Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
The teachers at this school are very caring and involved! We have a student with a 504 plan and it was just a formality as the teachers had already implemented all the necessary changes. The principal is great, too. Most parents and families are very involved!

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a student at Washington, I am continually impressed by the positive culture that is cultivated by the staff and teachers at the school. I find the teachers to be passionate and fully committed to my child's education, and make special effort to keeping her involved and excited about learning. Family involvement is encouraged and welcome. Washington is a close knit school that will welcome you and give your child every opportunity to succeed. It is unfortunate the negative comments that have been posted, as they are definitely a rarity. We are proud to be a part of it, and feel fortunate to have the opportunity for my children to attend.


Washington Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
I must say that it is a safe and caring environment, for average+ children. I found my self very stressed out by the lack of communication from teachers who work there. Any child who is struggling, at all should not go here they will treat them like they are retarded and do the very minimal. Contact home was awful until I complained and it still didn't improve much after that. Teachers were caught in lies, rude, and mean to my child at times. Again, only recommend if your child is average or above.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2010
- a parent
Washington Elementary school is full of teachers and support staff that truly care about the students in their classroom! We have had a wonderful experience and see time and time again where the teachers and principal go out of their way to make sure each student gets the attention and caring that they need and deserve. I know my son and daughter are in good hands!

Washington Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 05, 2009
- a parent
Parent of 2 children who went from K-5 at Washington School and can't say enough good things about it! Great experience and feel very fortunate that my kids were able to start their education at such a fine school. From all the teachers, staff and all parents involved this is truly a great school. Jeff Lockenvitz has done a wonderful job and I hope he stays there as long as he wants too. District 87 should be very proud of Washington School!


Washington Elementary School 4

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
I have two children at Washington Elementary. I happen to have had nothing but great experiences with the teachers & staff. I don't believe that Mr. Lockenvitz the prinicpal would single out any child & pick on them. He is a great hands on principal. My kids have learned a lot from their excellent teachers and have made many great friends. The schools has gone above & beyond my expectations. It's a very caring enviroment and I am thankful to have my children there.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2008
- a parent
I currently have one that has left Washington school and two currently attending. We love the school. My children have done woderfully and we have enjoyed all of the teachers and staff at the school. It is definately a family environment.

Washington Elementary School 1

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
I know most of the comments here state this is an excellent school. I am a single parent and all through my child's elementary years he was always in trouble in the principals office and such. They were NEVER very helpful. Maybe you just have to have money and then they support you and help you out. My child was as I saw it picked on by the principal and was always in trouble and when other kids got in trouble with him he was always the one to be in the MOST trouble usually suspended. If your child is strong willed or has a mind of his own I would not recommend this school as my child is no longer there so your child may be the next to be picked on by adults. Once they deemed my child bad is was always in trouble.


Washington Elementary School 3

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
After 3 years with this school, I have found the teachers to be quite caring. Communication has been an issue with other staff. You will probably be quite happy there as long as your child is average+. Some of the specialists have a limited array of ideas and it will be up to you to 'think outside the box'.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2008
- a parent
Washington is an excellent school for kids to attend. we have 1 graduate and 1 currently attending in 2008. The teacher experience and personal attention when needed is stupendous

Nearby schools

Washington Elementary School
1201 East Washington Street, Bloomington, IL  61701
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (309) 829-7034
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top