Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-12
Private
Elkridge, MD

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Norbel School 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
Thank you Norbel school! Public school could not do it for my boy. He was suspended and fighting all the time, following his brother. . We got a lawyar who got the city to pay to send our boy to norbel school. A doctor told the school he could not pay attention because of defiance. We are so happy with Norbel school because he was getting away out of control. A school bus comes and picks him up every day to schoool and we are happy! Thank you norbel.

Norbel School 1

Posted January 28, 2011
- a parent
Norbel's website never mentions that Norbel specializes in children with oppositional defiant disorder (ODD). This places children on the autism spectrum in an unfavorable situation that assures continued exposure to aggressive behavior and abusive language, and this retards real progress. Our child has has been beaten up and verbally abused on a frequent basis, and, though the school reacts, it continues to occur. If you child is not ODD, be sure to ask about your child's exposure to children with oppositional defiance.


Norbel School 4

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
My son has ADHD, Dyslexia and severe fine motor skills. We have only been at the school for 6 months but so far, he's happier than he's been for years and though the work is challenging, he is thriving. They have a unique approach to each child and he receives a lot of attention specific to his needs. The staff are very caring and professional and the points/rewards system is a terrific way to get the kids to stay on track and motivate them. A truly great school for children with Learning Disabilities.

Norbel School 5

Posted September 01, 2010
- a parent
This school has changed my life. My son has went here for 4 years. He has Dyslexia & ADD. He went from a sad,no confidence low oponion about himself,other kids made fun of him,he felt stupid, to confident ready to take on the world. He is a happy kid.He looks forward to school now. Doing homework was like pulling teeth,he just didn't get it. Now he does homework all by himself. The Principal & staff are amazing. There are 6 students to 1 teacher. Other school systems don't always aknowledge dyslexia and sweep it under the carpet. Don't do nothing about it. Label it "Specific Learning Disability. always changing IEP's with no results.Norbel solves the problem.This school has given me back my happy,confident little boy, I cannot say enough about this wonderful school and Staff. It has truly changed the lives of my whole family THANK YOU NORBEL

Norbel School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
The way they customize their learning plans to the way each child learns best, whether auditory, sensory or visual


Norbel School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Norbel is a unique program designed for bright students with learning disabilities and poor social skills. Norbel provides individualized programs for the students and teaches interpersonal skills. The create an environment which the students feel safe.

Norbel School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
Norbel has a nurturing setting. The teachers are extremely knowledgeable about learning disabilities and are able to provide individualized instruction. It has turned my child's life around and increased their self confidence. Great School!

Norbel School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
Norbel has saved my child's self esteem and confidence. The staff is child centered and does a wonderful job teaching to the child and understanding each child's strengths and weaknesses.


Norbel School 2

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
Norbel has a high turnover with their teachers. They have difficulty retaining good qualified teachers. With the new administration there is poor communication between the administration, teachers and the parents. Their also is lack of leadership with the new administration.

Norbel School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
Norbel is and excellent program for bright students with learning disabilities and poor social skills. Norbel individualized an academic program that allowed my son to meet with success and he gained important skills in interpersonal relations as well as self advocacy skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norbel School
6135 Old Washington Road, Elkridge, MD  21075
(410) 796-6700
Last modified Norbel School is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
Norbel School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top