Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rippowam Middle School 3

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers are amazing. I made some friends which is great. However, there are so many out of control kids that constantly make me not want to go here because most of class is disrupted by them. Great potential if those kids were under control or out of school. -7th grade student

Rippowam Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
Teachers are extremely nice and are just all around great and make this school decent. Without them this would be a terrible school.


Rippowam Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers are great, the best part of the school, but the kids don't change.

Rippowam Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
Usually homework is good, sometimes none and sometimes all at once. A little more balance might help, and I sound ignorant, but I find no point in homework.

Rippowam Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers try, but nobody's determined. I barely am and I want to learn but going here is so boring sometimes.


Rippowam Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
There is absolutely no respect in most of the students whatsoever the least respectful school ever.

Rippowam Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a student
I can name maybe one or two nice kids, the rest are people who always curse or say something racist or put up the middle finger. So annoying.

Rippowam Middle School 3

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
This school has improved during the last 3 years but there is still so much work to be done. The principal says that his main priority are the kids but when it comes to making exceptions only the kids whose parents are part of PTO fit the description. I have witnessed that the teacher's needs get fulfilled before the children's. I liked how they handled the situation when my daughter was bullied but it is unfortunate that so many kids have a very bad attitude towards the school. There is a handful of teachers that are exceptional and well respected by the kids. The other teachers don't either know how to handle some of them or just show up for a pay check. I guess this is what you get when they get paid by the taxpayers....mediocrity


Rippowam Middle School 4

Posted December 23, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has attended there since 6th grade. When she first began she could not wait to get to school and thought it was marvelous. Now in 7th grade and a bit more of the "teen" thing happening, not so enthusiastic; however she still loves the school, most of the teachers, and her social groups. As a review thus from being an educator myself, I can see the school has tremendous potential to become greater than they actually think they are now. The new principals, in my opinion, are excellent and work well together, and they insist on a nurturing and fair educational environment that truly cares for the children and teenagers who attend. From what I have seen about 70 % of the teachers follow their lead; some others lag behind with a somewhat tenured and lower level of enthusiasm that is common for public school. However when you walk into the place the general feel of the school is upbeat, enthusiastic and supportive, and I have seen them project this to the students, encouraging them to be AND act their best at all times. I give 3 stars for the educational experience and raise it to 4 stars because of the caring and enthusiasm.

Rippowam Middle School 1

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
When you overhear the current principal and assistant principal making fun of and laughing at their staff, it makes you wonder about what kind of hostile and toxic environment teachers here must deal with on a day to day basis. It is honestly disappointing to see such behavior from school administrators, who SHOULD act professionally and treat their staff in the same manner in which they demand teachers to their own students: with kindness and respect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rippowam Middle School
381 High Ridge Rd, Stamford, CT  06905
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (203) 977-5255
Last modified Rippowam Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top