Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alcott College Prep 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Alcott has a wonderful principal, great teachers, and some of the most supportive and active parents (including "Friends of" group) in the city. And, with the brand new, multi-million dollar outdoor space, has some of the best sports infrastructure in the entire city.

Alcott College Prep 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
My sons love Alcott. The teachers are fabulous and the parent association is very active.


Alcott College Prep 4

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter loves kindergarten at Alcott, loves her teacher, and has learned an astounding amount this year. She is reading and writing. I also don't know what I would have done without the extensive after school care options and enrichment classes. While I finish up my day at work, she spends her time after school hours in reading classes, yoga, chess, robotics and performance.

Alcott College Prep 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at Alcott for 4 years and we are incredibly lucky to have found this amazing community! The school is one of only a handful of PK-12 CPS schools and has recently unveiled a 5-year strategic plan to ensure growth for all students and move the school from great to greatest. The new administration is truly terrific - the principal is professional, engaged, pragmatic, decisive, focused on data-driven instruction, and very open to parent involvement. We have a very active, welcoming community that encourages volunteerism and demonstrates to our students what can be done when an engaged parent base works closely with a focused administration to make a CPS school the best that it can be.

Alcott College Prep 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
We are a family that just arrived to the US. Our kids are attending Alcott and we are very happy with the school and the great community that conforms it. We reccomend it!


Alcott College Prep 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
We have been at Alcott for 10 years...so far! It's the greatest. The teachers really care about the students, and the fact that the kids get art, music and drama as part of the curriculum is just wonderful.

Alcott College Prep 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
My fifth grader started attending Alcott in Kindergarten and we have loved the school ever since. The staff, including the teachers and principle are outstanding. I couldn't find any school with a more committed team of educators. Our test scores have improved every year since we have been there, but more importantly, the children are learning how to become life-long learners. The parental involvement is phenomenal and together, every element is what makes this school first-rate.

Alcott College Prep 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Parents and community are extremely involved. They help raise school funds under a fabulous principal who is willing to work with the families and within the public school system to do what is best for the children.


Alcott College Prep 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
My grandchildren are the 3rd generation attending Alcott School. Obviously we're pleased.

Alcott College Prep
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
They bring in outside artists to do art with the children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alcott College Prep
2625 N Orchard St, Chicago, IL  60614
(773) 534-5460
Last modified Alcott College Prep is a Public school that serves grades PK-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alcott College Prep Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top