Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,173 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 5

Posted July 09, 2016
- a parent
Great school! Something to note when reading about these schools are the test scores. FCM has some of the highest scores in comparison. A few bad reviews (that sound suspiciously fake anyway) shouldn't be your only reason for picking a school. These fake reviews are the only reason their rating is a 9. But the tests scores speaks for themselves. The curriculum is tough. The activities are great. The staff is always nice. The PTSA is Amazing. The parent participation is high and tgats great to see. This is an Award Winning PTSA and staff, and that speaks volumes. Keep all of this in kind when selecting a school.

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Principal Felicia Joseph, thank you for your leadership. This is my second year as a Frank C. Martin International K-8 Center parent and I must say that I am thankful for the academic and character standards that teachers and students adhere to. The level of excellence is prevalent not only at the school site but in our education community. For the past 15 years, Frank C. Martin International K-8 Center has earned an "A" academic ratings as a top performing school. Why is this possible? From your leadership team to Parent Teacher Association (PTA), all stakeholders are welcome and actively participate. Academics is one factor, thematic activities, STEM connections and a healthy and safe school environment are factors that also contribute to the successful measures of your school's performance. You are an exemplary leader in which I am grateful to be amongst your educational community.


Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 4

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
The administrative staff is friendly and are easily accessible. The school is clean and the children are behaved.

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a student
Didn't like it. I was liking it way better at Wilson elementary than here u guess

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 4

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
Frank C Martin is an extraordinary K-8 school. My child has been here since Pre-K and WOW it's been awesome! First, the Pre-k teacher Ms. Mecias should be clone. She is a exceptional teacher. I'm so happy she gave my daughter such a strong foundation. Furthermore, Ms. Ballard another wonderful teacher with a big heart. I love, love this school and look forward to my daughter continue her education here. The curriculum is challenging but good.


Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
FC Martin K-8 is truly a great school with a dynamic PTSA and high levels of parent participation! Note that Dade's 2016 Teacher of the Year is from FC Martin and he is representative of the overall excellence of the faculty. The principal, Ms. Joseph and her administrative team provide strong leadership and are always working to make sure the school meets the needs of the students. My child has attended FCM from first grade and is now a 7th grader. We have enjoyed the experiences she had each year. Last year she travelled to Spain & France on the school's international trip.This year she is part of the Close Up Washington DC trip and next year she will be visiting Switzerland and Italy with her classmates. Many of the parents of FCM students are teachers and administrators - this is usually an indicator that a school is doing something right. Another plus that FCM has is that its student body is truly diverse - As a parent it is a bonus that you get to meet so many other smart involved parents from a variety of cultures. My husband and I are proud to be FCM K-8 parents.

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My child came from a private school to FCM middle. This was the best move I made. As an educator myself, one tends to look at other teachers, especially your child's teachers. Its been two years and I am especially pleased with student learning and outcomes. My child is well adjusted and very happy.

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 1

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
This school is very over-rated, especially the middle school. The majority of the teachers complain about their pay and the amount of work they have to do. Many of them are very lazy and leave most of the learning up to the students. My child has been at this school from 1st grade and still can not understand any Spanish. If you can get your child into Herbert Ammons, this is by far an all around superior school.


Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
This school is horrible. All the teachers where never nice to anyone and never taught anything! I would not recommend this school for anyone. I now have gone to the school "W.R Thomas Middle School" and it is so much better.

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
Frank.c.Martin is the worst school on earth it does not provide the necessary materials for learning. Also the school does not care for the children. The teachers are rude and disrespectful to the parents and children. One time the principal did not give reading materials for the third grade classes and had to use unreadable photo copies of books when there were more than enough books. So a parent had to bring in textbooks for the students to read. And the reason that is important is because third grade is fcat year and needs to have smart students. I was a student from first to fifth grade and hated it that is why I went to Herbert.A.Ammons middle school which is ten times better than Frank.C.Martin. So if you have a child or is a child that wants a good school for middle school go to Herbert.A.Ammons middle school and for elementary school go to Jack.D.Gordon elementary school. Jack.D.Gordon was the school that provided textbooks to the third graders. Frank.C.Martin is like a prison it has no good activities or good teachers. That's why you should go to jack Gordon and ammons middle school. Thank you and pick the right school.

Nearby schools

Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center
14250 Boggs Drive, Miami, FL  33176
(305) 238-3688
Last modified Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top