Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Belvidere South Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank my child ,even through all the struggles she has in her daily life at school and the peer pressure she's fighting hard

Belvidere South Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
We never see homework and aren't told about any from the teachers , the kids need a little more homework


Belvidere South Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
They don't develop anything to their students but teach them their lesson for the day and that's it. It's just a job to most of them.

Belvidere South Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
They have their favorites and show it . It's aweful the way some get treated and others they could care less about.

Belvidere South Middle School 2

Posted May 01, 2016
- a parent
My daughter just began at this school this year and within 2 months she was a completely different child. With bad behavior ,making very poor judgement calls. And there is no support system in place that will help.


Belvidere South Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2013
- a community member
Hello, I have recently enrolled into this school and was utterly astonished by the poor performance that the students have been expressing thus far. I believe that this school has many problems that need to be addressed, and I also think that we especially need to improve how the teachers have been running things. For an example, I have been seriously unimpressed with their awful class structuring. From what I have been experiencing, they have been allowing the students to consistently RUN their mouths throughout the entire school day rather than actually teaching the standards that need to be taught. TEACHERS, I strongly suggest that you should actually teach the students for once rather than waiting for your oncoming paychecks to arrive. If you do not desire to successfully prepare the students for their futures, then I would recommend that you would not teach at all. Come on, a 4 out of 10 is something that we shouldn't be proud of. -Submitted by an anonymous 6th grade student.

Belvidere South Middle School 3

Posted November 13, 2008
- a student
i enjoy going to BSMS but i think it could use some more improvements on some of the things here

Belvidere South Middle School 3

Posted August 20, 2005
- a parent
I think the school seems 'ok' on the outside, and has a nice appearance , and wants to give the impression they are the best school around, but TO MANY students per class room and students don't get the one on one they need, and are lost in the shuffle. Too many issues with 'self pacing' very limited teacher instruction. Too much expected from children to assume they are supposed to know 'where they are at' and what they are to do for assignments. Nothing is clearly laid out by the teachers. The children are expected to figure it out on their own to much. Not enough structure. Classes are way to large compared to the state averages. Due to this, 10 minutes for children to eat lunch, if that by the time they get through the line. My son and many others do not like this school. Top many kids!


Belvidere South Middle School 5

Posted April 26, 2005
- a student
I am currently an eighth grader at BSMS. I really like the school. We have a variety of things to get into like: drama club, yearbook, and future teachers club just to name a few. We have alot of sports as well. Parents are not really involved, but it mainly lays in the hands of our student council. I love belvidere south middle school!

Belvidere South Middle School 3

Posted October 06, 2003
- a parent
I feel that this school has a couple of teachers that are just putting in there time until they can retire. They seem to not enjoy there jobs anymore or the children. However there are other teachers here that are great and seem to be there for the kids. The extracurricular activities that we have been involved in or interested in have been poorly organized. It makes it hard to get involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Belvidere South Middle School
919 East 6th Street, Belvidere, IL  61008
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (815) 544-3175
Last modified Belvidere South Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top