Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rippowam Middle School 1

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
When you overhear the current principal and assistant principal making fun of and laughing at their staff, it makes you wonder about what kind of hostile and toxic environment teachers here must deal with on a day to day basis. It is honestly disappointing to see such behavior from school administrators, who SHOULD act professionally and treat their staff in the same manner in which they demand teachers to their own students: with kindness and respect.

Rippowam Middle School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I absolutely disagree with both comments below. My child now entering grade 7 made friends with seventh and eigth graders when she was in grade 6 at Ripp. Ad, as far as teachers go, I have not seen more caring, more fun and more nice teachers ever. So far, I can talk only of the sixth grade teachers. And, they were awesome, awesome. I a parent is not happy with a teacher, I strongly recommend meeting them. Only then will you realize how much they want each child to succeed and be their best. As far as detaining kids, yes, it is necessary. If these kids are disrupting classrooms, and do not value education, they should be disciplined. The new team of principal and vice principal is wonderful and will do the right things for the school.


Rippowam Middle School 3

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
The school is average. The teachers is the best. Stay away from the psychologists because they hurt more then help the student. They don't let the student be themselves and my son was good there eventually. Not from them but from us the parents. That's why there needs to be more parent involvement. The new principal discipline the students to make them behave and it worked. The school could use a little more parent involvement. The school needs to be more cleaner mostly the restrooms my son says are really dirty and he got sick from there once after washing his hands the door knob was dirty he remembered then he ate lunch and got sick later that day. Students from IB (International Baccalaureate) and from different grades are really separated which is bad. The only way to make a friend in a different grade is in the bus, but they will live near you, but still there could be other possible friends to make there. Submitted by a parent

Rippowam Middle School 1

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Rippawam has poor leadership there. The new principal suspends kids just for veral confrontation. Last I hear or thought fighting and bodily harm was the cause for that! This is not how you start off being a principal. The teachers there are horrible, and the think that they are on these kids level. This school would be successful if teachers acted licked they liked their jobs. Most of the adults talk about every child there either to their co- workers or toa parent while the child is present. This school is the worst when it comes to having leadership there. Yes some kids are hard to handle, but they need to address those situations better than they do. I most say the helpers that walk around with the students, do get caught up with the immature behavior as the other staff members. This school need team work,and the staff there suck with exceptions. If there was another school my children could go to, I wouldsend them there. These teachers need to understand that in order to earn these kids respect, they have to treat them with some. These teachers are always getting these kids in trouble instead of trying to solve the problem, before it spiral out of control.

Rippowam Middle School 1

Posted March 31, 2012
- a parent
I am a parent of a child who attends this school. The staff and principle are not kind or willing to help a parent that has any interest in learning about their childs education.The principal is not a good listener or a great leader. The kids are mean to other kids and the staff allows this behavior. I rate this school as -1 as there needs to be a more collaboration between parents and staff to help ourchildren. When anyone asks about my childs experience I will recommend that they do anything and everything to avoid sending their child go this school.the school principle IS RUDE and DISRESPECTFUL.Help is desperately needed in that school- call your board of Ed write letters if you have had a bad experience too. Write your own review


Rippowam Middle School 1

Posted October 26, 2011
- a community member
I am a new parent and because of where I live my son will be going to rippowam my first impression was not great the school principle was rude and would not even give us a school tour. Help is needed in that school

Rippowam Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
The boys are in the IB program which I think is fantastic.

Rippowam Middle School 4

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Since implementing the International Baccalaureate program, Rippowam has improved test scores and encouraged a great community feel within the program. There is much work to be done to support disadvantaged students and $20,000 would help tremendously!


Rippowam Middle School 2

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
IB program Hope for the future.

Rippowam Middle School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rippowam Middle School
381 High Ridge Rd, Stamford, CT  06905
(203) 977-5255
Last modified Rippowam Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rippowam Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top