Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverhills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

Riverhills is now a magnet school for International studies and is applying to be a PYP IB program. I have a fourth grader and kindergartener that attend there, and its been a wonderful start!! All students take spanish and strings. The teachers work hard in communicating in daily student planners, and I have never a better run PTA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

I love Riverhills. My child was in first grade this year in miss amylynn Dawson's class and she is a very caring teacher. She took extra time with my child and was very patient with the bad behavior!! She even contacts me (after school year is done) to check on my child. My child loves her very much and loves riverhills and the other teachers very much. God bless this school and miss dawson!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My grand daughter attends Riverhills Elementary where I believe because of Ms. Harkness and her commitment to her classes and to the school, Isabella who had a learning disability had been able to overcome all of the obstacles. Ms. Harkness truly lives out the life "no child left behind". Ms. Harkness not only worked with isabella to provide a firm foundation for the future school years, she worked with me, a grandparent raising the children. Riverhills has a focus on parent involvement, and hires only the highest of teacher quality. My only wish is that Isabella and all of my grand children can attend such a school with such gifted instructors and leaders. Thank you Riverhills Elementary for providing the best foundation for our future leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Riverhills is not a good, safe, educational school. I have two kids that have gone to this school, and everytime they have attended, teachers try to make it look like they aren't catching on to the subjects that they are teaching everyday when really it's the teacher's trying to push the children so they can get their raise. They don't care about the students ability to learn and adapt differently than others and take more time out to help in their troubled areas. I'm so glad my kids are at another school and the Teachers at their school compliment them everyday, as well they call me so happy to have my kids as their students. And their grades are great better than the average students in the school. They give work to the kids for the parents to do and teach but yet they have a problem with how the work is completed. Just not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

As the new lead teacher at Riverhills Elementary Gifted Academy for Learning and I can honestly say that I am honored to work with a staff and administration that is dedicated to each student and to creating an extraordinary learning environment. With the implementation of the Schoolwide Enrichment Model, the focus of learning is student-centered around individual talents - increasing engagement and motivation. The kids have opportunities to expand their learning through Enrichment Clusters on a weekly basis. Specialized teaching strategies are designed to help develop the potential of every child. 100% of the staff and administration are getting their gifted endorsement through the district. Enrichment speakers from the community help expose students to areas of expertise. Through innovation, creativity, and dedication, Riverhills truly is a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2012

This school is great only one thing it does not prepare them for middle school. you know the kid has to grow up so leave us alone teachers. I sure miss the teachers at Riverhills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

The teachers at Riverhills are beyond awesome but the administration is in disarray. My child has been at this school for a while and we have seen so many changes and not for the better. A lot of pressure has been placed on the students to score highly on state and FCAT testing to increase the school's grade and many of the extra programs like gardening, robotnik, and ect have been cutout all together. Parent participation is extremely lacking and the school's PTA, which seemed to be doing well the past couple of years, has not been very active. I have learned that while the teachers are doing the best job, the lack of administrative guidance, parent participation, and the focus of all work and no play has taken a toll on my child and some of the other students and parents who attend Riverhills. I know school is not meant to be fun but it is suppose to provide a safe and healthy environment for our children to learn in and that is not something that this school provides anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

Riverhills staff are great. There are bad people in every profession, but I have met the best at Riverhills. My grandchildren loved the school and staff. Keep up the good work.


Posted May 19, 2010

I like riverhills because the teachers care. they have a fantastic media production program which shows children how to create projects on the computer, research items on hte computer, and create movies using imovie. fantastic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

some of the teachers are AWESOME ! the other lack the knowledge and skills to follow through to make sure that papers make home in a timely manner so parents are in the loop. lack of communication
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

My daughter has attended the school since Kindergarten. She was found to have a learning disability in the 1st grade and was retained. Even though I was upset, the faculity made the transistion as comfortable as possible for my daughter and myself. They have been both patient and understanding with my daughterand have never acted as though she was a bother, even when she has been known to 'act up'. I truly believe my daughter has come along as far as she hase because of the caring and nuturing she has recieved from the faculity at Riverhills. They have out forth a great effort with her and many other children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2009

This school has really changed for the better in the past few years. My child has attended since kindergarten and we were very skeptical because of what we had been hearing about the school, but we gave it a try. Much to our delight, the teachers, administration, and everyone involved with the school has made it a great place for my child and all children who are there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I love the teacher at the school. The people in the office doesn't care for the kids at all. They are rude and not at all helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

The faculty and administration has done a great job of creating a positive healthy environment for the children to learn. The strict guidelines for FCAT prep and assessments had handicapped many of the teachers' abilities to be creative with the students. Need more focus on the successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

but the student can be horrible to other students.i personally think they can be alittle more stricter with the students.as for the teachers.my son has mrs.farmer..i can say she is an excellent teacher.very thourough.principle is fantastic.but the school has not met it's marks for the fourth year in a row.and the children are extreamly mean to other students.of course i blame the parents on that.you learn from the home.but i do believe the school can be alittle more strict in dicaplin,they really need to inforce that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This school has worked extremely hard to meet the needs of all the students. Like everything else in the world, it is not perfect, but at least they try. The staff is more like a family than co-workers. The administration is helpful and caring.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted October 3, 2007

I am a veteran teacher in my first year at Riverhills. I am impressed by the effort put forth by the administration, teachers and students to promote a healthy learning environment for the school. During my day I see high quality, standards-based teaching taking place, and a good deal of intervetion strategies in place to assist struggling learners as well as learners that may require an extra challenge.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2007

I'm sorry to see the negative posts about this school. The teachers that I have been associated with through the past 4 years have been outstanding in every way. There are so many activities that parents can take part in, but it is unfortunate that too many parents do not take the time to be at the school during school events. Although, this year, the events to date have been extremely well attended. My advice to anyone who is looking at this school for their child - make a point to visit the school, speak to the principal, and see for yourself. Don't go by the negativity displayed by a couple of sour people. It is a great school, with a great staff, and great things happening all of the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Communication with parents is lacking. My son has attended Riverhills Elementary for 2 years now. I have tried sharing my concerns of my child with everyone in the school. The only response I have had is there are steps, guidelines, and this or that. I also was unsure why my child has had no spelling homework. I was informed that spelling is not the top priority of this school by multiple people. I am a single parent and no assistance for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

So far into this school year I would give this school a big fat F. My daughter's teacher is very unresponsive and doesn't always send home communications about my daughters progess or behavior. As a single parent I rely on the teachers in her school to help me help my daughter and so far this school has not been helpful to me or my daughter. If you have a choice between Riverhills and another school try the other school first. I wish I would have.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
Hispanic 24% 29%
White 11% 42%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%67%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Todd Connolly
Fax number
  • (813) 987-6962

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 S Riverhills Dr
Temple Terrace, FL 33617
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 987-6911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Palnez School
Tampa, FL





Florida College Academy
Temple Terrace, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT