Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Fatima School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Castle

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2011

I have had one child graduate from OLF and one who is presently attending. There is a sense of family and caring from the entire staff that greatly helped my very shy son feel comfortable and come out of his shell. Academically the school provides for a quality education for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

What a wonderful experience we are having at Fatima. The principal is enthusiastic and the teachers are kind and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

My daughter has grown both personally and academically since attending this school. The small class size is exactly what she needs, as I think, for her personality, she would be lost in a large school. The teacher is wonderful and as a weekly parent volunteer, I am welcomed there and thanked each time I volunteer. While the tuition is a bit high, I can honestly say I'd gladly pay the extra money for the experience and education she is getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Our Lady of Fatima did a wonderful job preparing my daughter for High School. She scored very well on the placement exam and received a substantial scholarship for High School - due to the wonderful faculty at Fatima! I highly recommend this school for High School Preparation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

Our Lady of Fatima is a not a great school, some of the teachers need additional training with how to work with kids. Shouting and and displays of aggression to kids is not the answer. Coed school is made up of only female teachers, no male teachers for the boys to relate to. Some of these female teachers are way too over emotional. Some teachers are not equipped to teach interactive style to students who have different learning style. Some teachers do not put that exta effort in, if child is struggling in class. You will have to find outside help and pay for it, even though you are already paying for tuition. Classes are overflowing, text books are out dated, some teachers need to get with the technological era and need qualified teachers. Very very disappointed in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Fatima has drastically changed this year. Double classroom sizes, major teacher layoffs, 10% tuition increase...what were they thinking. We left when we heard the classroom's doubled. Teachers are wonderful, but the principal has to support them with appropriate classroom sizes so they can do their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Our Lady of Fatima is a great school to send your child. Like any school, there are some problems and difficulties. But in the end, OLF has proven to provide a strong academic foundation and and an excellent environment for any child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2009

We are very pleased with OLF. This is a wonderful school that provides a faith based education in a small caring environment. Parent envolvement is encouraged and I feel the school will go above and beyond to make sure you child have a positive experience in school. You just need to take the first step and open the lines of communication with your child's teacher. The comments mentioned about 'yelling' teachers only reflect the few, most teachers are well educated and truely care about your childs education and well being. I would recommend OLF to any family looking for a faith based education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

The teachers are committed to making sure that each student receives the attention they deserve and they truely care for each student. The school offers a great variety of extra curricular activities and the parent participation in these activities is wonderful. Highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

The faculty and staff are committed to providing the children with a quality education. They are a well trained group of professionals, many with master level educational background. The teachers and administration are committed to the overall well-being of the students and teach a strong values oriented curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2007

This school has some problems with how to raise children.The kids need to stand their bad manners while they scream at them.The kids do what they see and that is not a good way to start it off.The children don't even have a playground to play in. The teachers and principles pretend to be good and when their mom and dad's leave then that's what the children are learning and when the kids start acting badly they get mad too.They need to learn that when you treat someone kindly then they will be kind to you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2007

I have to agree with some of the other parents here, this school could be much better. The teachers are very short with you and focus on all the negatives never giving praise where it is deserved. My daughter was a straight A student there and althought I feel it is a far superior school compared to the public schools, I had to pull my daughter out of that school. After completing k through 4th grade there, she is left with low self esteem and the feeling that she could never be good enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

This school is in serious need of an overhaul- I'm not talking about the facilities. Facilities are quite nice. They could be an excellent school, but choose mediocrity and do not practice good Catholic Christian principles. They waste parents' money and are not open to positive changes. The overall atmosphere is negative, cynical and critical. They very rarely focus and reward positive behaviors. The teachers need to have better communication and rapport with all parents. I wish I never sent my kids there but in DE there aren't many positive affordable choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

The school would be fantastic if it would do something with the problem children. For a few children to upset the whole class is silly. Sorry, my daughter will go to a Charter School where she can hear what the teacher is saying and learn something next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

I have one child at Our Lady of Fatima. Compared to the public schools in the area this school is leaps and bounds above them. But, that really does not say much. When you pay money to send your kids to school you have high expectations. The schools eagerness to keep attendance levels high has left the school with some pretty big trouble makers in some classes. The school needs to ask more students to go elsewhere as their presence is a determent to other children that are there to learn. This school gets great support from its parish and its parish leader. By and large most of the teachers at OLF are good but few are excellent. And the excellent ones don t stay long as the pay is low. The principle is quick to anger in most situations, which I attribute to the stress of a very difficult job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

My child is in sixth grade at Fatima. He has been at Fatima since Preschool. We love the teachers and the education he has received every year. We have been here for eight years and anyone can have an off day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

The principal was extremely rude and she was not much of a 'people person.'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2005

When I went to Our Lady of Fatima, not to long ago, many changes were needed to the school. Many of my friends still go there and my family hears nothing but problems. The education program needs to be updated. Discipline needs to be seriously worked on. The principal needs to see and work on the upper grades because one discipline personell (Mrs. Anges Galvin) cannot do it alone. Overall, Fatima is a pretty good school, but in many parents personal opinions, Fatima needs to seriously look over itself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 10, 2004

OLF is a wonderful school. We drive 20 miles just so that our children can experience the guidence and care the teachers provide to all the students. As parents we are encouraged to participate in our children's education. This provides us with a complete understanding of how they are progressing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 50%
Hispanic 22% 13%
Black 20% 32%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wilmington
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 North Dupont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: (302) 328-2803

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT