Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Wahiawa, HI

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leilehua High School 4

Posted December 06, 2013
- a community member
My years in Leilehua were good ones. Teachers are great, bullying is almost none existent (I have not witnessed any), strong sense of community, many extracurricular activities (outside of school as well), and great athletic department. My complaints: their is not a diverse range of classes, science department is lacking (learned little during 10th and 11th grade), and school class locations is unorganized eg: english class in science wing (this has been continuing to improve over the years however). Highlights: Again, great teachers who really care about us students, strong math, history, language arts, and everything else departments; the student in student athlete is emphasized (many opportunities to catch up on work such as SMARTS nights, tutoring, etc so no excuses fellow students!), opportunities in discovering many different cultures; and last but not least, EXCELLENT avid teachers who push you to do your best and to make the effort to get into college, earn scholarships, and making a better out of students in general -KH

Leilehua High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
Great staff and students. Large population of military students which makes for a decent transition if you are a military family. Student population is diverse (probably due to military population). The academic curriculum for Honors, AP, and/or GT isn't very broad compared to the offerings at nearby Mililani High School but the class sizes are smaller at Leilehua. The athletic department is excellent and stresses academics along with providing study halls, tutoring and frequent grade checks to ensure athletes maintain acceptable grades while participating in sports. The counselors work well to ensure your student is enrolled in the proper classes. Parents are kept abreast of events via email or telephonic messages from the school and grades can be checked through the Edline system. We heard horror stories about Hawaii public schools before arriving here and continue to hear negative things. Our experience has been great thus far and our son scores very high (90+ %) on the Hawaii assessment tests. We had him enrolled in a private school but placed him in public school because the private school was not worth the $10,000 and offered the exact curriculum as the public school.


Leilehua High School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
Leilehua has been great. My son graduated in 2008 and my daughter is a Junior now. We are a military family and LHS has numerous programs for the kids. Every school is what the parents and students make of it. My son has excelled due to the wonderful staff at LHS and my daughter is on her way to making her own positive mark. Go Mules!

Leilehua High School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
This school is the worst school we have ever encountered! From the lack of control in the classrooms by the teachers, to the poor administration in regards to handling any issues. After 2 months of absolute hell for my son we removed him from this school and put him into hawaii tech academy. Beware of this school.

Leilehua High School 3

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
As a military family, we arrived to HI for our son s 10th grade year. It took some effort, but once we got through placement tests and a few conferences, he was put in honors/GT classes and AP if available. The teaching is good but not exceptional. Academically, Leilehua pales in comparison to Mililani. There are fewer academic opportunities (fewer AP classes, no teachers participate in science fair or National History Day, science or math field trips, etc.) H.S.A. test scores support this academic assessment of the school academics. Extracurricular activities and focus on community are strong. The school has a friendly, welcoming, accepting climate. Our son graduates this year and overall we are happy with the Leilehua experience.
1 person found this helpful


Leilehua High School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
Leilehua's faculty supports the students in every way possible. We offer the students a place to do their homework with tutors twice a week from 6:00pm to 8:00pm. And, from 2:20pm to 4:30pm every day. A place where there are no distractions. There are many after school activities to choose from...Athletics, Drama Club, Hiking Club, Band, Choir, Leadership skills, etc. We have 5 'in school' academies; Construction, Agriculture, Culinary, Graphics and Cinema Tech. On campus, we have a lot of support systems,(naming a few) Peer Mediation, ASACS (Adolescent Substance Abuse Counseling Service), College and Career Counselors, Parent Community Networking Center Facilitator, Transition Center, etc. Leilehua High School is a school that teaches Leadership, Humility, and Service.

Leilehua High School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
As a military family, with our daughter in all 4 years of High School at Leilehua High, we love this school! The teachers, the activities and the overall school spirit is astounding! Go Mules!!!!
1 person found this helpful

Leilehua High School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
Being in the military, our four children experienced many different high schools. My youngest attended Leilehua, and I can honestly say that this was by far the best high school we have ever dealt with. The staff is very involved from academics through athletics, and they expect the kids to be respectable, and to give their all. Hawaii is the most amazing experience for a military family, but to be able to enjoy the cultural diversity, and amazing ohana (family) connections through this school just makes the assignment that much better. The school supports the military 100% and when the 25th is deployed they hang the 'mother's flag' in their school. Basically this means - one of their family members are deployed. Attending this school is an incredible academic and cultural experience for our military kids.
1 person found this helpful


Leilehua High School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
Leilehua is a community as well as a school. There is so much pride in the school by the students,staff and the whole town. My daughter is in the GT classes and is challenged an excelling. Their athletic program is amazing. they worry about the whole student, not just the athlete. Go Mules

Leilehua High School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leilehua High School
1515 California Ave, Wahiawa, HI  96786
(808) 622-6550
Last modified Leilehua High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leilehua High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top