Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Von Steuben Metro Science High School

Public | 9-12 | 1633 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

My daughter is a 9th grader at Von in the Scholars Program. This was her second choice school because she didn't get into the large selective enrollment high school she wanted to go to. However, her rejection from the other school has been a blessing in disguise. Most of the Von teachers and all of the staff whom I have met are dedicated and caring. My daughter can be challenging at times, yet the teachers have allowed her to make mistakes and to help her find her path again. She is now active in cross-country (with one of the kindest and most motivating coaches I've ever come across); Math team and Engineering team (the engineering teacher is super smart, super dedicated to the kids, and gets things done -- one of the favorite teachers at Von and she's reason enough to go to Von because of how she's expanded engineering at the school). Other good points: The scholars parents are involved and motivated - for the entire school, not just scholars. The school is safe and clean. Most teachers are very approachable and want the students to succeed. The administration works well together. I would recommend Von to anyone looking for a great school where you're not just a number
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I am an alumna of Von Steuben and am glad to know--through stories of friends' children--that it is still the excellent source of education and diversity I so enjoyed as a student there.


Posted January 28, 2014

There is a place for every student at Von Steuben. The diversity is astounding, and that fact alone should make every urban parent want to take a look. My son is a sophomore, and attended a very highly regarded elementary school. I am impressed with the efforts the school makes to make every child feel welcomed and valued. There is a level of attention to each student's success and a culture of nurturing that is perfect for my son. He absolutely loves the school and his teachers, and so do I. I have an older son who is at Northside, which has been a fine school for him, but would not have worked for my younger son. The stats for a school like Northside are seductive, but there is more to life than statistics. The idea that ratings alone indicate quality is limiting. I urge all parents to give Von Steuben a closer look. Visit, and you might be surprised at what you find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Our son is in the sped program and Von Steuben due to his autism. We were hoping that he would go to another high school, but he was sent to Von Steuben which we were not familiar with. We thank whoever made the decision to send him to Von. From day one, he was treated well by the staff, teachers and other students. We feel he is safe, secure and getting a good education. The gen ed students at Von have been very nice to him and the other sped kids in spite of their sometime behavioral issues. When our son has a meltdown it is handled professionally and effectively in a very safe manner for all. The Chicago Police Officers assigned to the school are top notch and assist in so many ways and add to our comfort level. Everyone from the principal Mr. Alonso on through the teachers, aides, case manager, and all the others are very much appreciated for their professionalism and genuine concern. Mike Carlson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Von Steuben is Chicago's best kept secret. While it doesn't have the prestige of a selective enrollment high school like Lane, Whitney or North Side Prep, once you enroll, the quality of service, education and dedication from teachers and staff is comparable to a selective enrollment high school. So far, our experience there has been positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My son attends Von Steuben in the Scholars program. He is a sophomore this year, and came from a VERY small private school where many of the kids have been together since they were 3 or 4.His transition to VSMSC was seamless. I was bowled over by the whole experience. He met kids on the orientation day prior to school and has been friends ever since. The teaching staff he has been exposed to has that quality I look for - they are engaged with the students, they know their students, they appreciate the quirky characteristics of each individual student. They go above and beyond to work with a kid who is struggling, (whether the kid realizes it or not). They are open to communication with the parents. In short, they are passionate about teaching and it shows. The school itself is a beautiful, clean, lovely facility. The kids respect the teachers, staff, building, &each other. The Scholars program is a great place for my son, he loves science, math & engineering. He has been in engineering classes both years. He is challenged WITHOUT being OVERWHELMED and there is only healthy competition. The pressure level is one of encouragement and growth, not STRESS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

I was a student at this school. One of the most important thing I remember is the dedication to each and every student. This was the case back then and is the case today. The teachers are individuals who genuinely care about their students and help each of them reach their fullest potential. My niece goes to Von Steuben and she couldn't be happier. There is a diverse population of both student and teachers. There is mutual respect between students and teachers. I experienced some of the great years of my life at Von. High School is where I bonded with my two life long best friends. We are now three Latinas with Higher Education Degrees and in awesome careers. I believe the foundation Von set for us was the stepping stone for a great future.


Posted September 10, 2013

I am happy my daughter joined Von Steuben High School. It is a great school. I'm excited about it and wish her the best. So far, after week 2, she is living it. Lots of homework but great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

this school is decent when it comes academically but the people here are druggies, constantly trying to sell to my child as i was told by him. there aren't enough extracurricular activities and the teachers seem to only care for the honors students and have drifted away from the regular students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2012

Hello I am a teacher at this school, and I have to say that I am very impressed. I have been imparting knowledge to children for 17 years now and I came across this site as I was doing some unrelated research. As a teacher in a number of school settings in various states from New York, Miami, and now Chicago you can always gauge the school's community by the smiles one sees on the students' faces. It conveys things like: I feel safe, I am happy here, I belong here. That is exactly what you see in this school. The educational leadership at this school is also top notch. Mr. Alonso the principal is a dynamic man with a clear vision of where the school needs to go and is taking it there. So proud to be a part of the team here. The teachers are very welcoming, warm and above all else knowledgeable. It is everything a public school should be for teachers and students alike.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2011

Von Stueben Metro Science High School, in the beginning as a freshman i was excited. However the teachers suck the life out of you, they seem to truly not care whether or not you fail. If you ask for help they don't attempt to accommodate you. The teachers here barely ever explain it correctly. Most of it is just reading off a Microsoft Excel slide from the previous year. While some of the *Regular* classes have understanding teachers, most just blow you off. The counselor barely ever returns calls and its nearly impossible to make an appointment with teachers if you are having trouble. For example if you are sick one day, they will often not give you work from the previous day nor even help you to acquire notes from that day. The workload isn't very challenging, for exception of the Algebra and Geometry courses. The only possible rewarding experience in this school would be the honors or AP programs. All in all the school is average. The kids are alright, there are some teachers who care and the principle is nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2010

The teachers in the Scholars program are excellent and the AP teachers are generally even better; the parent who posted below is either clueless or has a revenge agenda. My son is at the top of his class and has been both nurtured, due to his initial shyness, and challenged as needed. He requested and received prerequisite waivers so he could take more AP classes, sooner. When he wanted to add outside college and on-line classes, he received approval, and when he decided to self-study additional AP classes, books and materials were made available to him. You will not find another public school anywhere this willing to accommodate unusual talent or ambition. He plans to apply to Harvard and Princeton next year. Make no mistake about it, you do not get into such colleges solely on your own merits, you need the support of a caring high school like Von Steuben!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Sending our child to this school was the worst discision ever. Most of the teachers in the scholars program are terrible! They dont care about the students. The website states that the students have extra support their freshman and sophmore year but thats ridiculious! The principal only cares about listening to himself talk. Terrible school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

There is good and bad in every school, for our family it has been an excellent choice. Our daughter graduated, last year, and was very well prepared and is excelling in college. Our son is taking a demanding course load and has wonderful opportunities outside of the classroom. There is quite a bit of parent involvement which the administration encourages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

this school is ok, it really depends on the student attending it. but overall it is pretty average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2008

I have a son who is currently a junior. We are very happy with the administration and staff at Von. From what I've observed, the teachers really want their students to succeed. Our son is getting a very good education and we are confident that he will be well prepared for college and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

This school is tanking. It used to have a good reputation, but now they are only focused on helping the honors students and really have left behind the 'regular' students. The counseling department doesn't return telephone calls. Administratively, no one seems to know what anyone else does or even what their own responsibilities are. It is a yuppie-factory-wanna-be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Im a freshman at von and im having the hardest time ever the teachers pretend to care about us but they dont my grades are constantly falling and when i asked my teacher to help me do whatever it takes to bring my grades up she told me she couldnt help me i needed to help my self.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

My daughter graduated from Vong. Her teachers were wonderful and the education was the best. The principle, at that time, left a lot to be desired. My son is currently attending Von, he has some of the same teachers (grades in honors program are good, so far), a new principle that appears to be like Dr. Gazda, one who cares and puts the children first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

this is such a great school the teachers understand the students and they work hard to see how your student develops. the principle is really involved and there's a lot of great after school activities
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female52%
Male66%
Black35%
Asian90%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income55%
Non-low income72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Black50%
Asian75%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Low income52%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female31%
Male57%
Black21%
Asian63%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income39%
Non-low income61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 23%
White 24% 51%
Black 19% 18%
Asian 13% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pedro Rafael Alonso

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5039 North Kimball Avenue
Chicago, IL 60625
Website: Click here
Phone: (773) 534-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Telshe High School
Chicago, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT