Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Leilehua High School 4

Posted December 06, 2013
- a community member
My years in Leilehua were good ones. Teachers are great, bullying is almost none existent (I have not witnessed any), strong sense of community, many extracurricular activities (outside of school as well), and great athletic department. My complaints: their is not a diverse range of classes, science department is lacking (learned little during 10th and 11th grade), and school class locations is unorganized eg: english class in science wing (this has been continuing to improve over the years however). Highlights: Again, great teachers who really care about us students, strong math, history, language arts, and everything else departments; the student in student athlete is emphasized (many opportunities to catch up on work such as SMARTS nights, tutoring, etc so no excuses fellow students!), opportunities in discovering many different cultures; and last but not least, EXCELLENT avid teachers who push you to do your best and to make the effort to get into college, earn scholarships, and making a better out of students in general -KH

Leilehua High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
Great staff and students. Large population of military students which makes for a decent transition if you are a military family. Student population is diverse (probably due to military population). The academic curriculum for Honors, AP, and/or GT isn't very broad compared to the offerings at nearby Mililani High School but the class sizes are smaller at Leilehua. The athletic department is excellent and stresses academics along with providing study halls, tutoring and frequent grade checks to ensure athletes maintain acceptable grades while participating in sports. The counselors work well to ensure your student is enrolled in the proper classes. Parents are kept abreast of events via email or telephonic messages from the school and grades can be checked through the Edline system. We heard horror stories about Hawaii public schools before arriving here and continue to hear negative things. Our experience has been great thus far and our son scores very high (90+ %) on the Hawaii assessment tests. We had him enrolled in a private school but placed him in public school because the private school was not worth the $10,000 and offered the exact curriculum as the public school.


Leilehua High School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
Leilehua has been great. My son graduated in 2008 and my daughter is a Junior now. We are a military family and LHS has numerous programs for the kids. Every school is what the parents and students make of it. My son has excelled due to the wonderful staff at LHS and my daughter is on her way to making her own positive mark. Go Mules!

Leilehua High School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
This school is the worst school we have ever encountered! From the lack of control in the classrooms by the teachers, to the poor administration in regards to handling any issues. After 2 months of absolute hell for my son we removed him from this school and put him into hawaii tech academy. Beware of this school.

Leilehua High School 3

Posted October 24, 2010
- a parent
As a military family, we arrived to HI for our son s 10th grade year. It took some effort, but once we got through placement tests and a few conferences, he was put in honors/GT classes and AP if available. The teaching is good but not exceptional. Academically, Leilehua pales in comparison to Mililani. There are fewer academic opportunities (fewer AP classes, no teachers participate in science fair or National History Day, science or math field trips, etc.) H.S.A. test scores support this academic assessment of the school academics. Extracurricular activities and focus on community are strong. The school has a friendly, welcoming, accepting climate. Our son graduates this year and overall we are happy with the Leilehua experience.


Leilehua High School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
Leilehua's faculty supports the students in every way possible. We offer the students a place to do their homework with tutors twice a week from 6:00pm to 8:00pm. And, from 2:20pm to 4:30pm every day. A place where there are no distractions. There are many after school activities to choose from...Athletics, Drama Club, Hiking Club, Band, Choir, Leadership skills, etc. We have 5 'in school' academies; Construction, Agriculture, Culinary, Graphics and Cinema Tech. On campus, we have a lot of support systems,(naming a few) Peer Mediation, ASACS (Adolescent Substance Abuse Counseling Service), College and Career Counselors, Parent Community Networking Center Facilitator, Transition Center, etc. Leilehua High School is a school that teaches Leadership, Humility, and Service.

Leilehua High School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
As a military family, with our daughter in all 4 years of High School at Leilehua High, we love this school! The teachers, the activities and the overall school spirit is astounding! Go Mules!!!!

Leilehua High School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
Being in the military, our four children experienced many different high schools. My youngest attended Leilehua, and I can honestly say that this was by far the best high school we have ever dealt with. The staff is very involved from academics through athletics, and they expect the kids to be respectable, and to give their all. Hawaii is the most amazing experience for a military family, but to be able to enjoy the cultural diversity, and amazing ohana (family) connections through this school just makes the assignment that much better. The school supports the military 100% and when the 25th is deployed they hang the 'mother's flag' in their school. Basically this means - one of their family members are deployed. Attending this school is an incredible academic and cultural experience for our military kids.


Leilehua High School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
Leilehua is a community as well as a school. There is so much pride in the school by the students,staff and the whole town. My daughter is in the GT classes and is challenged an excelling. Their athletic program is amazing. they worry about the whole student, not just the athlete. Go Mules

Leilehua High School 5

Posted January 16, 2008
- a student
I believe that Leilehua High is by far the most best school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leilehua High School
1515 California Ave, Wahiawa, HI  96786
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (808) 622-6550
Last modified Leilehua High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top