other school. They are over secure, and overprotective. The school is also very poor. Every group gets along though. Black kids are nice to white kids, popular kids talk to the nerdy kids. There arent stereotypes. The art teachers are phenomenal. They really care about the students. Especially theater.

Cooperative High School 4

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
I'm very pleased with co-op. My daughter has grown her grades are wonderful and the teachers and the principal are great. My second daughter will be attending next year

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cooperative High School
177 College Street, New Haven, CT  06511
(203) 946-5923
Last modified Cooperative High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cooperative High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top