Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riviera Beach Maritime Academy

Charter | 9-12 | 193 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2012

As a parent I can say that this school has NOT helped my child be college ready. As I was inquiring at another school, when I mentioned what school my child attended, the school official laughed and stated they have heard all of the horror stories of this school. They also warned me that students transferring from RBMA most likely will have a hard time "catching up". It is true that your child's progress is based on $ you donate. The most telling sign about this school was the open house we attended before the school year began. Two-thirds of the faculty was dressed as if they lived on the streets. What a horrible representation to our children. How do you expect a child to respect you when you dress like trash! This school is a joke. AP classes are a joke. Discipline is a joke! Don't call and talk to the principal, you won't get a word in edgewise. Your opinion does not count here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

This is an awesome school. Two of my four kids attend, and the other two will be starting there next year. The teachers really care about the students and their learning. This is one of a handful of "A" rated high schools in Palm Beach County (which was acheived during a four day school week)! With their small student body (150 students), the teachers have smaller classroom sizes & go ABOVE & BEYOND to assist struggling students. Their PTO is active and hosts quite a few events thoughout the year (Spaghetti Dinner, Super Bowl Tailgate Party etc.) My son is in the SCUBA club, but they also have the ROV (underwater robotics) club, Fishing club, Garden Club, Computer club & the National Technical Honor Society (which my daughter is a member of). They also have a floating classroom (large boat which they take out often) & many trips they take to Peace River, Venice Beach, Sea World and even the Florida Keys! They have a bus schedule, that is strategically placed around the county to get our children to and from school safely. I am confident that my kids are learning what is necessary for them to attend a good university!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

I would not send your child to this school!We made this terrible mistake and I would hate for other caring parents to do the same...Let's start with the Principal, Mrs. Hicks.My experience dealing with her was shocking to say the least.She speaks to you as if you are having a conversation on the "streets".She is not professional or consistant at all.She makes all the decisions regarding the student body.She makes choices based upon parents who give $ to the school.The teachers and very limited staff do not make any decisions pertaining the students. The students wear their pants hanging off their bottoms.The students are rough and the environment of the school is poor.The children eat lunch outside in the heat...This is not a good school, please do a surprise walk of the school during operating hours and you can make an informed decision yourself.I rate this school one star for a couple of good teachers.Also you will see random students hanging around the school while class is in session.They do not have any consistency with rules for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Unfortunately my family and I have had to move around a lot these past few years. RBMA is the first school my son has really felt comfortable at. He has made friends easily and has been excelling in academics. I highly recommend the school to anyone who does not want their child to just be another number out of the 1000s in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I am a parent of a student at RBMA. He has only been there for this year and has adjusted well. He seems to like his teachers and they seem to like him. He feels that his science classes are chalenging and likes his boat and yacht classes (he built a boat today and says it is quite the experience). If you are interested in marine related fields, this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

This school is the WORST when it comes to education. The teachers are interested in what goes on outside the school, rather than teaching the children. Good luck with getting your kid into a fine college if they go to Riviera Beach Maritime Academy!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

This school is great, has 147 students (2/10/2010) very small teacher/student ratio. Active PTO, great learning field trips, a 40' floating classroom, active teachers and staff. Great for children who want to learn about maritime studies and boat/yatch building and repair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

If your child is truly interested in the Maritime Industry, I would consider enrolling them into the academy, as it's a great school if the child has those interests. I think some students enroll just so they don't have to attend the overcrowded public high schools, which disrupts the learning environment for those students who are interested in Maritime academics. The students do have the opportunities for fishing, boating, and club days, all which make learning enjoyable. Yes, to sending your child their if they have the interest, other non-interested students...need not apply. The school has small enrollment (150 approx.) of both boys and girls. Nice small class sizes, uniforms are worn, teachers all seem interested in education, and administration does a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

It is a fun school with many extra-cirricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

35 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
67%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
63%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Hispanic 12%
Black 10%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 72%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
Female 29%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 79%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 22%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TONYA HICKS
Fax number
  • (561) 841-7626

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

251 West 11th Street
Riviera Beach, FL 33404
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 841-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Carp
West Palm Beach, FL


Alternative Program Central
West Palm Beach, FL



Driftwood Academy
Lake Park, FL


Driftwood Academy
Lake Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT