Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westover School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Best school hands down in Stamford. Principal is by far the most hands on and experienced I have seen. Anyone who says differently should look at other schools and see what they would be missing out on.. Would highly recommend.

Westover School 5

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 1st year and we could not be any happier. Wonderful staff & setting. The difference we've seen in her learning in 5 months is amazing.


Westover School 4

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids in Westover, daughter in fifth and son in first grade. School has a great diversity. I believe, my kids are very well positioned academically and in extra-curricular activities (with average parental involvement). The kids are grouped by their reading and math levels. It helps them either challenge or pace themselves. Teachers are wonderful for the most part, there are a few exceptions. Principal runs a tight-ship. She could be frustrating to some parents. However I believe running a big organization takes a lot and I think she does a fine job. Overall my kids have learned, grown, won accolades in Westover. I wish the middle school sets as high standards. Nevertheless there are frustrating periods with teachers and other kids - its important to remember everything is a package deal and we need to make the best of the situation!

Westover School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I love the school, the staff is wonderful and the teachers really push the kids to their ability.

Westover School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
I'm very pleased with this school. My son enjoys going to this school. I like their Arts and problem solving program that is very well organised and the teachers here make kids learn in a fun way.


Westover School 2

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
very disappointed with the way things are being run here. wish my tax money worked for betterment of my kid.

Westover School 3

Posted April 08, 2013
- a community member
i have a mixed feelings about this school. some teachers are effective and most are ineffective. not sure if someone is working on fixing this. it used to be a very good school 4-5 years back but, not anymore.

Westover School 2

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
diverse population and the facility is huge. it could have been run in a much better way i.e. the head of this school can use some training and help


Westover School 4

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
I really like westover for my kids. I have a daughter who is about to graduate this June and a son in first grade. They foster an atmosphere of responsibility and accountability. Some parents may find the culture of the school more harsh but I like the no no sense approach. Parents are also involved as support which is a crucial element to success.

Westover School 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Westover School is the best elementery school in stamford, teachers and principal are nice and they are very dedicated with the students. We would strongly recommend westover to anybody.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westover School
412 Stillwater Ave, Stamford, CT  06906
(203) 977-4572
Last modified Westover School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westover School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top