Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


53 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mckitrick Elementary School 3

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
I have had three kids come up through this school. The academics are absolutely great. However, more than half the teachers have had extremely poor attitudes. There are a handful of good ones, yet plenty of them seem as though they wish they didn't have to put up with the profession they chose. They are dredging through the day, snapping at kids for anything that they are annoyed by. They have this crazy "check" system for behavior. The kids even get checks for having fun at lunch time, the only time they can actually talk to their friends. One teacher is called the "check queen." Thanka to her, my child no longer enjoys school.

Mckitrick Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
I am surprised by the negative reviews here - are they talking about the same school my kids go to? I found the teachers outstanding - my kids are very happy here, and are always excited to go to school. This is an excellent school for gifted and motivated kids with no behavioral issues. This school is extremely safe, I would say they go overboard on safety. The teachers we have had are very nurturing, caring and always put the interests of the children ahead of everything. I feel extremely fortunate to be in this zip code!


Mckitrick Elementary School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
My 5 year old dropped off by the bus driver in the wrong neighborhood and left wandering around on her own for 45 minutes. Nothing was done by the administration except to tell me it was hard to get bus drivers who want to travel so far north and I shouldn't make too big a fuss because it might jeopardize the neighborhood bus stop. I have to agree with the earlier comment- a school has to be safe first.

Mckitrick Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
This is my granddaughter's last year at McKitrick. We both are already missing all the teachers, office workers and Principal. This is an excellent school I will recommended to everybody.

Mckitrick Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is finishing First Grade and I just want to say that Mckitrick is an excellent PUBLIC school. High involvement from the parents make a huge difference as it's really hard for the teachers to keep the Class A classification that the school has with 17-20 kids per classroom and NO helper. The facilities are always spotless clean, the staff is courteous and friendly, the afterschool program HOST is well organized and help the kids with their homework. Some parents confuse the fact that because the school is located in a middle-high class neighborhood they have the right to expect Private School education (low teacher-student ratio/ music and sports extra curricular activities/ foreign languages lessons,etc). The teachers dedicate a lot of their spare time to prepare the lessons and activities and I couldn't be more grateful for the education my daughter is receiving.


Mckitrick Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This school was not a safe place for my children. There are several highly qualified and dedicated teachers. There are also teachers who do not support recess for event the youngest students. The administration lacks proper vetting of it's staff and personal issues are brought into the classroom. Our family personally experienced prejudice because of this and the environment became a particularly threatening, unhappy place for one of my children. The administration choose to support the offending staff member and I choose to pull my children from the school. Before an education can be great, it must be safe.

Mckitrick Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
McKitrick Elementary is a wonderful public school in the hillsborough county district of Florida. As a past Executive Board Member, PTA and 110% achiever, I salute you for doing a great job. My youngest is transitioning to Maritinez this year.

Mckitrick Elementary School 2

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
Generally speaking, I like this school - but I do agree with the post that children with special needs receive little attention. What a parent gets most is a resistance for specialized interventions and lots of empty promises that their child's needs will be met. The administration seems bothered by the fact that you even raise the question - and the Principal, although pleasant, does not, at all, take an interest. She simply passes this burden to staffers who are complicit in doing as little as possible.


Mckitrick Elementary School 2

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
McKitrick does not provide appropriate support or services to the lower 25% of the students in the school. It is too focused on only the upper 10% of students. In fact, at a recent meeting the Principle stated that the reason McKitrick is no longer an "A" school and is now a "B" school is because the bottorm 25% of the students did not show enough growth. To me that is a glaring sign that the school does not appropriately assist those students that are the ones with the greatest needs.

Mckitrick Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
McKitrick Elementary teachers have VERY high academic and behavior standards. Testing is an issue the STATE has mandated. As a result of their education, all three of my children did very well and were very prepared for a challenging middle school experience. The teachers are professional and over-all wonderful people. Great school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckitrick Elementary School
5503 West Lutz Lake Fern Road, Lutz, FL  33558
(813) 558-5427
Last modified Mckitrick Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckitrick Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top